The Falkirk FC Thread

4 hours ago, AL-FFC said:

Is anyone know if there is any truth in the post of them being in talks with the sale of the club ? ior is it just rumour/sh*te/wishful thinking ?

Anyone looking to buy into a Scottish football club in these current uncertain times must be bonkers.

Mind you could be the same people that thought the dodgy bankrupt serial business closer Walter Mitty type MC was a great frontman.  

16 hours ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

I'd like to see the season completed, partly because of the significance of Liverpool / Celtic title wins, party because it would seriously piss off the Rangers fans whom I despise, and obviously because I don't want another season of trips to Stranraer.

I take your point. However, if a club goes to the wall during a season do all points gained against them by other clubs not automatically get forfeited?  I think that may have happened with Gretna though I can't be bothered checking.

What a boost to our season if poor wee Clyde went bust before we restarted in May / June.  :lol:

The English FA have a rule that if 75% of the matches have been completed then that club's results cannot be null and void - all points count.

This is the same rule which means the English Championship cannot be cancelled as they have passed the threshold (35 matches) . The EPL hasn't but there are apparently no objections to giving Liverpool the title.

In Scotland I cannot see any such rule but I believe it's whatever Celtic want to happen that counts.

15 hours ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

Might as well stop living altogether??

Exactly! 

What happened to the "Keep Calm and Carry on"  Spirit that made this country great!

Spitfire Pilots knew that had a 50% chance of return when fighting in the Battle of Britain, yet we cancel EVERYTHING on an about a 1% death rate on people who contract this virus.

Might as well be in the jail than have to suffer a Saturday like today - what are we working for? Cannot get out, socialise, spend the money you work for.

If your health is shite, sit your arse in the house, but the rest of should keep calm and carry on

Exactly! 
What happened to the "Keep Calm and Carry on"  Spirit that made this country great!
Spitfire Pilots knew that had a 50% chance of return when fighting in the Battle of Britain, yet we cancel EVERYTHING on an about a 1% death rate on people who contract this virus.
Might as well be in the jail than have to suffer a Saturday like today - what are we working for? Cannot get out, socialise, spend the money you work for.
If your health is shite, sit your arse in the house, but the rest of should keep calm and carry on

FFS. There are some really thick people on this thread at times....

37 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Because you will bring it home to vulnerable people in your circle you trolling gonk.

Your theory is equally nonsense as work and services need to carry on which means that the fit need to go about their business.

The basic point is that everyone is responsible for their own family circle.

Too many people seem to think that it’s someone else’s (the governments) responsibility.

With some common sense this can be managed as the death rate is not much greater than the normal flu.

If you are vulnerable stay out of circulation but to ruin the economy and put people out of jobs is daft.

Surely, we’re made of sterner stuff.

I agree with Andreas

One of the issues is that it doesn't have the same death rate as the common flu at this time. The flu infects 1 billion people a year and kills 650,000 and that is far less than 1% (0.0006% if my maths is correct).

I don't think there is a football solution that will appease everyone. 

I will be going to work but will not be going to visit my 72 year old mother. If I get it I'll be ill for a few days then recover. Chances are she might not.
I won't be going to any pubs or the cinema etc.

It's really not difficult to do.

Your theory is equally nonsense as work and services need to carry on which means that the fit need to go about their business.
Too many people seem to think that it’s someone else’s (the governments) responsibility.

With some common sense this can be managed as the death rate is not much greater than the normal flu.
If you are vulnerable stay out of circulation but to ruin the economy and put people out of jobs is daft.
I agree with Andreas

2 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

I will be going to work but will not be going to visit my 72 year old mother. If I get it I'll be ill for a few days then recover. Chances are she might not.
I won't be going to any pubs or the cinema etc.

It's really not difficult to do.

Sounds a sensible approach.

1 hour ago, roman_bairn said:

FFS. There are some really thick people on this thread at times....

Are you suggesting that all 5.5m of us just sit in the house for the next 12 weeks?  

That's the thickest thing I've read in a long time.

If you're not over 70, and dont have any underlying health issues then you'll more than likely be fine if you get it.  Just stay away from anyone that falls within the 'high risk' bracket.

9 hours ago, Hank von Hell said:

Anyone looking to buy into a Scottish football club in these current uncertain times must be bonkers.

Mind you could be the same people that thought the dodgy bankrupt serial business closer Walter Mitty type MC was a great frontman.  

If you are in it for the long term then its a buyers market if its a football club you want.

Are you suggesting that all 5.5m of us just sit in the house for the next 12 weeks?  
That's the thickest thing I've read in a long time.
If you're not over 70, and dont have any underlying health issues then you'll more than likely be fine if you get it.  Just stay away from anyone that falls within the 'high risk' bracket.

Do quote where I said that?
Obviously we should have kept the football going and banned everyone over 70 and the problem would have went away. Simple solution eh?…

2 hours ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

I agree with Andreas

You really are a heartless c*nt, aren't you?

1 hour ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

If you are in it for the long term then its a buyers market if its a football club you want.

Yes because clubs like Falkirk deliver strong dividends normally don't they, has this happened any time in our history?. You don't invest unless you support this club and expect nothing back.   

You have been for weeks peddling the pie in the sky idea of the club buying the council out, yes good idea but no one , other than the hobo Kenny Rodgers tribute,  is daft enough to make that promise.   

And why do you assume the MSG are ready to massively discount the sale anyway ?   

29 minutes ago, Hank von Hell said:

Yes because clubs like Falkirk deliver strong dividends normally don't they, has this happened any time in our history?. You don't invest unless you support this club and expect nothing back.   

You have been for weeks peddling the pie in the sky idea of the club buying the council out, yes good idea but no one , other than the hobo Kenny Rodgers tribute,  is daft enough to make that promise.   

Why would the council sell?

Bound to bring in a few quid with all the stuff they own down there.

Should we get back to the Premier League (stop laughing) then it really would be kerching

1 hour ago, Hank von Hell said:

The reason I post on this matter because the Status Quo makes us no more than a share cropper. Doomed every season to just exist. With no choice but to pay the Stadium Company whatever they tell us. That's it ! no ambition more than that. Is that sustainable ? No of course it's not. Keep going like that and support will drop off in time. The hard core support dies off. Lack of young support that have no memory of moments of glory and the thrill of the experience will drift away. They don't take the next generation along then it is terminal decline.

You may be willing to accept that. I'm not !

1 hour ago, Gaz FFC said:

Why would the council sell?

Bound to bring in a few quid with all the stuff they own down there.

Should we get back to the Premier League (stop laughing) then it really would be kerching

Reason the council would sell is they are up the shitter they have sold off land in kemper avenue to lidl for 400k, they have sold off an area of Bantaskin estate for 28k, they are trying to get rid of properties they own to reduce maintenance costs and any overheads they have. It's one less thing they have to maintain and pay money to. Like i say if we had the people at the club willing to stump up the cash we could own the place outright but they neither have the will or the desire to.  This is the right time but we dont have those kind of people at the club.

True story today - I was in Curry’s in the retail park and saw Gregor Buchanan with his young family. 5 minutes later - I see Lex Miller in TX Maxx. I then see them bump into each other. I have to go up and hear a snippet of their conversation but not too close and just a wee 30 secs or so. The only thing I caught, apart from one woman saying “the worlds gone mad” is Miller saying twice “I’ll have to cancel your contract”,  in jest, kind of, and Buchanan sheepishly tapping him on the arm. The main reason me writing about this, other than me being in the right place at the right time, is that Miller did appear to be a bit of a fud!