The Falkirk FC Thread

7 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Or Hibernation ! Cut all overheads and ride it out. For once Falkirk may be in a better position than most to do it.

Vacate the Falkirk Community Stadium and cut all ties with it and leave the Council to enjoy their ego trip.

If no certainty on a new season by the end of June and the impending loss of government job support. Then as sad as it is redundancy. Players signed for next season given a package to go and Miller and McCracken do not get their contracts replaced.

Expenditure should be next to nothing and sit it out. Hopefully have a cash reserve to rebuild, other clubs will not be so lucky. When normal life returns Football will require 2-3 months to get its act together. There will be plenty of managers and players looking for a job. Cynical ? yes ! but hard decisions are required to save the club.

Have we not got a long term lease on the ground though. Good luck getting out of that for nothing.

1 hour ago, Bairnardo said:
1 hour ago, SUPERSOUTH said:
Why is the Falkirk chairman so unhappy? As he says they have to continue to do  their talking on the pitch & that's not good enough eaithr as they finished 2nd, only the league winners get automatically promoted. Shame all the wages they throw at players wasn't enough to win the league... Never mind all the same players can try again to win the league this time with another 2 clubs that seem to be able to spend lots of money also in the league Cove & Partick..... 

Take some, but not all of this, from a club who have relied on the artificially high wages of a player who could be playing at a higher level for the last few years.

Do you think that player has an injury that means he hasn’t been able to get a gig at a higher level or is he just lacking in ambition and lazy ??

17 hours ago, roman_bairn said:

St Mirren.
A club that should be fighting for an expanded SPFL and the rights of the middle to smaller clubs.
But really just a bunch of self interested shitebags like the rest of them in the upper tier......

Aye and Falkirk are whiter than white when it comes to integrity.

31 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Vacate the Falkirk Community Stadium and cut all ties with it and leave the Council to enjoy their ego trip.

Careful with that one. I could see the council offering it to Stenny, the Shire and Juniors teams, every kid's team going, hockey teams, anything played on a pitch and turning it into a "community resource". 

2 minutes ago, NewBornBairn said:

Careful with that one. I could see the council offering it to Stenny, the Shire and Juniors teams, every kid's team going, hockey teams, anything played on a pitch and turning it into a "community resource". 

Wonder if the shire are still paying us to use it.

Guest Ecosse83

I really didn't expect anything different regarding reconstruction, it was always going to fail, to be honest I'm just glad they rejected it now and not another 6 weeks down the line. 

Who will be first to go into admin? My guess is either Raith or Rangers with Hearts not far behind. 

This virus will destroy Scottish football!

1 hour ago, AGPar said:

Somebody gets it. There is no chance of any lower league football being played in Scotland for a considerable period of time. Germany are light years ahead of us in everything, you only have to look at the incredible lengths and precautions they are having to take in an effort just to get their top 2 divisions up and running behind closed doors. Scottish football does not have the cash, never mind the intelligence, competence, organisation, leadership skills to even begin to undertake something of that magnitude, and that applies to the Premier League every bit as much as us lower league diddies. It isn't happening, and essentially mothballing clubs for a period of time is probably going to have to become a reality at some point. Any money that supporters can spare will be required to keep their own clubs going. And yet we've still got the usual suspects, the clowns and the clueless tossing around the concept of a "next season" and foaming at the mouth at the prospect of their clubs' coffers being boosted by away supports from Falkirk/Partick Thistle/Hearts/Dunfermline, whoever. Clueless, delusional, fantasy stuff. There is no next season.

I agree with all that. But regardless of whether football restarts this year, next year or in 3 years time, there will be a 'next season' at some point when it eventually restarts, so clubs are quite right to be concerned about the leagues they end up in when the restart happens. It's going to be tough for all clubs when things restart and it will be a hell of a lot tougher for clubs if they are in leagues where attendances are lower and there is less prize money when things restart.

You are absolutely right that there are far bigger short to medium term priorities for clubs and the idea of a next season as in a typical 'August to May' is lunacy. But that doesn't mean that clubs are wrong to be concerned about being in a lower league than they feel (rightly or wrongly) they should be. 

Edited by Diamonds are Forever

27 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Do you think that player has an injury that means he hasn’t been able to get a gig at a higher level or is he just lacking in ambition and lazy ??

Na that player has played at the highest level in England, scored at Wembley in front of over 85,000 fans but always said he would return to Queens when the time was right, He was as good as his word, and in doing so has become a club legend. He just Loves playing & scoring goals for Queen of the South. 

7 minutes ago, SUPERSOUTH said:

Na that player has played at the highest level in England, scored at Wembley in front of over 85,000 fans but always said he would return to Queens when the time was right, He was as good as his word, and in doing so has become a club legend. He just Loves playing & scoring goals for Queen of the South. 

It’s fair to say his 2 most prolific spells of goal scoring have been at QoS so is quite rightly a club legend.

Imo he could have played at a higher level for longer. But if getting paid a good wage to play with no pressure means he has a happy retirement fair play to the lad.

13 minutes ago, SUPERSOUTH said:

That's pretty decent of him to play on an amateur contract.

54 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Have we not got a long term lease on the ground though. Good luck getting out of that for nothing.

Don't know if we have and what the terms and conditions apply regarding termination. Maybe somebody in the know can clarify that.

You and I have had discussions on our opinion of that barn of a stadium so we won't go over old ground again.

Hire the place for matchdays just as it is hired for a concert and let that be the limit of our involvement.

37 minutes ago, NewBornBairn said:

Not an issue ! hire it for matches and leave the Council to it.

45 minutes ago, gmfc said:

Aye and Falkirk are whiter than white when it comes to integrity.

Think we're the only club to have paid back every penny owed after admin...

Will be a big test for most clubs now - no chance we'll still have 42 clubs by the time we get back playing. 

23 minutes ago, SUPERSOUTH said:

He was never epl quality. Used to get punted every time a club got promoted from the championship.

18 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

He was never epl quality. Used to get punted every time a club got promoted from the championship.

There’s no doubting the boys ability but he’s one of those guys that’s always looked a bit heavy.

I’m pretty sure that even as a young man at St Johnstone Owen Coyle wasn’t happy about his conditioning and aptitude in training.

Maybe that’s why he never got capped ??

47 minutes ago, SUPERSOUTH said:

I dont have a problem with the way Dobbie is paid, and find his attachment to Queens quite nice really. 

But he operates outwith the clubs affordability and only the willingness of a group of locals to fund the endeavour has kept yourselves from what would undoubtedly be a freefall. You have an unsustainably expensive Trump card that has literally kept you in the league. 

So aye, Dobbie loves Queens, and you are football fans, of course you enjoy seeing it, but we'll take zero lectures from Queens about use of funds, when we only spend money we generate and by all accounts, are run sensibly (financially speaking)

15 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

There’s no doubting the boys ability but he’s one of those guys that’s always looked a bit heavy.

I’m pretty sure that even as a young man at St Johnstone Owen Coyle wasn’t happy about his conditioning and aptitude in training.

Maybe that’s why he never got capped ??

He was a good player just not the standard of a Stainrod or waddle though.