The Falkirk FC Thread

1 minute ago, Shodwall cat said:

What was Oliver sent off for? Twitter feed saw red for handling in the box but you don't get a red card for simply handling in the box. Sky had violent conduct FFS.🤷

Sky vidi said Foul play.

It was "deliberate handball/denying a goal" as he knocked the ball off the line with some unspecified part of the top half of his body.

For me, the only consolation is that had this game taken place a year ago, it would have been a 5-0 or 6-0 or 7-0.

3-0 flattered them a bit, but it was clear to see over the 90 minutes that they are a solid enough middling Championship side, and we are still very much a L1 side albeit much better than last season. The gap between us and them has closed, but tonight showed that we are still some way off it.

So the League Cup isn’t going to provide a quick financial fix. It’s back to league duty, and hopefully tonight doesn’t affect league momentum.

1 hour ago, LatapyBairn. said:

There is no fixed formula, it’s whatever Sandy decides it is! He owns the bloody thing! Rumour has it he’s left it to the club in his will. 

There was, at some point, a note in the accounts that showed it as an increasing payment over time…YMMV.

We were quite poor tonight although that was down to Dundee just being a much better, and more complete team than us. We won’t play anyone remotely like them this season. It was another free hit and unfortunately we missed, but there is no real damage done. Felt bad for big Liam Henderson tonight - he should never have been shoehorned in as some McGinn replacement.

11 minutes ago, Just a bairn said:

We were quite poor tonight although that was down to Dundee just being a much better, and more complete team than us. We won’t play anyone remotely like them this season. It was another free hit and unfortunately we missed, but there is no real damage done. Felt bad for big Liam Henderson tonight - he should never have been shoehorned in as some McGinn replacement.

Agreed, we somehow got worse when he went off though, although conceding the first goal when he was already done didn't help as it's a long road back.

Goal wasn't his fault but timing was terrible

For the penalty the ball seem to strike Oliver at some pace. I have no idea whether it was a handball or not however what I will say is I immediately looked at the referee. He looked to the linesman who gave nothing. No signal no movement. The referee then pointed to the spot. The fact the referee looked to the linesman tells me he wasn’t 100% sure and if he isn’t 100% sure he shouldn’t have gave it.

Edited by Tea and Busquets

Should also point out the obvious here before someone else does but McGinn was a massive miss. Vital we keep him fit for the league games. Thought we lacked physicality up top when Alegria went off as he was competing well with Ashcroft and the other CB. Even left one of them on the deck first half where Morrison should score.

Alegria is an odd one. There’s times where he looks hench as f**k and literally batters a CB out the way - he did this well a couple of times tonight - and then the following ball that gets played up to him, he’ll look really weak and end up just falling over. It’s probably inexperience but could get quite frustrating. 

5 hours ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

The club own the pitch but not the land it sits on.

The club own seats but not the grandstand they sit on.

The council charges the club running costs which knowing the council will be well loaded.

Goodness knows what % of administration costs gas, electricity and other service charges are.

That is money going out the club. It would be better used as being added to the mortgage payment.

Find out the value of the stadium, car park and surrounding land. Arrange funding to buy it and develop the facility not only paying the off the loan but adding to team funds. 

The Council is always girning about funds so a one off casher there's good bet they bite our hand off.

Arranging funding would not be easy too many banks were burnt in the past lending to football clubs .Unfortunately there is a history of clubs our size going into administration and not repaying loans. I would just reduce the payments to sandy alexander -he can’t exactly rent his stand to anyone else!

1 hour ago, FFC 1876 said:

When does Oliver serve his suspension? Is it not until next season or does it carry over into the league?

The Scottish League Cup is a specified competition, which means the one match suspension (assuming it’s denying a goal scoring opportunity) is to be served in the next SLC match he can play in.

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/media/1849/suspensions-for-players-in-mens-football-annex-c-section-4.pdf

2 hours ago, Andy Dufresne said:

For gods sake our team are playing and you are banging on about a stupid flag.

Give it a bloody rest.

Probably an England fan as well gtf mate we hate both sides of the old firm and detest the thought of us being connected to that shit 

3-0 certainly flattered Dundee, thought we competed well over the 90 minutes and just lacked a cutting edge in the final third. Repeated poor decision making and sloppy passing didnt help, along with terrible defending for all 3 goals. Imagine bringing everyone back for corners and conceding twice from them ffs.

Would have been interesting if we had gone ahead with the deflected cross that hit the post or Morrison's chance that he fluffed as Dundee huffed and puffed a bit like us with an isolated striker. Their number 25 is some player and they are a cut above anything we'll face in league 1 this season. Important to dust ourselves down and keep the winning run going in the league 

3 minutes ago, NavyBlueArmy1876 said:

3-0 certainly flattered Dundee, thought we competed well over the 90 minutes and just lacked a cutting edge in the final third. Repeated poor decision making and sloppy passing didnt help, along with terrible defending for all 3 goals. Imagine bringing everyone back for corners and conceding twice from them ffs.

Would have been interesting if we had gone ahead with the deflected cross that hit the post or Morrison's chance that he fluffed as Dundee huffed and puffed a bit like us with an isolated striker. Their number 25 is some player and they are a cut above anything we'll face in league 1 this season. Important to dust ourselves down and keep the winning run going in the league 

He scored against us for Montrose at TFS last season.

1 hour ago, Just a bairn said:

It says that Hetherington wasn't trusted before him which is a good thing and hopefully gets the message to him to piss off to pastures new. 

2 hours ago, Duncan Freemason said:

3-0 flattered them a bit, but it was clear to see over the 90 minutes that they are a solid enough middling Championship side, and we are still very much a L1 side albeit much better than last season. The gap between us and them has closed, but tonight showed that we are still some way off it.

Cheeky p***k 😂 You do realising you're doing your team as much of a disservice with that claim as ours? The game looked very much what it was; title-contenders but one a tier up from the other. Falkirk definitely weren't rubbish, play with that effort most weeks against League One teams and you'll be rosy.

Edited by RossBFaeDundee

On 29/08/2022 at 15:51, Blame Me said:

On the subject of Dundee. Watched the televised game on Friday night and would say we have more than a chance. 

We play very similarly to Ayr (Alegria performing the Akinyemi role) and perhaps have a wee bit more threat in attack than they do so I would be confident facing them but they are at home so have the advantage.

It's winnable.

Do you know this guy on LinkedIn? 😋

image.jpeg.fdd59c1ed04b3a6278af8f1022e46aa2.jpeg

LEONG SAIR YIN

Singapore

1 follower 1 connection

Edited by Bairn in Exile