The Falkirk FC Thread

The problem with looking long term is that chances are we'll run out of cash / go part time or certainly will need to make serious cuts I would think if we don't go up next season. Being in this league for a 5th straight season is therefore unthinkable. This season coming is therefore make or break to a certain extent.  We can't keep making mistakes on recruitment whether it's management or players. If we don't get it right next year then I fear what kind of position the club could be in. If it's Rennie then so be it but we all need to pray it's the right decision or we're goosed.

13 minutes ago, Springfield said:

Exactly this, for the sake of FFC 

I'll be amazed if Mackay isn't still here next season.  One year to go maybe but two years on a decent wage he's not going to get elsewhere the payoff he'd want would be a small fortune.

Guest FFC1965

Delighted to see Coyle going to Queens Park.  He'll be expensive and they'll be fair burning through their Hampden money.   He's also pretty clueless

As per the last few posts, we’ve somehow got the chance for the play offs. 

I’ve slated the team for weeks now, and stand by every word, however I’m big enough and ugly enough for the players to ram it back down my throat and start consistently performing, with attitude application desire ownership and look like they Fckn care!
Motivation - every time any player wears the colours they should be giving it their all, sadly I can’t think of one game (for a bloody long time) where we’ve dominated battled and gave it their all.
Down tools - maybe I’m mistaken but I’ve seen too much utter crap and it’s case of too many players appearing to down tools. Happy to be proved wrong [emoji58] 
When our longest serving outfield player is Paul Dixon it does not take long to work out why loyalty and pride in the club is not what it used to be

11 hours ago, Bigbri Bairn said:
18 hours ago, Springfield said:
As per the last few posts, we’ve somehow got the chance for the play offs. 

I’ve slated the team for weeks now, and stand by every word, however I’m big enough and ugly enough for the players to ram it back down my throat and start consistently performing, with attitude application desire ownership and look like they Fckn care!
Motivation - every time any player wears the colours they should be giving it their all, sadly I can’t think of one game (for a bloody long time) where we’ve dominated battled and gave it their all.
Down tools - maybe I’m mistaken but I’ve seen too much utter crap and it’s case of too many players appearing to down tools. Happy to be proved wrong emoji58.png 

When our longest serving outfield player is Paul Dixon it does not take long to work out why loyalty and pride in the club is not what it used to be

“Not what it used to be” 

Out for a few beers last night with friends in Glasgow (one a Jambo) he asked me a very simple question, when did the wrought set in. I thought about the clubs relegation from the SPL ? 

5 minutes ago, Springfield said:

“Not what it used to be” 

Out for a few beers last night with friends in Glasgow (one a Jambo) he asked me a very simple question, when did the wrought set in. I thought about the clubs relegation from the SPL ? 

The ROT set in either with the mobilisation of Dad's Army in 2008 or more likely the managerial  appointment of a youth coach who didn't even want the job by that utter twat GC in 2009.

We've been swimming upstream in a river of effluent ever since. (Cup run 15 and fantastic side 16 apart).

6 minutes ago, Springfield said:

“Not what it used to be” 

the pressley years after relegation were brutal, wee renaissance in the middle of the decade under Houston then the love street crash of august 17 and the now bottomless pit of depths   

53 minutes ago, Springfield said:

“Not what it used to be” 

Before that.

In the league Yogi's last season was a shambles. We went from a team playing fast, attacking football to one that inexplicably jettisoned all that for signing his old, past-it mates. We only stayed up that year thanks to Michael Higdon's backside up at Inverness on the last day of the season. The cup final (of which we had a really easy run) papered over some massive cracks.

The subsequent departure of Yogi (who knew he'd f*cked up) and appointment of Eddie May instead of advertising what at the time would have been a really attractive job cemented that. We've never recovered.

7 minutes ago, Gaz said:

Before that.

In the league Yogi's last season was a shambles. We went from a team playing fast, attacking football to one that inexplicably jettisoned all that for signing his old, past-it mates. We only stayed up that year thanks to Michael Higdon's backside up at Inverness on the last day of the season. The cup final (of which we had a really easy run) papered over some massive cracks.

The subsequent departure of Yogi (who knew he'd f*cked up) and appointment of Eddie May instead of advertising what at the time would have been a really attractive job cemented that. We've never recovered.

Too many of our fans don't seem to accept that 2 good years under Yogi seemed to mask what a mess he made in his last year.

In the space of 18 months we went from having an Austrian international striker not getting a sniff to then having 39 year old Lee Bullen getting thrown on up front at Easter Road.  The downfall was astronomical in such a short space of time.

Sad thing is we're a million miles away from that level now.

1 hour ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Hughes decided for some crazy reason to completely move from the policy that had worked so well of signing young players from down south to signing old farts on ridiculous wages plus Bob. We'd only missed out on top 6 by about ten mins the season before.  A tweak was all that was needed.  He's replaced by Eddie may when the club must've had its best ever options of a new manager in my lifetime. He's finally released from his agony and who do we replace him with another complete rookie who promises us that we'd stay up but in fact we go down without as much as a whimper despite Killie hardly winning a game for about two months. After pressleys miserable failure what do we do?We reward him with a new bloody contract. We then have a few years of never looking like going up as pressleys recruitment us in the main utter dross apart from the odd complete diamond.  We then get a break as someone incredibly wants to pay money to take him off our hands. That bit of luck is then thrown out the door by replacing him again with another guy with zero experience who immediately loses a 3 0 halftime lead In a cup semi final . He's given a bigger budget but chooses not to bother spending it all and a piss poor Dundee side win the league whilst we lose out to Hamilton in the playoffs. Holt runs back to Norwich and finally we appoint an experienced head in Houston fresh from winning the Scottish cup with United.  We have a disappointing first league season but we somehow manage to get to the cup final which we throw away. Next we have a fantastic season.with Houston's tactical nuance getting us second in an extremely tough league . The play off final proves a step too far though and we're muscled out of it completely. Houston says we need to sign some more physical players. Next season Houston doesn't sign any more physical players. We have a decent league campaign but have a disappointing exit to a mediocre United side in the playoffs. Poor recruitment is already beginning to tell on the ability of the squad. Next season Houston signs Alex Harris and Rory Loy who both turn out pish. He also announces he's retiring in the summer and the team down tools after a good pre season. With the club heading for relegation we sack Houston and appointment Hartley who signs some decent players in January and steers us away from the drop zone. The next season there is a great deal of optimism at the club despite the decision to suddenly dump the academy in order to sign players from clubs down south. Hartley stupidly goes along with this and takes the blame for it being a pile of shite and is sacked .  He's then replaced by McKinnon who ends up costing us a fortune despite having no real successful track record as a manager. We are again relegated without much fight.  The board couldn't make the same mistake again surely oh yes they could and he's kept on before being sacked when 3 points off the top of the league.  We then return to our old ways of giving it to people with no experience and a hairdresser and fitness fanatic takeover.  They do ok with McKinnon's players but a few poor results and more dreadful Jan recruitment mean we lose out to Raith by a point when the league is shutdown.  Next season they start off well before the board appoints Holt again this time as dof. Team loses one game and collapses. Recruitment in January is 3 kids . M and M sacked holt takes over and we get somehow even worse and end up out the playoffs completely.  A new manager is appointed.  Aberdeens kids coach takes over and we have a super new recruitment system which basically is as shit as the old one. After a decent first few games we lose one and again collapse.  Sheerin is sacked and replaced by Rennie who has absolutely no experience of the Scottish game. He signs 6 players but we are no better than we were before really. Queen's parks terrible form keeps us in sniffing distance of a spot in playoffs we all know we have zero chance of winning.  Next year who knows.

I'd say that about sums it up.

When the last few years are set out like that it really does emphasise what a shambles the club has become.

It is amazing really. We are still in with a shout of making the play-offs but there is just no enthusiasm around. 

We don't deserve to make them. As a team we are exactly where we deserve to be - middle of the third tier. Run a club poorly and this is what you get. @Shadwell Dog covers the reasons well. 

If we make the play-offs (which is unlikely) I doubt we would get anywhere. We are mince against any half decent team. 

1 hour ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Hughes decided for some crazy reason to completely move from the policy that had worked so well of signing young players from down south to signing old farts on ridiculous wages plus Bob. We'd only missed out on top 6 by about ten mins the season before.  A tweak was all that was needed.  He's replaced by Eddie may when the club must've had its best ever options of a new manager in my lifetime. He's finally released from his agony and who do we replace him with another complete rookie who promises us that we'd stay up but in fact we go down without as much as a whimper despite Killie hardly winning a game for about two months. After pressleys miserable failure what do we do?We reward him with a new bloody contract. We then have a few years of never looking like going up as pressleys recruitment us in the main utter dross apart from the odd complete diamond.  We then get a break as someone incredibly wants to pay money to take him off our hands. That bit of luck is then thrown out the door by replacing him again with another guy with zero experience who immediately loses a 3 0 halftime lead In a cup semi final . He's given a bigger budget but chooses not to bother spending it all and a piss poor Dundee side win the league whilst we lose out to Hamilton in the playoffs. Holt runs back to Norwich and finally we appoint an experienced head in Houston fresh from winning the Scottish cup with United.  We have a disappointing first league season but we somehow manage to get to the cup final which we throw away. Next we have a fantastic season.with Houston's tactical nuance getting us second in an extremely tough league . The play off final proves a step too far though and we're muscled out of it completely. Houston says we need to sign some more physical players. Next season Houston doesn't sign any more physical players. We have a decent league campaign but have a disappointing exit to a mediocre United side in the playoffs. Poor recruitment is already beginning to tell on the ability of the squad. Next season Houston signs Alex Harris and Rory Loy who both turn out pish. He also announces he's retiring in the summer and the team down tools after a good pre season. With the club heading for relegation we sack Houston and appointment Hartley who signs some decent players in January and steers us away from the drop zone. The next season there is a great deal of optimism at the club despite the decision to suddenly dump the academy in order to sign players from clubs down south. Hartley stupidly goes along with this and takes the blame for it being a pile of shite and is sacked .  He's then replaced by McKinnon who ends up costing us a fortune despite having no real successful track record as a manager. We are again relegated without much fight.  The board couldn't make the same mistake again surely oh yes they could and he's kept on before being sacked when 3 points off the top of the league.  We then return to our old ways of giving it to people with no experience and a hairdresser and fitness fanatic takeover.  They do ok with McKinnon's players but a few poor results and more dreadful Jan recruitment mean we lose out to Raith by a point when the league is shutdown.  Next season they start off well before the board appoints Holt again this time as dof. Team loses one game and collapses. Recruitment in January is 3 kids . M and M sacked holt takes over and we get somehow even worse and end up out the playoffs completely.  A new manager is appointed.  Aberdeens kids coach takes over and we have a super new recruitment system which basically is as shit as the old one. After a decent first few games we lose one and again collapse.  Sheerin is sacked and replaced by Rennie who has absolutely no experience of the Scottish game. He signs 6 players but we are no better than we were before really. Queen's parks terrible form keeps us in sniffing distance of a spot in playoffs we all know we have zero chance of winning.  Next year who knows.

I'd say that about sums it up.

Post of the decade 

16 hours ago, Shadwell Dog said:

The problem with looking long term is that chances are we'll run out of cash / go part time or certainly will need to make serious cuts I would think if we don't go up next season. Being in this league for a 5th straight season is therefore unthinkable. This season coming is therefore make or break to a certain extent.  We can't keep making mistakes on recruitment whether it's management or players. If we don't get it right next year then I fear what kind of position the club could be in. If it's Rennie then so be it but we all need to pray it's the right decision or we're goosed.

The problem has been we have never looked long term properly. I hope the Board get their plan in place, measure their progress, tweek if it needed tweeted but stop the knee jerk stuff of the last 12 years. 

The commercial income needs to go up, we need to manage our cost base, we will need investment, Patrons, FSS and possibly outside and we have to get the product on the pitch right as that will drive income too. 

I have said since the new board came in this is a long term recovery job. Nothing I have seen so far has changed my view. 

6 minutes ago, Back Post Misses said:

The problem has been we have never looked long term properly. I hope the Board get their plan in place, measure their progress, tweek if it needed tweeted but stop the knee jerk stuff of the last 12 years. 

The commercial income needs to go up, we need to manage our cost base, we will need investment, Patrons, FSS and possibly outside and we have to get the product on the pitch right as that will drive income too. 

I have said since the new board came in this is a long term recovery job. Nothing I have seen so far has changed my view. 

Meaning what exactly? Care to put a timescale on it?

My fear with the “long term plan” is for when it all goes tits up. 

Every manager we’ve appointed for the last 10 years has come with the promise of a long term plan. 

So, e.g, we appoint Rennie. Because I don’t think he’s any good tbh, we find ourselves 5th or 6th in October next season. Do the new board think they can handle the pressure of the fans demanding change? Not sure they realise how poisonous it could (rightly or wrongly) get. If they and Rennie plan to ride that out then good luck to them. My bet is Rennie is gone by December next season if we do appoint him.

Only thing I could see going for them, would be because of how useless we’ve been for 3 years, being 3rd/4th in the table would be just about acceptable to this fanbase. Our expectations have been lowered from binning M and M when we were top, and binning McKinnon when we were 3 points off top (M and M decision was definitely correct FWIW), to coming 3rd or 4th being just about acceptable. 

18 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

Meaning what exactly? Care to put a timescale on it?

I'd like to think that once this season is settled and we know where we stand regarding management/player contracts and FT/PT status in the summer then the board will devise objectives in short, medium and long term. As much as I hate the uncertainty at present, I appreciate that it's almost impossible to have a set in stone plan whilst there are so may variables. 

The boards main priority right now will be to get the club into as stable a position as possible to then draw up these objectives. That's the time IMO when we can start making them accountable.