The Falkirk FC Thread

Guest Caractacus Potts

One thing with Rennie is should we judge him with Griffiths? Let’s face it Griffiths was a one off opportunistic signing that could improve any team. He may not have the hunger or desire he used to have but get the ball at his feet or give him a set piece and he’ll cause danger. Whether that’s worth the money we’re paying him I’m not sure but without doubt any League One manager would take him in their team. If Griffiths proves to be the defining point between Rennie and Sheerin then should that not be a concern?

Edited by Caractacus Potts

There's far more than just a playoff spot at stake here too. It's far easier to sell season tickets, sponsorship and get people to sign up to the supporters society  etc when the fans have a bit of hope and can see the team progressing.  Just more of the same old rubbish isn't going to convince anyone swithering whether to hand over their hard earned cash once again.

8 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

There's far more than just a playoff spot at stake here too. It's far easier to sell season tickets, sponsorship and get people to sign up to the supporters society  etc when the fans have a bit of hope and can see the team progressing.  Just more of the same old rubbish isn't going to convince anyone swithering whether to hand over their hard earned cash once again.

It’s going to be a huge sell for the BOD come close season. The fans have continued to  back the club in good numbers, but suspect unless there’s an emptying of players and some decent signings, these numbers will inevitably drop.

There’s already a considerable number of continued absentees around where I sit.

It’s no coincidence that the numbers uptake for the FSS is not that great and behind expectations.

I don’t know if it’s us as a fan base or the club in its entirety, but do we have an issue of being addicted to “names” as signings.

Should we quit signing obvious players who in general, are past their “best before” dates, or players who have played “at a higher level” which tends to mean bottom half of the Championship players either surplus to requirements (not good enough for the Championship) or good enough, but injury prone?

On 20/01/2011 at 16:52, Shadwell Dog said:

I just cant believe that anyone can actually believe that Mark Millar has been a decent signing this season. He has been utterly woeful . He strolls about the pitch doing sweet FA and then when he does finally put a tackle in he usually ends up booked or sent off. Yes he scored a decent goal against Partick but thats been it since he signed. I'd punt him anywhere given the chance. As for the other signings Higginbottom is a sand dancer of the highest order and has no end product what so ever. You've got to ask why he was signed when we've already got Stewart, Flynn and compton in the side. Khalis is a young player who i feel has potential but he's not the finished article and needs time. Deuchar has to be seen as another failure . Pressley never played to his strengths and now he's away so its been basically money down the drain. Finally you had Marr who was no better really than what we already have and McManus who got injured after what three games if that. Signings can make or break a manager and I'm afraid Pressley has made a right arse of his.

Shadwell's first ever post on this thread. Some things never change eh?? :lol:

8 hours ago, Duncan Freemason said:

There is no definitive outcome from a new mid season manager. Yes, you can get rapid turnaround (Imrie) or you can have negligible turnaround (Rennie).

The thing is, Rennie’s specialist skill was that of having a track record of rapid turnaround of a club’s performance, and as things stand, that’s the albatross around his neck.

He increasingly plays around with numbers to prove this or that, but it tends to not stand up to scrutiny. By way of example, he said the EF performance was “leggy” as an outcome of having to play “three games in a week”.

That is simply not true. The addition of a midweek game means two games in a week, not three. I don’t understand why he feels the need to say stuff like that.

You listen to Imrie talk and you can just tell players would like and respect him and that he comes across well 

Still listening to Martin Rennie post match interviews and it’s a chore staying awake to listen to him haver his shitey buzzwords in that god awful dreary tone of his. Weird appointment 

50 minutes ago, ShaggerG said:

Shadwell's first ever post on this thread. Some things never change eh?? :lol:

I was spot on then too. We were nowhere near promotion, higginbottom and miller were both awful that season as was marr, deuchar was a waste of money. Was a completely ludicrous decision to give Pressley the job after his dreadful attempt at keeping us up. 

48 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

You listen to Imrie talk and you can just tell players would like and respect him and that he comes across well 

Still listening to Martin Rennie post match interviews and it’s a chore staying awake to listen to him haver his shitey buzzwords in that god awful dreary tone of his. Weird appointment 

I think interviews can be largely irrelevant to a coach/manager’s performance but in this case it’s looking increasingly likely you are correct. 

On 06/03/2022 at 09:32, HopeStreetWalker said:

Anybody know the reason for Millers sudden exit at Livingston ?

Various stories from man management, loosing the dressing room to player rebellion on demands for more professionalism. If it is Miller then this has to be brought out into the open otherwise it will always be in the background if he's made manager.

Any Livi fans got the low down ?

Aye, as said above we told him to retire and focus on managing as he was totally shite for us and it was costing us. He was trying to do too much but he refused to give up playing and then went in the papers saying he could play for another 10-15 years.

As far as I'm aware he was a bit of a dafty and his transfer strategy was signing people that his agent also represented like James Brown. 

Too many people on here saying “the BOD need to appoint a decent manager” but what “decent manager” will come to us? Nobody is the answer because they’ll have much better offers than us. The only chance we will have is if we appoint someone who shows promise and we get lucky.

We have become a club who can quickly turn on a manger when things aren’t going well due to the years of underperforming. Our turnover of managers wouldn’t fill anyone with confidence that they’ll be here long and we’ve got a dreadful squad who are mostly signed up for next season too. 

As a club we are in a dreadful position. The squad assembled in the summer was nothing short of shocking. We were paying a guy who’s main task was to sign players and he couldn’t even identify that you need a strong core to compete in this league. 

I don’t think I’ll be renewing my season ticket next season as it’ll just be more of the same and I’ve got better things to do with my time and money. The damage has been done over many years and I hope to god it can be fixed, however, I have a feeling it may just get worse in the short term. 

48 minutes ago, bairn88 said:

I think interviews can be largely irrelevant to a coach/manager’s performance but in this case it’s looking increasingly likely you are correct. 

Pre and post match FTV interviews are way too long. They are not a Rennie strong point, and speaking to someone who knows the subject matter really well, 2 minutes does the job without then going down the rabbit hole of waffle to pad out the interview.

Guest Caractacus Potts
32 minutes ago, Rocco said:

Too many people on here saying “the BOD need to appoint a decent manager” but what “decent manager” will come to us? Nobody is the answer because they’ll have much better offers than us. The only chance we will have is if we appoint someone who shows promise and we get lucky.

We have become a club who can quickly turn on a manger when things aren’t going well due to the years of underperforming. Our turnover of managers wouldn’t fill anyone with confidence that they’ll be here long and we’ve got a dreadful squad who are mostly signed up for next season too. 

As a club we are in a dreadful position. The squad assembled in the summer was nothing short of shocking. We were paying a guy who’s main task was to sign players and he couldn’t even identify that you need a strong core to compete in this league. 

I don’t think I’ll be renewing my season ticket next season as it’ll just be more of the same and I’ve got better things to do with my time and money. The damage has been done over many years and I hope to god it can be fixed, however, I have a feeling it may just get worse in the short term. 

I doubt many would have thought Leigh Griffiths would have ended up at us. I just don’t get a defeatist attitude to trying to obtain a decent manager. Nobody would have thought McInnes next job would be a league below but they sold it to him. Just need someone to do likewise with our club. Despite what people say, our fans are our biggest asset. Any manager who believes in himself won’t have any problem with any vitriol as they’ll trust themself to win the league. 

Edited by Caractacus Potts

58 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

I was spot on then too. We were nowhere near promotion, higginbottom and miller were both awful that season as was marr, deuchar was a waste of money. Was a completely ludicrous decision to give Pressley the job after his dreadful attempt at keeping us up. 

Who's been your favourite manager since Pressley then?

Guest Ecosse83

Aaaargh this thread. We haven’t appointed a good manager in a while so let’s just stick with boring and increasingly useless Rennie. 

Clubs going down the bloody tubes!

10 minutes ago, Caractacus Potts said:

I doubt many would have thought Leigh Griffiths would have ended up at us. I just don’t get a defeatist attitude to trying to obtain a decent manager. Nobody would have thought McInnes next job would be a league below but they sold it to him. Just need someone to do likewise with our club. Despite what people say our fans are our biggest asset. Any manager who believes in himself won’t have any problem with any vitriol as they’ll trust themself to win the league. 

I wish 

Whoever gets the gig next season, be it Rennie or someone else, it’s going to be a hell of a lot tougher than this season, that’s for sure.

Tbh, next season is stacking up to be the perfect storm of even stronger opposition and a ridiculously poor squad that even three or four decent additions won’t make much of an impact.

From Farid to this….that’s a hell of a drop in a short time frame.

1 minute ago, Duncan Freemason said:

Whoever gets the gig next season, be it Rennie or someone else, it’s going to be a hell of a lot tougher than this season, that’s for sure.

Tbh, next season is stacking up to be the perfect storm of even stronger opposition and a ridiculously poor squad that even three or four decent additions won’t make much of an impact.

From Farid to this….that’s a hell of a drop in a short time frame.

Let’s not fanny about, unless we get a lottery windfall or serious financial backing, serious concerns on how we move forward.