The Falkirk FC Thread

1 hour ago, GaryDoug said:

"

cre·tin
/ˈkrētn/

noun

1. 1.
    INFORMALOFFENSIVE
    a stupid person (used as a general term of abuse).
  2. 2.
    DATEDMEDICINE
    a person who is physically deformed and has a mental disability because of congenital thyroid deficiency."

Fairly certain calling someone a cretin falls under the existing rules, tbf.

Yes, I was pretty much running with 1. 1.

If you want to crack on with this cretinous campaign though, you crack on.  If it's established that the term's use is not acceptable, I'll simply refrain from using it.  I'm not actually that wedded to it, but I find it useful in the meantime.

4 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Yes, I was pretty much running with 1. 1.

If you want to crack on with this cretinous campaign though, you crack on.  If it's established that the term's use is not acceptable, I'll simply refrain from using it.  I'm not actually that wedded to it, but I find it useful in the meantime.

Yeah, yet you've pretty much admitted that you're aware of the second meaning, which holes your own argument and gives away what type of person you are, versus the type of person you pretend to be.

Crack on with the holier than thou attitude, but you've outed yourself as someone happy to use words with vile meanings.

And if it's established that the use is not acceptable, I'd imagine you'll be facing a warning for it.

1 minute ago, GaryDoug said:

Yeah, yet you've pretty much admitted that you're aware of the second meaning, which holes your own argument and gives away what type of person you are, versus the type of person you pretend to be.

Crack on with the holier than thou attitude, but you've outed yourself as someone happy to use words with vile meanings.

And if it's established that the use is not acceptable, I'd imagine you'll be facing a warning for it.

Should that happen I'll live with it.

Moron!

11 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Any link to the goal/highlights fae anyone?

They are somewhat bizarrely behind the paywall on our official site, considering it was a closed door game which wasn't mentioned at all by us I find it odd that they're on there at all and that they're only available to subscribers.

Also, the highlights feature both Caldwell and one of your coaching staff blocking out the action at either end.

Both our goals came from us dispossessing your players (first one the #5 , second one Gomis) about 25 yards from your goal, both your goals came from crosses, the first one headed in by Connolly who outjumped McGinty who's about a foot taller than him, second one looked as if two of our defenders got in each other's way and the #9 had all day to take a touch and finish. 

snip.png

Edited by Fuctifano

2 minutes ago, GaryDoug said:

I don't find words with a negative connotation towards the mentally ill funny, personally. Maybe you do.

Maybe.  Or maybe I just have a better handle on how language works.

By engaging with me on such pointless rubbish, you'll be pissing some people off you know.

Just now, Monkey Tennis said:

Maybe.  Or maybe I just have a better handle on how language works.

By engaging with me on such pointless rubbish, you'll be pissing some people off you know.

I'll agree with that. You're hiding behind the modern meaning of a word in order to get around forum rules regarding mocking mental illness.

Again, just shows you for the person you actually are.

2 minutes ago, GaryDoug said:

I'll agree with that. You're hiding behind the modern meaning of a word in order to get around forum rules regarding mocking mental illness.

Again, just shows you for the person you actually are.

Let's draw a line under this for everyone with an article from today's Guardian website.  Give it a wee read:

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/jul/06/insults-philistines-will-not-change-misuse-of-language

11 minutes ago, Fuctifano said:

They are somewhat bizarrely behind the paywall on our official site, considering it was a closed door game which wasn't mentioned at all by us I find it odd that they're on there at all and that they're only available to subscribers.

Also, the highlights feature both Caldwell and one of your coaching staff blocking out the action at either end.

Both our goals came from us dispossessing your players (first one the #5 , second one Gomis) about 25 yards from your goal, both your goals came from crosses, the first one headed in by Connolly who outjumped McGinty who's about a foot taller than him, second one looked as if two of our defenders got in each other's way and the #9 had all day to take a touch and finish. 

snip.png

Haha this is phenomenal, thanks for the breakdown

Edited by Gollum

17 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Let's draw a line under this for everyone with an article from today's Guardian website.  Give it a wee read:

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/jul/06/insults-philistines-will-not-change-misuse-of-language

See, heres where your wee game of pretence falls down. If you wanted to call me an idiot, you would have. You chose cretin, knowing the exact provenance of the word. After all, you're always at great pains to point out how superior you are to everyone else. 

So, no. Not buying the wide eyed "I was using it in the generalised meaning of idiot" claims. Horrible little individual.

1 minute ago, GaryDoug said:

See, heres where your wee game of pretence falls down. If you wanted to call me an idiot, you would have. You chose cretin, knowing the exact provenance of the word. After all, you're always at great pains to point out how superior you are to everyone else. 

So, no. Not buying the wide eyed "I was using it in the generalised meaning of idiot" claims. Horrible little individual.

Extraordinary.

2 minutes ago, cb_diamond said:

Fair play to the couple of fellas actually trying to talk about football in between the bawbag fest that's happening here!

Theres been quite a bit of it since we dropped down the funny thing is it seems to be QotS and Morton supporters with the odd Stenny one thrown in.

Just now, Senor Bairn said:

Can you two plz start PM’ing each other this shite. You are ruining my already rough and horny Sunday.

I'm done, Senor.

I've made my feelings clear to the horrible wee c**t and I'm leaving it at that.

Hopefully tomorrow brings some actual football news. x