The Falkirk FC Thread

1 hour ago, ShaggerG said:

How does he act when playing against you? Seems a bit weird that he's that way with us considering we were the ones that gave him the platform to get his move to Huddersfield which, presumably, has been his only decent payday from football?

Nothing of note at EEP against us. I wasn't at either away game to be fair. Does seem to save his bampottery for games vs you guys 😁

1 hour ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Was just going to ask that - perhaps @Kelheartcan say if KH is as fit to blow his stack every week or if it's just us.

He plays with same intensity from first to last whistle for us and just about keeps a lid on it , can’t really ask for more been outstanding signing for us if truth be told  , would rather have a team of Higgy’s than a team of wait till I fix ma hair Jessie’s 😂😂he hates losing bit like maself 😂

With Meekison most likely done for the season, Lawal only a month or so away from returning and Nesbitt playing much better in the 10 if Dundee United do us a favour and take Meekison back I wouldn't mind us signing a winger on loan. Saves us having McGuffie as the only option off the bench. 

Cudjoe from Dundee United or Kucheryavyi from St Johnstone.

5 minutes ago, FFC 1876 said:

With Meekison most likely done for the season, Lawal only a month or so away from returning and Nesbitt playing much better in the 10 if Dundee United do us a favour and take Meekison back I wouldn't mind us signing a winger on loan. Saves us having McGuffie as the only option off the bench. 

Cudjoe from Dundee United or Kucheryavyi from St Johnstone.

f**k naw! He'd give you rabies!

2 hours ago, AGPar said:

I'd be amazed if he was the same absolutely raging mess against any other side tbh. Or anything close to it.

I've never been able to work out what his problem is. My (vague) recollection of his time at Falkirk is that he was signed by Pressley, was generally pish in his first season, had a very good first half of the following season, culminating in his performance against Celtic in the League Cup s/f at Hampden which earned him a move to Huddersfield Town and no doubt a significant pay hike. Not much to be pissed off about there. Maybe I'm missing something. 

Basically, guy's an idiot.

When he came to us he did that young winger thing of beating a man, then turning back to beat him again, then turning round to beat him again before belatedly getting a cross in (Morrison and Kennedy are both prone to this too). That got coached out of him and he learned to cross early or hit the byline and cross.  He was a sand-dancer who was coached to play the simple ball and this was what got him his big move to Huddersfield.

Probably the high point of his career. 

2 hours ago, AGPar said:

I'd be amazed if he was the same absolutely raging mess against any other side tbh. Or anything close to it.

I've never been able to work out what his problem is. My (vague) recollection of his time at Falkirk is that he was signed by Pressley, was generally pish in his first season, had a very good first half of the following season, culminating in his performance against Celtic in the League Cup s/f at Hampden which earned him a move to Huddersfield Town and no doubt a significant pay hike. Not much to be pissed off about there. Maybe I'm missing something. 

Basically, guy's an idiot.

If i remember correctly Huddersfield sent scouts to watch Murray Wallace,saw Higgy play were impressed by the bawbag and signed him on the one and only game they watched him play.

Edited to add i watched that game on the TV at Forth Valley hospital with my old man and it was the last game we saw together.

Edited by Andy Dufresne

1 hour ago, gav-ffc said:

This sounds familiar 

All to do with the change in stature of the club. 

The academy was closed because being a League 1/Championship side in London meant the top talents would inevitably be picked off. Now they're a Premiership side, with the funding that brings it makes sense to have an academy. 

7 hours ago, Grant228 said:

All to do with the change in stature of the club. 

The academy was closed because being a League 1/Championship side in London meant the top talents would inevitably be picked off. Now they're a Premiership side, with the funding that brings it makes sense to have an academy. 

Ultimately our closing of the academy, the reason for it, and what we did next were completely different to Brentford. We were quoted of using ‘the Brentford model’ but it couldn’t be further from that. Whilst the Bees used pioneering data to find players, we used an agent called Richard Mitchell who chucked any old English player at us. At Scottish second tier level I’m not sure of how much data like Brentford’s would help attract players from further afield, who knows.

Brentford were investing a lot of cash in their academy only for their players to get picked off at a youngish age for a relatively short sum of cash. Can’t say this was the case with us, more that we were having to sell a player every season to balance the books of it, which wasn’t sustainable. The idea of having more money to put towards the first team was a wise one, what we did with it was a shambles.

What was also a shambles was how it was communicated to players and their families, and then when offered external funding to keep it going, it was rejected by the club. 

Falkirk and Brentford are labelled together when it comes to closing their academies but really the two stories are very different and the clubs have said opposite effects since doing so.

3 hours ago, Trump said:

Ultimately our closing of the academy, the reason for it, and what we did next were completely different to Brentford. We were quoted of using ‘the Brentford model’ but it couldn’t be further from that. Whilst the Bees used pioneering data to find players, we used an agent called Richard Mitchell who chucked any old English player at us. At Scottish second tier level I’m not sure of how much data like Brentford’s would help attract players from further afield, who knows.

Brentford were investing a lot of cash in their academy only for their players to get picked off at a youngish age for a relatively short sum of cash. Can’t say this was the case with us, more that we were having to sell a player every season to balance the books of it, which wasn’t sustainable. The idea of having more money to put towards the first team was a wise one, what we did with it was a shambles.

What was also a shambles was how it was communicated to players and their families, and then when offered external funding to keep it going, it was rejected by the club. 

Falkirk and Brentford are labelled together when it comes to closing their academies but really the two stories are very different and the clubs have said opposite effects since doing so.

Agree with most this apart from it being a wise move to divert cash to the first team as that was small beer in the scheme of things 

My step daughter and her partner moved into a new flat in Dunfermline. I put the address in the sat nav and headed there yesterday (helping to decorate the place). Turns out they're really near EEP. Had to pass the place to get where I was going. 

Not quite spitting distance. Even with the wind at my back and aiming directly at the place, my phlegm didn't even get past their fence. But really, really close. I pointed this out to the wife who said "well, you can come and watch Falkirk when they come and I'll just stay at the flat"

So...when the game eventually gets replayed looks like I'll be there. Result. 

1 hour ago, scottsdad said:

My step daughter and her partner moved into a new flat in Dunfermline. I put the address in the sat nav and headed there yesterday (helping to decorate the place). Turns out they're really near EEP. Had to pass the place to get where I was going. 

Not quite spitting distance. Even with the wind at my back and aiming directly at the place, my phlegm didn't even get past their fence. But really, really close. I pointed this out to the wife who said "well, you can come and watch Falkirk when they come and I'll just stay at the flat"

So...when the game eventually gets replayed looks like I'll be there. Result. 

The extra sunshine you'll get from the more frequent visits will be great for you, much different to all that cloud and sadness in Falkirk.

Rule 11.2.2 of the SFA Disciplinary code:

During a suspension, a player or member of Team Staff is excluded from the Playing Zone at any match played under the jurisdiction of the Scottish FA until the expiry of the suspension. The “Playing Zone” is the area used by players and Team Staff at a match and shall extend to both teams’ dressing rooms, the match officials’ dressing rooms, the players’ tunnel to the pitch, any corridors leading to and/or connecting the said rooms and the players’ tunnel to the pitch, the technical areas and substitutes’ benches, the track, the playing surface and any area within 2 metres of any part of the touch line or goal line of the playing surface. The exclusion shall apply from 75 minutes prior to the scheduled time of kick-off of a match until 15 minutes following the referee having signalled the end of the match. For the avoidance of doubt, the exclusion continues to apply during extra time and/or kicks from the penalty mark when required in any match

Looks like John Potter could be up in front of the SFA for breaching his touchline ban on Saturday. What that might mean is up for debate.  Could we be awarded the game 3-0 as he was, on more than one occassion, giving orders to Tidser when he called him over for instructions.  

13 minutes ago, JustLuvinThepian said:

Rule 11.2.2 of the SFA Disciplinary code:

During a suspension, a player or member of Team Staff is excluded from the Playing Zone at any match played under the jurisdiction of the Scottish FA until the expiry of the suspension. The “Playing Zone” is the area used by players and Team Staff at a match and shall extend to both teams’ dressing rooms, the match officials’ dressing rooms, the players’ tunnel to the pitch, any corridors leading to and/or connecting the said rooms and the players’ tunnel to the pitch, the technical areas and substitutes’ benches, the track, the playing surface and any area within 2 metres of any part of the touch line or goal line of the playing surface. The exclusion shall apply from 75 minutes prior to the scheduled time of kick-off of a match until 15 minutes following the referee having signalled the end of the match. For the avoidance of doubt, the exclusion continues to apply during extra time and/or kicks from the penalty mark when required in any match

Looks like John Potter could be up in front of the SFA for breaching his touchline ban on Saturday. What that might mean is up for debate.  Could we be awarded the game 3-0 as he was, on more than one occassion, giving orders to Tidser when he called him over for instructions.  

Doubtful, he’ll probably get another game or two added on the end of the existing ban (which he’ll need to serve still obviously)

A complete hypothetical, one for the boffins out there.

Say we’d beaten Kelty 0-5 on Saturday. Potter found to have breached that rule and punishment would be forfeit of match. Would the result be turned into a 0-3, effectively punishing us? There must be examples of this type of thing previously.