The Falkirk FC Thread

4 minutes ago, Duncan Freemason said:

Never socialised with the guy, but played against him three or four times (as young teenagers). We can all have viewpoints on who is a good player, and who is “ok”. Kennedy was completely off the charts good. He was like an express train, and at that time, he was near enough unstoppable.

He couldn’t be intimidated either, as he was as hard as nails. I don’t think he made friends easily.

I had a friend who stupidly thought he would “have a go” upstairs in the Charioteer (Maddox?). He was warned to just leave it, but no, my friend thought he was a bit of a hard man, so he confronted Stuart…….big mistake. The minute he pushed Stuart, he unleashed a whole world of pain of my friend.

I would go as far as saying that it changed my friend’s life completely. No more hard man antics with a drink in him. He became a bit of a recluse thereafter.

His first job was at Grangemouth Dockyard  and one of my mates worked there. Cocky guy with a good conceit of himself and was soon put in his place as you would expect in the dockyards. After that, he knew his place in the grand scheme of things and rubbed along fine with folk.

To play the way Stuart played and at the level he reached you had to have that self-assurance bordering on arrogance. So worth cutting a bit of slack to one of the best players ever to pull on a Falkirk jersey.

15 minutes ago, RRFC_Liam said:

Spencer has offers in the premiership (supposedly) and Down South I very much doubt he’ll be rocking up at Falkirk if that’s the case…. MacDonald could be the most likely as your a lot closer to his home and will likely still be No1 which he wants 

Wouldn’t surprise me if they both end up here, both have rejected deals with your lot and we know mcglynn rates them with supposedly a couple more players set to be announced next week. Also wouldn’t surprise me if they end up elsewhere as it’s all pure conjecture on my part, I’m just joining the dots. 

16 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

Wouldn’t surprise me if they both end up here, both have rejected deals with your lot and we know mcglynn rates them with supposedly a couple more players set to be announced next week. Also wouldn’t surprise me if they end up elsewhere as it’s all pure conjecture on my part, I’m just joining the dots. 

What would surprise you?

Guest FFC1965

Stuart Kennedy was ill suited to running a pub but was bearable as he liked a bit of football chat.  Ive seen him tetchy in The Woodside (his default setting) but never rude or aggressive.  Like many ex pros he was at his best when talking about his expolits in the game ("Robbie Rensenbrink?  Back pocket" etc etc).    

I recall him joining us for a game at Coasters when we were short of bodies at 6 a sides.   Must have been the late 1980s / early 90s so Stuart would have been nudging 40 and long retired through injury.  We were all in our 20s and fancied ourselves.

He was amazing.  You couldn't get past him but he never seemed to put a tackle in, just kind of sent you down the side then took the ball off you.  I can vaguely remember him for Falkirk pre 1976 but playing with / against him even after a bad injury and almost 40 was an eye opener in the massive gulf between good amateurs and top pros - effectively a different sport.         

2 hours ago, LatapyBairn. said:

Same situation with the boy Spencer if we’re putting 2 and 2 together. 

Is Spencer not a defensive midfielder? We don't need another one of them. Even if Henderson went back into defence, which I'd prefer, we still have McGinn and Yeats and we should only be playing with one defensive mid in this league anyway IMO.

Although he did well in there when he moved forward I felt we were a bit over reliant on Henderson to the expense of having a more creative player in midfield. Latterly McGlynn seemed to be using him as a 'last throw of the dice' in trying to win headers to knock down for others. Felt that was a wee bit desperate in the end.

Arfield would be an unbelievable signing of course and, given the circumstances, it may just be possible, if we can offer him a player-coach role. I'd love to see young Max back on loan too if possible.

1 minute ago, ShaggerG said:

Is Spencer not a defensive midfielder? We don't need another one of them. Even if Henderson went back into defence, which I'd prefer, we still have McGinn and Yeats and we should only be playing with one defensive mid in this league anyway IMO.

Although he did well in there when he moved forward I felt we were a bit over reliant on Henderson to the expense of having a more creative player in midfield. Latterly McGlynn seemed to be using him as a 'last throw of the dice' in trying to win headers to knock down for others. Felt that was a wee bit desperate in the end.

Arfield would be an unbelievable signing of course and, given the circumstances, it may just be possible, if we can offer him a player-coach role. I'd love to see young Max back on loan too if possible.

We definitely could benefit massively from a quality defensive midfielder.

1 hour ago, LatapyBairn. said:

Could see MacDonald going to FC Edinburgh. If he was looking to transition into a different career, that'd be the way to do it. He already Coaches there and lives in Edinburgh.

4 minutes ago, SouthStander1876 said:

We definitely could benefit massively from a quality defensive midfielder.

I'd say more of a deep lying playmaker. You'd need someone else to provide the  muscle/tackling.

7 minutes ago, SouthStander1876 said:

From what I've seen from Raith fans it seems he is quite a tidy ball progressor 

Aye, since Hendry left he's been our primary connecting point between back to front. Starts deep, kinda box to box but without any real attacking threat (he isn't going to push beyond the forwards and the few shots he'll take are always from distance)

He's all about his range and vision of passing. Needs paired with someone better at tracking runs, pressing and tackling however.

Edited by renton

8 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Arfield would be unbelievable but I can't see it being possible tbh, hope I'm wrong but how can we afford his wages? , and can't see Mglynn giving him a player/coach role, Mcglynn under pressure to start season flying already,  couple dodgy results early on and social media be all , sack Mcglynn , give job to Arfield,  no manager going to.put themselves in that position 

2 minutes ago, Amarillo Bairn said:

Arfield would be unbelievable but I can't see it being possible tbh, hope I'm wrong but how can we afford his wages? , and can't see Mglynn giving him a player/coach role, Mcglynn under pressure to start season flying already,  couple dodgy results early on and social media be all , sack Mcglynn , give job to Arfield,  no manager going to.put themselves in that position 

If you're McGlynn and you have the option of having Arfield in your team in League 1 you take it

20 minutes ago, Ecosse83 said:

Arfield has offers from half the Premiership, he’s not coming here FFS 😂

Again, there would be absolutely no discussion on Arfield were it not for the fact that the man himself said he wants to come back here. 

At whatever point he deems that what he wants, as long as he isn't totally broken and we're not in the Prem, it will entail a big money drop for him. It wpuld be a choice he made outside of the desire for the biggest pay cheque. 

We all know he can still play at a much higher level, as does he. What we don't know is if (and if so then when) he intends to lend Falkirk his skills, which exist outside our budget 

I think Arfield will come back but probably after he's had another season or two in the premiership and be a bit similar to McGinn in the fact we will probably get him when he's on the downslope to winding up his playing career. 

Arfield wants to play for another 5 years. He has another move in him before he considers us. 2 or 3 years at Hearts or Aberdeen then back to us is how I’d imagine this plays out.

A couple of additions this week would be nice nonetheless