The Falkirk FC Thread

3 minutes ago, PedroMoutinho said:

Not for me- McKay needs to be as far away from the team as possible. If we go with just the above, McKay is only one injury away from starting games which is no good.

He’s not going to walk away from 2 more years this early into the transfer window I don’t want him anywhere near the team either, we will need another CB eventually but probably a younger loan/someone that can cover a few positions.

Do we know when Watson is out until? 9 months from his injury would be December/ January. Definitely need another centre back in, if not two. Benedictus was always pretty awful against us (did he not get sent off multiple times?) but would have been fine for cover at this level. Possibly the first indication that Dunfermline may have a slightly higher budget that us, which makes the poaching of Donaldson all the more pleasing 

Edited by NavyBlueArmy1876

4 hours ago, Springfield said:

Appalling that previous bods and commercial/marketing managers allowed this to happen. Free advertising or was there something more sinister?
Why on earth something simple like an internal audit didn’t highlight this. A club rotten to the core. 

Reminds me of the Bob Shaw incident in the 70s when he ran adverts in the team sheet free hand out without asking the companies permission.

Guest FFC1965

Some of the more recent posts have given me some reassurance that it wasn't just me who experienced a commercial shambles at the club.

At the start of the 2020/21 season I sponsored a players shirt for the first (and as it now turns out only) time. 

It wasnt cheap, but as I was WFH not commuting and spending money socialising was a no no , I decided to take the plunge to help my club out.  

Once the cash was paid I heard nothing from the club after the season end.  I know that the pandemic meant there wouldnt be the normal shindig with players & sponsors.  When I signed up I even asked the club to just post me the jersey once the season had finished, and specifically asked for them not to go to the trouble and expense of getting it framed as I just wanted a jersey to wear playing 5s. 

Emailed the club twice after the season finished - no reply.   In the end I gave up.  

What really surprised me was that they didn't even approach me to ask if I wanted to continue as a shirt sponsor for season 21/22, which Id probably have done if my arm had been twisted (and the situation with the 20/21 shirt resolved).

I wasnt expecting the red carpet treatment but the way it was handled (or not) was simply negligent. 

i do hope that the new management gets a hold of basic stuff like this.     

12 minutes ago, NavyBlueArmy1876 said:

Do we know when Watson is out until? 9 months from his injury would be December/ January. Definitely need another centre back in, if not two. Benedictus was always pretty awful against us (did he not get sent off multiple times?) but would have been fine for cover at this level. Possibly the first indication that Dunfermline may have a slightly higher budget that us, which makes the poaching of Donaldson all the more pleasing 

I don't think it necessarily means that, our budgets will most likely be on a par. There could be a multitude of different reasons he's opted to go for the scum, they may be making him captain.

Edited by FFC 1876

17 minutes ago, Senor Bairn said:

Another wee signing would be good x 

Torn between whether I want the 30 goals a season striker next or the centre midfielder who runs through brick walls on his holidays for fun.

Edited by FFC 1876

15 minutes ago, NavyBlueArmy1876 said:

Benedictus was always pretty awful against us (did he not get sent off multiple times?)

Aye he did, he loved a red card at TFS tbh as a rovers fan I’m not really bothered he’s left especially to Dunfermline League 1 is probably his level now.

he became a liability last season giving away stupid goals, lack of concentration, too high up the park, a silly red against Inverness cost us the game and I could go on…. He was a great servant to us but if he went to you or Dunfermline not really that arsed as majority of our fans probably wanted him to leave anyway 

Announced last night that season ticket prices and the deals were all being kept same as last year. The club will lose c. 450,000 it seems this year but there is cost cutting and sensible management of outgoings being put in place. Overall it was a much more optimistic showing than past efforts (let us all forget the Q&A).

The weirdest thing was David Lapsley suddenly announcing that Bairn for Life money would ONLY be spent on replacing the pitch with grass. He seemed to have not consulted with anyone in B4L but just suddenly decided it during the meeting. The Board are reviewing which option (Grass, Hybrid or astro) they will go with and it seems to be a difficult decision that isn't just financial or about the footballer's preference for a particular surface that will decide. Basically Lapsley wanted money raised by the supporters in B4L to be kept back from the club when we are struggling and need cash to sign players because he prefers watching football on grass. That is crazy and I bet B4L contributors don't want that. Not that they have been asked!

4 minutes ago, Kevin James Left Knee said:

Announced last night that season ticket prices and the deals were all being kept same as last year. The club will lose c. 450,000 it seems this year but there is cost cutting and sensible management of outgoings being put in place. Overall it was a much more optimistic showing than past efforts (let us all forget the Q&A).

The weirdest thing was David Lapsley suddenly announcing that Bairn for Life money would ONLY be spent on replacing the pitch with grass. He seemed to have not consulted with anyone in B4L but just suddenly decided it during the meeting. The Board are reviewing which option (Grass, Hybrid or astro) they will go with and it seems to be a difficult decision that isn't just financial or about the footballer's preference for a particular surface that will decide. Basically Lapsley wanted money raised by the supporters in B4L to be kept back from the club when we are struggling and need cash to sign players because he prefers watching football on grass. That is crazy and I bet B4L contributors don't want that. Not that they have been asked!

Just when we thought things were back on track…….you couldn’t make it up.

On a slightly different subject has anyone getting hassle registering for new ticket provider?

5 minutes ago, Springfield said:

On a slightly different subject has anyone getting hassle registering for new ticket provider?

I've not even had an email from the club despite being a half season ticket holder last year.

55 minutes ago, Russ said:

Something else that was commented on last night but I’ve not seen on here yet it was confirmed that we are still owed money by that Clarke ePos shite and we are taking them to court.

Heard about financial issues weeks back, you’ve just confirmed what I thought was rumour, was very much true. Another shambles after losing Central Demolition after nearly twenty years. Guessing there’s probably another horror story behind that to filter out…..

12 minutes ago, Kevin James Left Knee said:

I don't know David at all, but that outburst was absolutely wild. To then ask to go along the line of board memebers and ask for each of them to give a date as to when we would be playing on grass was even more wild.

22 minutes ago, FFC1965 said:

Some of the more recent posts have given me some reassurance that it wasn't just me who experienced a commercial shambles at the club.

At the start of the 2020/21 season I sponsored a players shirt for the first (and as it now turns out only) time. 

It wasnt cheap, but as I was WFH not commuting and spending money socialising was a no no , I decided to take the plunge to help my club out.  

Once the cash was paid I heard nothing from the club after the season end.  I know that the pandemic meant there wouldnt be the normal shindig with players & sponsors.  When I signed up I even asked the club to just post me the jersey once the season had finished, and specifically asked for them not to go to the trouble and expense of getting it framed as I just wanted a jersey to wear playing 5s. 

Emailed the club twice after the season finished - no reply.   In the end I gave up.  

What really surprised me was that they didn't even approach me to ask if I wanted to continue as a shirt sponsor for season 21/22, which Id probably have done if my arm had been twisted (and the situation with the 20/21 shirt resolved).

I wasnt expecting the red carpet treatment but the way it was handled (or not) was simply negligent. 

i do hope that the new management gets a hold of basic stuff like this.     

That is appalling.

From what I can judge, it is now a totally different set up and the new Commercial Manager along with a great bunch of volunteers is dedicated to sort things out.

Please give them another chance.

2 minutes ago, Springfield said:

Heard about financial issues weeks back, you’ve just confirmed what I thought was rumour, was very much true. Another shambles after losing Central Demolition after nearly twenty years. Guessing there’s probably another horror story behind that to filter out…..

We have lost pretty much 450,00 every year going back seasons - it has been disguised by income from player sales, add on clauses and Armstong money and Covid relief money - this is the first year we don't have any of that. We need to raise money by investment from supporters, patrons and others but try to avoid vultures from buying shares for the wrong reason. Won't be easy but at least now our situation is transparent, we started last season with 750,00 in the bank but that is pretty much gone now.

15 minutes ago, Springfield said:

Nope- seems okay and I’ve changed the password that they gave me.

Still too early to buy tickets.

Starts from next week, I believe.

1 hour ago, Russ said:

Something else that was commented on last night but I’ve not seen on here yet it was confirmed that we are still owed money by that Clarke ePos shite and we are taking them to court.

Yeah kozary in his wisdom allowed them to pay in bloody installments. They paid the first one and then that's been it. Absolute joke of a deal.

9 minutes ago, Just a bairn said:

I don't know David at all, but that outburst was absolutely wild. To then ask to go along the line of board memebers and ask for each of them to give a date as to when we would be playing on grass was even more wild.

Yes, I was at the first session but heard about this.

David, I know, has had a few personal issues recently.

Maybe that’s affected his thinking?

I understand  the club are doing a feasibility study on the various options and, until that is completed nothing can be decided.

Anyway, it’s a decision for the Board, no one else.

45 minutes ago, Kevin James Left Knee said:

From my limited knowledge of it I don’t think the club is in a position to be reverting to a grass pitch any time soon, surely with a predicted operating loss of 400k we don’t have the luxury of ditching the 4G surface and losing the additional revenue it brings added to the increased costs of maintaining a good quality grass surface? Also regarding BFL, I was under the impression it had a merged with the FSS and all the money now went to accruing shares? Surely any change to the distribution of funds raised would need to be put to the membership and not unilaterally decided by Mr Lapsley? It’s not his money after all nor is it the gift of any other committee member to be making such bold statements. 

Edited by LatapyBairn.

Davie's always been a major grass fanatic. He brings it up at every AGM. We'd all like to get back to grass but there's a lot of things to take into contention.  Where do we train?  Loss of pitch hirings, what about the shire,more postponements, more upkeep and standard will drop in the winter unless you plough(no pun intended) a fortune into it .