The Falkirk FC Thread

1 hour ago, Bantabairn said:

How we’ve fallen, and with the current lot in charge for the foreseeable future, It’s like a chore supporting the club now, it’s like we all lost the spirit and passion and Saturdays don’t seem special anymore, maybe it’s me but it’s even rare for my mob to even discuss the club at out pre and post match aperitifs 

Some of the discussions pre and post match in the 1066, Railway bar, Royal Hotel Bar and the Newmarket were all part of the ritual and day out. It will become a faded memory as those that remember Brockville decline.

4 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Some of the discussions pre and post match in the 1066, Railway bar, Royal Hotel Bar and the Newmarket were all part of the ritual and day out. It will become a faded memory as those that remember Brockville decline.

People are less inclined to go to a pub nowadays due to cost, family/work/other commitments etc. Theres still plenty of post match analysis though either via social media or whatsapp group.

2 hours ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

How dare a man go and do what he wants with his spare time after work..

17 minutes ago, Crawford Baptie said:

Yep. Nae issue with a player going out, but he took it to the extreme. Bearing in mind the position we were in.

Especially when he wasn’t in the team and playing reserve football less than 48 later.

No issues with players going out after a game to be honest, best time for them to do it if your going from Saturday-Saturday games. 

It’s like the Scott Shepherd/Steak piegate all over again.

20 hours ago, Stainrod said:

The main thing that lets him down is skill he cannot beat a man cross or pick out a pass

Jeez …..maybe football is not Doyle's thing.

Perhaps British Bulldogs would suit him better.

Still...those crazy japes eh, let's make sure we don't lose him in the window.

11 minutes ago, Crawford Baptie said:

He was struggling to get into the Development Team due to this. Instead of pushing himself to get into the first team. That’s the problem I had. Paying a guy a wage to be an imposter.

What development team , how have we still got one of those???

Get rid if it now and the hundreds of thousands saved should be given to Mark Durnan & Paul Dixon to make sure they are with us for the rest of their promising careers.

2 hours ago, Back Post Misses said:

That was the day we got relegated. Bottom of the league and utterly dross. The previous 3/4 years were the good years

Yep it was the wilderness years that awaited us. Made all the harder to take when past glories were still fresh in the mind.

Beating Hibs in the midweek game when Cunningham turned down the Scotland job. there were about 15,000 at the game and Hibs never had a chance ( very emotional ) Putting Aberdeen out the league cup with the 3 - 1 victory. Seeing off Willy Ormond's St  Johnstone 5 -3 and on and on.

Great memories !

50 minutes ago, Bantabairn said:

That’s probably cost us at least 500 not making game, Scottish football at its best.....

Absolutely.. 

It'll knock at least 500 off our support as well and hospitality will be vastly reduced. 

Remember the good old days when the diddy cup was midweek except for the final. 

13 minutes ago, Specky Ginger said:

Absolutely.. 

It'll knock at least 500 off our support as well and hospitality will be vastly reduced. 

Remember the good old days when the diddy cup was midweek except for the final. 

Exactly. This is all because of them bringing the dross from Ireland and Wales in. League should always take preference over this competition.

2 hours ago, Bigbrbairn said:

True. Sadly I remember standing in the choir looking at a very empty and often angry main stand in the late 70's. My first game was about 63-64

The comparison to the late 70's and now is uncanny.

Board with no money or unwilling to find any. Squad of full of jobbers picking up a wage. No youth team. All to look forward to in the next season was hope against hope for some gems in the free transfers. All that is needed is 5 full timers and the rest part time and there we are back to 77 !

No if's or but's we must go up this season and for the sake of the fans health - as champions !