The Falkirk FC Thread

Can we afford not to? Crowds dwindling, those that remain heckling and boo-ing the players. That doesn't help confidence and a vicious circle ensues.

A new manager may well be told to work with what he has, but would hopefully have the demonstrated experience to manage limited resources along with tactical nous.

We have a team of rookies, we can't keep giving them rookie managers and expect them to magically become experienced.

ETA - an experienced manager that can help the players make the most of their abilities will in turn make them more saleable assets, more than making up for the higher salary the manager would command.

Edited by NewBornBairn

Question - if you were in the Boards shoes, what would you do? Realistically. I'm not trying to imply they are right or wrong, I'm just interested in what people would differently.

Cut down on every single business which isn't the first team so that we can put more of our turnover into being successful on the park without blowing money we don't have. This is the sole purpose of a football club.

What non-footballing costs do we have?

Does anyone know what the period of the accounts being discussed in the FH is? To me it sounds like to the start of the season, and so would include the cost of the pitch.

Edit - and if it's to the end of last season, won't include the sale of Taylor

Edited by Disco Duck

Errr, you'd think so, but seemingly that isn't the opinion of the man who sees himself in charge of "our direction". Appparently we are "an events company that hosts football matches". Make of that what you will.

It sits comfortably with the other gem from on high......... "this stadium doesn't need a fourth stand, it's a natural(sic) amphitheatre".

What non-footballing costs do we have?

Does anyone know what the period of the accounts being discussed in the FH is? To me it sounds like to the start of the season, and so would include the cost of the pitch.

Edit - and if it's to the end of last season, won't include the sale of Taylor

It's end of season without Taylor sale.

Can we afford not to? Crowds dwindling, those that remain heckling and boo-ing the players. That doesn't help confidence and a vicious circle ensues.

A new manager may well be told to work with what he has, but would hopefully have the demonstrated experience to manage limited resources along with tactical nous.

We have a team of rookies, we can't keep giving them rookie managers and expect them to magically become experienced.

ETA - an experienced manager that can help the players make the most of their abilities will in turn make them more saleable assets, more than making up for the higher salary the manager would command.

The problem we've got is that the bod will probably say that holt was appointed as a result of them doing what many of the fans wanted. Fans wanted a proper recruitment process and they carried that out. They also wanted fan involvement in the selection and got that as the fans rep was involved in the selection process. Holt will unfortunately be here for a while yet id think unless relegation becomes a realistic possibility.

Good to see Liam DIck has the focus on fitness and physical improvement today after playing completely gash on Saturday (check his tweet about his lunch today).

Too many of our team don't give a shit, they're quite happy in their wee bubble swaggering about Dusk and City on a Saturday night and eating crap and playing FIFA and GTA through the week rather than looking after themselves. Zero ambition for a lot of them (not everyone though).

Good to see Liam DIck has the focus on fitness and physical improvement today after playing completely gash on Saturday (check his tweet about his lunch today).

Too many of our team don't give a shit, they're quite happy in their wee bubble swaggering about Dusk and City on a Saturday night and eating crap and playing FIFA and GTA through the week rather than looking after themselves. Zero ambition for a lot of them (not everyone though).

I was speaking about this with a few Rangers fans at work and they've said the exact same about their young players. A lot of the younger players up here just don't seem to give a shit. If you follow any of them on twitter etc it's constant tweets about Nandos/McDonald or playing FIFA and GTA. I don't think you'd ever see the likes of Wilshire, Ronaldo, Messi etc out on a Sunday night for a burger and chips.

You could argue that comparison is a bit unfair as they're at the top of the game but surely if you're a professional footballer at any level these days you've got to a least give a bit of shit when it comes to fitness.

Always remember Gianfranco Zola talking about the English Premiership players saying that generally, the big difference between many of the English players and the Italian/German/Dutch ones was down to the attitude towards money. He said English/British players reckoned they got big money for playing football, whereas the mainland European players at the top of their game saw the money as fabulous compensation for the normal young man's life that they had to sacrifice in order to be a top footballer.

He reckoned the difference in attitude eventually paid off. It's probably why the likes of Liam Dick already knows in his heart of hearts that he's not going to ever be a top player, and that being the case, he's not going to make any of the sacrifices that it would take (in terms of diet). He won't see the difference now, but when he's in his thirties he will..............but that's just how life is.

Was blabbering away with pals on a night out on the weekend there about our teenage drinking antics.

Guy who had trials for Liverpool at that age was saying how he regretted missing out on all that until he was about 17.

Sums it up.

Edited by SodjesSixteenIncher

The players can't be controlled 24/7 and there allowed there own downtime just like the rest of us. Might be wrong but a think they may have a few days off now anyway so they can do what they like, within reason

This is true of course, but that's exactly what has annoyed me. If they gave a shit about their careers/the club they'd make the right decision rather than shovelling shite like french fancies and sausage rolls into their face on a Tuesday afternoon.

I was speaking about this with a few Rangers fans at work and they've said the exact same about their young players. A lot of the younger players up here just don't seem to give a shit. If you follow any of them on twitter etc it's constant tweets about Nandos/McDonald or playing FIFA and GTA. I don't think you'd ever see the likes of Wilshire, Ronaldo, Messi etc out on a Sunday night for a burger and chips.

You could argue that comparison is a bit unfair as they're at the top of the game but surely if you're a professional footballer at any level these days you've got to a least give a bit of shit when it comes to fitness.

It's all about levels, our players might not all end up playing in the Champions League but they should realise that they will not all make it as full time footballers unless they graft and make the right choices.

What does doing shit like you've mentioned show? They either don't give a shit, aren't being told correctly what they should be doing, or both.

Always remember Gianfranco Zola talking about the English Premiership players saying that generally, the big difference between many of the English players and the Italian/German/Dutch ones was down to the attitude towards money. He said English/British players reckoned they got big money for playing football, whereas the mainland European players at the top of their game saw the money as fabulous compensation for the normal young man's life that they had to sacrifice in order to be a top footballer.

He reckoned the difference in attitude eventually paid off. It's probably why the likes of Liam Dick already knows in his heart of hearts that he's not going to ever be a top player, and that being the case, he's not going to make any of the sacrifices that it would take (in terms of diet). He won't see the difference now, but when he's in his thirties he will..............but that's just how life is.

It could be the difference between 15k a year or whatever he's on now and 100k a year when he's 22-23 if he applies himself properly. As TheFalkirkBairn says, it seems to be a general attitude thing rather than a diet thing. Maybe not fair to single Dick out but I saw this today and it annoyed me after he was utterly pish on Saturday.

I should point out I have no problem with guys having a few drinks on a Saturday night or a takeaway after a game or something, but the attitude a good few players seem to have is atrocious.

ONEDINDOOM

WE HATE FALKIRK MORE THAN YOU.

Seriously now everyone can we calm the f**k doon! This isnt the first time we've lost 2 games on the trot. we already have a better record than we did at christmass last season. If everyone is realy ohnest with themselves you might come to the conclusion that the board are not trying to kill the club or get home games against rangers or drive fans away and that youre just having a hissy fit cause we've been shite the last 3 weeks./ years

I've said this so many times i'm startin to loose count.

we are still paying for the overspending during the yogi era and some other finiancial f**k ups that are in the PAST they cant be undone. there is no magic wand to make that go away and this is the reality we live in.. its going to take a long time to get back to where we were 6 years ago.

Now here are some reasons why the board are not as evil as you might think.

1- Theygot the manager by the process which the fans demanded. they do not have the power to demand peter housten run our first time, we can only get what we can afford.

2- The plastic pitch was a neccesity in this climate. the state of the grass pitch last season was so bad it would have cost us a fortune to get back in order and we would still have been saddled with the massive costs of stirling uni and now we have no undersoil heating to pay for. no games called off after heavy rain and a pitch that makes us money when its not being used. - small price to pay for playing youre first team games on it.

3- the academy is the right way to go. even if most of the turn out dross we will still produce some genuine talent.

4- a fourth stand would be completely irresponsable to build at a time when our entire home and away crowds could comfortably be seated in the main stand.

What some people here eeither dont realise or dont want to aknowledge is that this will all take time to come thro. we do need experienced players in the team and we need to be more competative but it will not happen overnight and taking the huff and going in a rage every time we loose isnt the answer.

remeber

We are not a big club

we dont have a right to be in the spl

If you want instant success and wins all the time then go and watch the fucking old firm chelsea or bayern munich

Edited by effeffsee_the2nd

ONEDINDOOM

Seriously now everyone can we calm the f**k doon! This isnt the first time we've lost 2 games on the trot. we already have a better record than we did at christmass last season. If everyone is realy ohnest with themselves you might come to the conclusion that the board are not trying to kill the club or get home games against rangers or drive fans away and that youre just having a hissy fit cause we've been shite the last 3 weeks./ years

we are still paying for the overspending during the yogi era and some other finiancial f**k ups that are in the PAST they cant be undone. there is no magic wand to make that go away and this is the reality we live in.. its going to take a long time to get back to where we were 6 years ago.

1- Theygot the manager by the process which the fans demanded. they do not have the power to demand peter housten run our first time, we can only get what we can afford.

2- The plastic pitch was a neccesity in this climate. the state of the grass pitch last season was so bad it would have cost us a fortune to get back in order and we would still have been saddled with the massive costs of stirling uni and now we have no undersoil heating to pay for. no games called off after heavy rain and a pitch that makes us money when its not being used. - small price to pay for playing youre first team games on it.

3- the academy is the right way to go. even if most of the turn out dross we will still produce some genuine talent.

4- a fourth stand would be completely irresponsable to build at a time when our entire home and away crowds could comfortably be seated in the main stand.

What some people here eeither dont realise or dont want to aknowledge is that this will all take time to come thro. we do need experienced players in the team and we need to be more competative but it will not happen overnight and taking the huff and going in a rage every time we loose isnt the answer.

remeber

We are not a big club

If you want instant success and wins all the time then go and watch the fucking old firm chelsea or bayern munich

ONEDINDOOM

remeber

We are not a big club

:lol: Ha Ha, I liked that bit!

ONEDINDOOM

1- Theygot the manager by the process which the fans demanded. they do not have the power to demand peter housten run our first time, we can only get what we can afford. The "process" being right (or at least part of the process being right) doesn't negate wrong appointments being made.

The state of the pitch last season was 100% down to a lack of care and maintenance. The drainage wasn't knackered, but the surface had completely thatched, meaning surface water had no way of efficiently draining away. Not particularly fussed about the surface personally.

Simply by saying "the academy is the right way to go" doesn't make it so. There are lots of failed academy structures. You seem to base it purely on the law of averages, which in turn, is equally applicable to a non academy structure where you simply sign youngsters, and lob them in a youth team. For instance, Livingston have no academy structure, yet have produced Dorrans, Snodgrass, Griffiths, McPake and Scougall. The could also argue a case for giving Hoolahan the right shop window after his time at Shelbourne. In a properly run club, those five would easily match the transfer values of anything our academy has produced. Our big money sale last season had nowt to do with our academy......it was solely down to Pressley getting Taylor signed up.

I'm not saying "build a fourth stand", but what I WILL say is that the unenclosed ground makes for a simply awful atmosphere. Four sided grounds are MUCH better than one two or three sided grounds. It also points to the fact that when we left Brockville, with a blank sheet of paper, we got the new stadium about as wrong as it's possible to get it. The main stand looks mightily impressive walking up to it, but once you're inside, our stadium is about as soulless as they come. The very fact that our main stand can seat our entire crowd tells you nothing more than our main stand was and is far too large!

So, how come Raith Rovers (on half of hour gates) seem to have achieved it in next to no time at all?

remeber

We are not a big club (although there's only one club bigger in the division in which we have failed to finish second for three consecutive seasons, and we're well on our way to making it four on the trot)

we dont have a right to be in the spl (nor do arguably and demonstrably smaller clubs such as ICT, Ross County, Motherwell, and St Johnstone, but thats exactly where they all are)

If you want instant success and wins all the time then go and watch the fucking old firm chelsea or bayern munich So that's the two options? What we have now, or win every game? Don't think that's strictly true.

Edited by Guest