TheScarf Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 I'm still chuckling at Falkirk allegedly paying someone 2,000 Pounds Sterling a week. Most clubs in the Preeeeemiership don't even pay that. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairnup Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 Okay were in trouble and haven't got the players we all thought we were getting during the close season, but we're all Falkirk supporters and that means try supporting the team instead of the constant slagging and confidence sapping comments were getting from some people on here. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShaggerG Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 3 minutes ago, TheScarf said: I'm still chuckling at Falkirk allegedly paying someone 2,000 Pounds Sterling a week. Most clubs in the Preeeeemiership don't even pay that. Might be hard to believe but Burton O'Brien was on over £2k per week (allegedly) 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheScarf Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 Aye a decade ago in the league above where you are now. Clubs don't spunk cash anymore, apart from Rangers. There's no way another club outside of County would give someone 2k a week these days in the 2nd tier. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bairney The Dinosaur Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 Aye a decade ago in the league above where you are now. Clubs don't spunk cash anymore, apart from Rangers. There's no way another club outside of County would give someone 2k a week these days in the 2nd tier.Dobbie is on 50k a week, just ask Peter. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bainsfordbairn Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 9 minutes ago, TheScarf said: I'm still chuckling at Falkirk allegedly paying someone 2,000 Pounds Sterling a week. Most clubs in the Preeeeemiership don't even pay that. The claim about Loy being paid somewhere close to that last season was nonsense. It's possible that we did agree contracts of a similar amount or higher during our last couple of years in the Premiership, but that's now almost a decade ago. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrDust Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 16 minutes ago, DeeBairn said: Agree re Duffie. Still doesn't change the point that he should have been sold when he was at the top. Injuries didn't help, but we still kept him around way past the point of him being any use. Several years of wasted wages. The Arfield one is kinda with the benefit of hindsight I suppose. We didn't sell him as we we wanted to stay up. If we had sold him, I'm sure we would have got st least another couple hundred grand as a premiership player. Hard one to judge at the time. He didn't want to stay if the championship. Who's to say if he'd pulled out the stops and kept us up he'd have wanted to stay instead of moving to a far bigger club. I certainly wouldn't want to be running the contract department of a football club. Seems you'll get it in the neck either way. I dont really think Duffie was a sellable asset other than a token fee perhaps to another Scottish side, I was a Duffie fan but just dont see him being the Arfield, Wallace, Kingsley types who wouldve earned us serious coin. If his fitness had kept up, he wouldve probably stayed with us then either moved like Alston did or went as he has now in down the way 3 minutes ago, TheScarf said: Aye a decade ago in the league above where you are now. Clubs don't spunk cash anymore, apart from Rangers. There's no way another club outside of County would give someone 2k a week these days in the 2nd tier. Our bad management(no relegation wage clause) seen us landed with 2yrs of Scobbie on something in that 2k mark, Bob rumoured to have been nearer the 3k mark and Bullen albeit the latter more or less stepped into a coaching role which I am only guessing mightve seen him on more money than the manager. The bubble has for sure burst at many clubs in big wages 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Back Post Misses Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 Might be hard to believe but Burton O'Brien was on over £2k per week (allegedly) And we were paying stupid money to Olejnik, Bullen, McNamara, McCann, Scobbie, Lovell and McLean 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgt Bilko Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 17 minutes ago, TheScarf said: Aye a decade ago in the league above where you are now. Clubs don't spunk cash anymore, apart from Rangers. There's no way another club outside of County would give someone 2k a week these days in the 2nd tier. Dundee United apparently paying Aird and Clark well over that amount. Clark rumoured to be on nearly double that figure. I appreciate this is all hearsay. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Back Post Misses Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 Dundee United apparently paying Aird and Clark well over that amount. Clark rumoured to be on nearly double that figure. I appreciate this is all hearsay. Sounds like utter shite not hearsay 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LovaMan Bairn Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 We were paying players 4 grand a week more than 20 years ago!!! Name the player!? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newmember Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 Stainrod 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reggie Perrin Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 And we were paying stupid money to Olejnik, Bullen, McNamara, McCann, Scobbie, Lovell and McLean And some people actually wanted the return of Yogi recently. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShaggerG Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 30 minutes ago, LovaMan Bairn said: We were paying players 4 grand a week more than 20 years ago!!! Name the player!? Chris Waddle? Wasn't paid by Falkirk though. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LovaMan Bairn Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 3 minutes ago, ShaggerG said: Chris Waddle? Wasn't paid by Falkirk though. Yeah that's what I remember. Local business man. Had the buddies raging that we were spending loads of money on players and not on upgrading the stadium! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fae_the_'briggs Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 2 hours ago, Bairney The Dinosaur said: Dobbie is on 50k a week, just ask Peter. And don't forget the £750 per goal either. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbrbairn Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 What ever Dobbie is paid he has been worth it . Loy? I won’t even go there 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgt Bilko Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 2 hours ago, Back Post Misses said: Sounds like utter shite not hearsay Probably right as info was from disgruntled pars fans I work with. But Clark was being bankrolled at East End so you would think he moved for more cash. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reggie Perrin Posted September 18, 2018 Share Posted September 18, 2018 What ever Dobbie is paid he has been worth it . Loy? I won’t even go thereUnfortunately Loy had issues away from the game last year.Anyone know how he is performing at Dumbarton? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeeBairn Posted September 19, 2018 Share Posted September 19, 2018 (edited) 8 hours ago, Reggie Perrin said: Unfortunately Loy had issues away from the game last year. Anyone know how he is performing at Dumbarton? 6 games played, 0 goals according to Wikipedia. Standard, if true. Another very average player we appear to have squeezed a good season and a half out of. Edited September 19, 2018 by DeeBairn 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...