The Falkirk FC Thread

Bookings are cleared after the first round though are they not? A complete farce if they aren't when you have a number of sides joining the competition at this round who haven't played in the bloody group stages. That's Scottish football for you though.

Edited by Shodwall cat

37 minutes ago, Blame Me said:

On the subject of Dundee. Watched the televised game on Friday night and would say we have more than a chance. 

We play very similarly to Ayr (Alegria performing the Akinyemi role) and perhaps have a wee bit more threat in attack than they do so I would be confident facing them but they are at home so have the advantage.

It's winnable.

That is quite a statement to make and would probably have fans of other clubs calling us Billy Big Baws.

Ayr are sitting top of the league above us having scored 10 goals. We are sitting 3rd in the 3rd tier having scored 10 goals.

1 Ayr United 5 1 2 0 5 3 2 0 0 5 3 4 11
3 Falkirk 5 2 1 0 6 2 1 0 1 3 4 3 10

8 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

That is quite a statement to make and would probably have fans of other clubs calling us Billy Big Baws.

Ayr are sitting top of the league above us having scored 10 goals. We are sitting 3rd in the 3rd tier having scored 10 goals.

We played Arbroath twice in cups in recent years and beat them comfortably enough and they were doing pretty well in the league above mind you.

5 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

Not at all.

I'm sure Akinyemi has scored 6 of those 10 - 1 coming from their RB on Friday night - whereas we have Morrison, Burrell, Lawal, McGuffie and Alegria all capable of scoring.

If your looking at stats Dundee have struggled for goals recently.

Sorry to be moaning after such a great weekend but surely someone within the club could update the website.

Recent results have not been reflected on the Fixture list nor is the Dundee fixture even shown.

We also don’t show our Team members despite having such a section available.

This is very poor for a club our size and reflects badly on our sponsors, Crunchy Carrots.

Please FFC.

59 minutes ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

Sorry to be moaning after such a great weekend but surely someone within the club could update the website.

Recent results have not been reflected on the Fixture list nor is the Dundee fixture even shown.

We also don’t show our Team members despite having such a section available.

This is very poor for a club our size and reflects badly on our sponsors, Crunchy Carrots.

Please FFC.

You would think it would only be a 2 minute job too. 

2 hours ago, Kevin James Left Knee said:

Beating Dundee would be massive (if difficult) but no-one has mentioned it yet but regular home gates of near 4,000 mean around there are 1600 walk ins at between £11 and £18 (so let's say £14) that is around £22,000 per game plus food income. That is around £400,000 a year. 

It is not enough to cover the projected losses but it is a huge improvement and helps any short term issues of cashflow.

Be great if we could get it over 4,000 regularly.

What is the walk up budget though? If, for arguments sake it is 800 then the extra is only half that gap. 

McGinn’s suspension could be a huge factor as he has been immense in that holding role plus his clear leadership on the park.
Will be interesting to see who is his replacement [emoji848]

Aye I’d say the McGinn suspension means any slim chance we had of winning almost disappears. He’s absolutely viral for us and the way we play. The one player in the squad that we can’t replace.

13 minutes ago, Russ said:

Aye I’d say the McGinn suspension means any slim chance we had of winning almost disappears. He’s absolutely viral for us and the way we play. The one player in the squad that we can’t replace.

The rules say caution totals revert to zero after the first round.

Screenshot_20220829-122142_Acrobat for Samsung.jpg

Edited by Shodwall cat

Why the red dot? Just seems a bit unfair when new teams are coming into a competition where teams have played 4 games where they can pick up yellow cards and then suspensions.  Red cards yes of course as you don't want players booting folk up in the air knowing they won't have to miss a game but bookings should be cleared when new teams are coming in that don't have to play those 4 games.

6 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

Why the red dot? Just seems a bit unfair when new teams are coming into a competition where teams have played 4 games where they can pick up yellow cards and then suspensions.  Red cards yes of course as you don't want players booting folk up in the air knowing they won't have to miss a game but bookings should be cleared when new teams are coming in that don't have to play those 4 games.

Red dot because it just sounds like whining to me. A bit skewed to the later entrants, yeah, but "ludicrous", nah.

3 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Red dot because it just sounds like whining to me. A bit skewed to the later entrants, yeah, but "ludicrous", nah.

Its common sense just to clear the bookings unless it's a red card so everyone starts at the same level surely.