The Falkirk FC Thread

15 minutes ago, Andy Dufresne said:

Airdrie can get a keeper in for tomorrow 

Mentioned on the match thread but I just think that’s wrong. I’d say the same if it was ourselves or any other team.

It’s a two legged tie so just seems unfair that a team can call in another goalie at this stage  because their first choice got himself sent off. They have a senior goalkeeper and as I understand it their U18 goalie is available (their U18 side who won their league incidentally).

Its not going to have a bearing on the game in this case given the circumstances of course.

13 minutes ago, Hughsie said:

Mentioned on the match thread but I just think that’s wrong. I’d say the same if it was ourselves or any other team.

It’s a two legged tie so just seems unfair that a team can call in another goalie at this stage  because their first choice got himself sent off. They have a senior goalkeeper and as I understand it their U18 goalie is available (their U18 side who won their league incidentally).

Its not going to have a bearing on the game in this case given the circumstances of course.

I would agree tbh but if we can't get murray Johnson back i don't think we'll bring anyone in anyway.

9 minutes ago, Hughsie said:

I'd agree tbf, it's an absolute nonsense. They have a fit goalkeeper, they have a fit sub. 

With regards to McGlynns signings I feel its a bit simplistic to just simply reel off players and say they're a good signing. Surely you need to look at what the squad needed and decide from there? The January transfer window is a massive case in point. You lose Alegria, a physical striker who could play the lone role, and McGlynn reacts by bringing in two? Strikers, neither of whome can play upfront on their own, meaning you spend the second half of the season with fucking Gary Oliver as your striker. 

You bring in Meekinson and then Max K when you already have Nesbitt, Lawall, Kennedy and Morrison capable of playing as that attacking trio. McGuffie aswell as depth. 

However you leave the January transfer window and your only defensively minded midfielders are McGinn and Henderson, however by playing Henderson further forward you're now left with McKay as a CB, of which no new ones were brought in either. 

As windows go it's absolutely reeked of McGlynn signing good players because they were available, with absolutely no overall thoughts with regards to how they'd improve the squad. 

1 minute ago, Grant228 said:

I'd agree tbf, it's an absolute nonsense. They have a fit goalkeeper, they have a fit sub. 

With regards to McGlynns signings I feel its a bit simplistic to just simply reel off players and say they're a good signing. Surely you need to look at what the squad needed and decide from there? The January transfer window is a massive case in point. You lose Alegria, a physical striker who could play the lone role, and McGlynn reacts by bringing in two? Strikers, neither of whome can play upfront on their own, meaning you spend the second half of the season with fucking Gary Oliver as your striker. 

You bring in Meekinson and then Max K when you already have Nesbitt, Lawall, Kennedy and Morrison capable of playing as that attacking trio. McGuffie aswell as depth. 

However you leave the January transfer window and your only defensively minded midfielders are McGinn and Henderson, however by playing Henderson further forward you're now left with McKay as a CB, of which no new ones were brought in either. 

As windows go it's absolutely reeked of McGlynn signing good players because they were available, with absolutely no overall thoughts with regards to how they'd improve the squad. 

We needed a right back and we had one signed on the first of January, we needed more creativity and we brought in Meekison who got injured in his first game so we replaced him with Kucheriavyi.

We already needed an option upfront and then the situation got worse with Alegria unexpectedly going back to Rangers. So we brought in Allan & Wright, Allan would have been perfectly fine had we changed our formation up to get the best out of him thus removing the need for any of them to play as a lone striker.

We needed another keeper as Hogarth went back to Forrest and we got Kinnear in.

The only position I wanted another option for in January that we didn't get was another winger, as Craig McGuffie's nowhere near good enough and Nesbitt's hopeless out wide.

2 hours ago, Numbers_One_To_Eleven said:

That’s easy. He leaves or goes upstairs at the end of next season…..champions, promoted or not. 

The point I am trying to make is that’s never going to happen. 

if he gets us up there is no way he is getting sacked. Most likely will be a couple of years of no progress in Championship. Hopefully avoiding relegation. 

Guest Ecosse83

It’s all about opinions and if folk want him the stay that’s their opinion. The collapse of epic proportions since Dunfermline away is enough for me to want change. 

What I’d give for us to have the come back of all come back’s tomorrow and look like a right numpty 😂

18 minutes ago, ChoppeReid said:

The point I am trying to make is that’s never going to happen. 

if he gets us up there is no way he is getting sacked. Most likely will be a couple of years of no progress in Championship. Hopefully avoiding relegation. 

Dundee and Bowyer have parted ways. McKinnon and Queens Park. Dundee and McCormack years ago when Dundee were top.

13 hours ago, Uncle Fester said:

Well Tuesdays game reminded me of a quote last year by Roughie on PLZ, he said " ah dinnae care whit anybody says, if I was getting beat 6 nil, ah wid be halfing somebody in two ",,,,if it's another tanking on Saturday maybe a few crunching tackles would garner a wee bit of respect from the fans.

Hm, hopefully not.   Respect from the fans would be them playing as they should be, scoring goals and winning games !

31 minutes ago, Ecosse83 said:

What I’d give for us to have the come back of all come back’s tomorrow and look like a right numpty 😂

I don't think I could survive another two games where it's a coin toss which Falkirk side might turn up 😬

3 hours ago, FFC 1876 said:

We needed a right back and we had one signed on the first of January, we needed more creativity and we brought in Meekison who got injured in his first game so we replaced him with Kucheriavyi.

We already needed an option upfront and then the situation got worse with Alegria unexpectedly going back to Rangers. So we brought in Allan & Wright, Allan would have been perfectly fine had we changed our formation up to get the best out of him thus removing the need for any of them to play as a lone striker.

We needed another keeper as Hogarth went back to Forrest and we got Kinnear in.

The only position I wanted another option for in January that we didn't get was another winger, as Craig McGuffie's nowhere near good enough and Nesbitt's hopeless out wide.

What concerns me is that a lot of the players that were not up for it this season are signed for next season. Another year older some will be on the downward spiral to the end of their career.

With regard to new signings anybody from a higher divisional team will see the club as a last resort due to our track record. Where we should be looking is the lower division for the young player doing the business who will see full-time football as a step up in their career and be motivated accordingly.

3 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

What concerns me is that a lot of the players that were not up for it this season are signed for next season. Another year older some will be on the downward spiral to the end of their career.

With regard to new signings anybody from a higher divisional team will see the club as a last resort due to our track record. Where we should be looking is the lower division for the young player doing the business who will see full-time football as a step up in their career and be motivated accordingly.

The issue with that is if they are really on the up they'll have full time championship clubs after them and we don't have much of a pull over them at this point.

Loans are crucial in this league, McGlynn used that avenue fairly well this season so hopefully we use it to our advantage again.

7 minutes ago, FFC 1876 said:

Good move by the club announcing that signing at this point to be fair. Welcome aboard Alfie.

Good signing, can’t help feeling this has been rushed out to take the heat out of tomorrow but I’m happy with him. He gave our back line a torrid time the first game at TFS against Kelty.

Likely a decent enough signing tbf, he’s looked a handful every time we’ve played against him.

The bitter, cynical part of me which has reared its head in the last few days does say it’s being announced *now* as a distraction.

Edited by 18BAIRN76