The Falkirk FC Thread

1 minute ago, ebobsboy said:

Why release a statement about identifying targets with Martin and Kenny if you have no intention of keeping them beyond this season. Or is it lies? At best if there is no truth in it you should have retracted that statement. 

Rennie said at the FSS AGM that he had no idea if he'd be manager next season, but either way, the club had to plan.

But again, if that's on your mind, you've got an opportunity to come along, look people in the eye, and ask them to their face. 

2 minutes ago, StuartA said:

Rennie said at the FSS AGM that he had no idea if he'd be manager next season, but either way, the club had to plan.

But again, if that's on your mind, you've got an opportunity to come along, look people in the eye, and ask them to their face. 

That's not answering my question. I got an email like many others about Kenny and Martin identifying players for next season.  That's quite clear. What is it they do a Holt impression sign players for the next mug with a target on his head to try n get a tune out of dross.

As a member of FSS I really do believe that we are now run by people who want the best for us. We now have some democracy which is good. Problem with democracy is that not all voters opt for the victor so they complain. If you want a say and have strong views join FSS and try to get your views accepted It's that easy. For a long time we have had a demon we called chairman/woman and blamed them for all our ills. Now we don't and if we use our cash we can all have our views right or wrong in a place where change can happen. It may solve the problem of forums deciding on a scapegoat as the problem may lie with themselves

3 minutes ago, ebobsboy said:

That's not answering my question. I got an email like many others about Kenny and Martin identifying players for next season.  That's quite clear. What is it they do a Holt impression sign players for the next mug with a target on his head to try n get a tune out of dross.

It's not for me to answer your question. All we’re doing is giving you an opportunity to ask it of people who make the decisions. Your shout if you want to take it. 

Democracy is a funny thing. I and most of my friends voted for independence but I accept more voted remain. It was not a fix. In elections I regularly vote Socialist Workers party but never win. It is not a fix. The club may make decisions I don't like but at least I can now vote to elect someone who has my views. Make it happen at FFC

20 minutes ago, Bigbri Bairn said:

As a member of FSS I really do believe that we are now run by people who want the best for us. We now have some democracy which is good. Problem with democracy is that not all voters opt for the victor so they complain. If you want a say and have strong views join FSS and try to get your views accepted It's that easy. For a long time we have had a demon we called chairman/woman and blamed them for all our ills. Now we don't and if we use our cash we can all have our views right or wrong in a place where change can happen. It may solve the problem of forums deciding on a scapegoat as the problem may lie with themselves

Has there been a vote on whether the manager should he retained beyond the 6 months? And if so what was the outcome?

That's the point. In a democracy you vote for a person that most reflects your views. They then influence that type of decision. Having a referendum on things like that is great in theory but hard in practice. They do a lot of it in Switzerland and people don't vote! If people feel so strongly they should get their wee bums out the house and speak to those who make decisions. I do

7 minutes ago, champions said:

The BOD or the FSS committee can’t and shouldnt be asking the fans or the FSS membership to vote in decisions like that surely! We elect officials to run the club on our behalf those officials then stand or fall by the decisions they take, do people not know how democracy works? 

Guest Caractacus Potts
18 minutes ago, Bigbri Bairn said:

Democracy is a funny thing. I and most of my friends voted for independence but I accept more voted remain. It was not a fix. In elections I regularly vote Socialist Workers party but never win. It is not a fix. The club may make decisions I don't like but at least I can now vote to elect someone who has my views. Make it happen at FFC

The one problem I have, like I said is where is the accountability and how do you know if the people you voted in are the ones making the bad choices? 

It was said that they have collective responsibility which is all well and good but if mistakes are being made then I don’t think we can just continually replace the full board. Say we had signed Goodwillie then if there was someone in there who didn’t want them then it wouldn’t be fair for them to carry the can for it.

1 hour ago, Barga Bairn said:

I agree with a lot of what you say but I think there are some important things to consider. Here's my take on it

Hughes found himself facing a transition with the loss of Latapy and the academy being 2 years short of producing enough players. So he signed quality but experienced players to see him through. It didnae work particular well, but he didn't take us down and we should have won the cup.

Presley was also full of bluster, but he made some very good signings on a low budget.  He brought in El Alagoui, McGovern, Higginbotham, Taylor, and Marc Millar for example.

He also signed great youngsters like Murray Wallace, Will Vaulks and Luke Leahey, and played them.

He had possibly the youngest ever team in Scotland when he brought in Sibbald, Kingsley, Murdoch, Alston, Jay Fulton, Connor McGrandles.

Credit where credits due, these were all great players for us. The young team were a team worth supporting.

Holt was a disaster, both times.

Things were far from perfect, but I think Houston was unlucky, as Rangers and Hearts were dumped on us. That held back our promotion efforts.

I contend that it was from then it all went seriously, calamitously wrong. We made a bad mistake when we sacked Houston. His team looked tired and shorn of its best players after 2 decent efforts. He would possibly have turned it round and rebuilt. The guy had shown he was a decent manager in a business where few can be called that.

There were plenty of fans who wanted him out. There were also a hell of a lot of fans supporting the Hartley signings, the so called Brentford model. Plenty of idiots wanted rid of the academy. The utterly stupid board said the club couldn't support the academy financially,  sidestepping the money we had made and the obvious fact that our best players on the park for a number of years were actually academy graduates.

The unfathomable mess started with Hartley and the sub moronic board, pushed even further towards oblivion by the Deans board.

I'm shattered by the last 4 seasons. I've no idea where we go from here as even starting all over again looks impossible.

Excellent summary and exactly how I feel, and have been banging on about for years.

To go from that wonderful team of young players that made you so proud to a conveyor belt of absolute jobbers is heartbreaking, and there will be no return on any player for the foreseeable future.    

The one problem I have, like I said is where is the accountability and how do you know if the people you voted in are the ones making the bad choices? 

It was said that they have collective responsibility which is all well and good but if mistakes are being made then I don’t think we can just continually replace the full board. Say we had signed Goodwillie then if there was someone in there who didn’t want them then it wouldn’t be fair for them to carry the can for it.
That's the problem with democracy . You sometimes have to accept your view is in the minority In those situations people either accept it or if they feel that strongly vote with their feet

11 hours ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Hughes decided for some crazy reason to completely move from the policy that had worked so well of signing young players from down south to signing old farts on ridiculous wages plus Bob. We'd only missed out on top 6 by about ten mins the season before.  A tweak was all that was needed.  He's replaced by Eddie may when the club must've had its best ever options of a new manager in my lifetime. He's finally released from his agony and who do we replace him with another complete rookie who promises us that we'd stay up but in fact we go down without as much as a whimper despite Killie hardly winning a game for about two months. After pressleys miserable failure what do we do?We reward him with a new bloody contract. We then have a few years of never looking like going up as pressleys recruitment us in the main utter dross apart from the odd complete diamond.  We then get a break as someone incredibly wants to pay money to take him off our hands. That bit of luck is then thrown out the door by replacing him again with another guy with zero experience who immediately loses a 3 0 halftime lead In a cup semi final . He's given a bigger budget but chooses not to bother spending it all and a piss poor Dundee side win the league whilst we lose out to Hamilton in the playoffs. Holt runs back to Norwich and finally we appoint an experienced head in Houston fresh from winning the Scottish cup with United.  We have a disappointing first league season but we somehow manage to get to the cup final which we throw away. Next we have a fantastic season.with Houston's tactical nuance getting us second in an extremely tough league . The play off final proves a step too far though and we're muscled out of it completely. Houston says we need to sign some more physical players. Next season Houston doesn't sign any more physical players. We have a decent league campaign but have a disappointing exit to a mediocre United side in the playoffs. Poor recruitment is already beginning to tell on the ability of the squad. Next season Houston signs Alex Harris and Rory Loy who both turn out pish. He also announces he's retiring in the summer and the team down tools after a good pre season. With the club heading for relegation we sack Houston and appointment Hartley who signs some decent players in January and steers us away from the drop zone. The next season there is a great deal of optimism at the club despite the decision to suddenly dump the academy in order to sign players from clubs down south. Hartley stupidly goes along with this and takes the blame for it being a pile of shite and is sacked .  He's then replaced by McKinnon who ends up costing us a fortune despite having no real successful track record as a manager. We are again relegated without much fight.  The board couldn't make the same mistake again surely oh yes they could and he's kept on before being sacked when 3 points off the top of the league.  We then return to our old ways of giving it to people with no experience and a hairdresser and fitness fanatic takeover.  They do ok with McKinnon's players but a few poor results and more dreadful Jan recruitment mean we lose out to Raith by a point when the league is shutdown.  Next season they start off well before the board appoints Holt again this time as dof. Team loses one game and collapses. Recruitment in January is 3 kids . M and M sacked holt takes over and we get somehow even worse and end up out the playoffs completely.  A new manager is appointed.  Aberdeens kids coach takes over and we have a super new recruitment system which basically is as shit as the old one. After a decent first few games we lose one and again collapse.  Sheerin is sacked and replaced by Rennie who has absolutely no experience of the Scottish game. He signs 6 players but we are no better than we were before really. Queen's parks terrible form keeps us in sniffing distance of a spot in playoffs we all know we have zero chance of winning.  Next year who knows.

I'd say that about sums it up.

George Craig, Craig Campbell and Gary Deans - the architects of our downfall.

No one will ever convince me otherwise, we are where we are because of that unholy trinity.

6 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

The BOD or the FSS committee can’t and shouldnt be asking the fans or the FSS membership to vote in decisions like that surely! We elect officials to run the club on our behalf those officials then stand or fall by the decisions they take, do people not know how democracy works? 

How does the elected FSS Director know the views of the FSS membership unless you have a vote?  Whether a manager is given a new contract seems like quite a big deal, even if it was just to convey the views of the membership at board level. 

In reality you're only having a say in who is elected, nothing else.

Guest Caractacus Potts
2 minutes ago, Bigbri Bairn said:
13 minutes ago, Caractacus Potts said:

That's the problem with democracy . You sometimes have to accept your view is in the minority In those situations people either accept it or if they feel that strongly vote with their feet

I understand that but my point is how do you know how your representative has been voting?

Again using the Goodwilie issue as a case in point but if one of the FSS directors thought it was ok to sign him then I wouldn’t vote for them again. As it is with that and other issues we have no idea whose making decisions that you agree with or not. 

I had no problem with the appointment of Rennie at the time and also fully back the short term deal. What I don’t get at the moment is the desperation to convince people he’s doing well. He’s not.

He might in time but at the moment he’s not. If the BOD decide he has the CV/potential/experience/contacts to be successful then fair enough but don’t pretend what we’ve seen so far is a success. The next 3 or 4 fixtures will be telling. 

14 minutes ago, Caractacus Potts said:

I understand that but my point is how do you know how your representative has been voting?

Again using the Goodwilie issue as a case in point but if one of the FSS directors thought it was ok to sign him then I wouldn’t vote for them again. As it is with that and other issues we have no idea whose making decisions that you agree with or not. 

If you are an FSS member, go to one of the 3 upcoming live events, and ask the question? If there answer is yes, let them know that that decision alone shows they are not fit for purpose and you will not be voting for them again. 

I don’t think a tenner a month should get you any more say than that tbh. 

Edited by bairn88