The Falkirk FC Thread

1 minute ago, Hank von Hell said:

The evil genius that he is ..........probably going to steal a few nuclear submarines and hold the world to ransom after that.  

Ransom of 1... million pounds oops, 1 billion pounds, bloody inflation 1 trillion pounds, ha ha ha (apologies to Austin Powers for the paraphrasing)

And on another note Kenna to Raith in January wouldn't be that bad if we can get a better goalscorer in for him.

6 minutes ago, knee jerk reaction said:

Ransom of 1... million pounds oops, 1 billion pounds, bloody inflation 1 trillion pounds, ha ha ha (apologies to Austin Powers for the paraphrasing)

And on another note Kenna to Raith in January wouldn't be that bad if we can get a better goalscorer in for him.

Keena to Raith would be bloody stupid, whilst he is pretty average he is the best we have and I really doubt Holt / Sheerin would bring in anyone better.

Absolutely.
Every successful team we've had has had a couple of players not afraid of getting stuck in.
What I'd give for someone like Davie Nicholls. Easily one of my favourite players 

The current crop dont need to aim as high as a prestige level baller like Davie Nic. Tommy Taiwo would put Hetherington into the car park in training never mind a real game.

Keena to Raith would be bloody stupid, whilst he is pretty average he is the best we have and I really doubt Holt / Sheerin would bring in anyone better.

Keena comes across as a washed up footballer who’s not interested.
Ruth is young and developing. Like all young footballers he will be inconsistent and have good and bad games like Dumbarton and Montrose, but will learn with game time.
Neither are that great imo, but I’d rather stick with Ruth who at least looks like he is trying…..

12 minutes ago, roman_bairn said:

Keena comes across as a washed up footballer who’s not interested.
Ruth is young and developing. Like all young footballers he will be inconsistent and have good and bad games like Dumbarton and Montrose, but will learn with game time.
Neither are that great imo, but I’d rather stick with Ruth who at least looks like he is trying…..

Not dismissing Ruth (yet) but you need more than two striking options and Wilson and Ompreon are not going to cut it.

Ruth would do better if he didn't fall over so much at the slightest contact with a defender who all the time is probably mouthing in his lug "get up ya wee fanny" I bet he doesn't even come off the park with so much as a graze. Keena just looks and plays like he can't be arsed with Sheerin anymore like the majority of us. 

Like a good few others, I have paid the one year basic to the FSS up front. Like everyone else, details on member elections are a bit sketchy, so there’s a wee leap of faith required.

In terms of who is selected to sit on the Board, the most important part for me will be to weed out the blazer chasers and those seeking to play out personal fantasies of being FFC big wheels. Our recent past has been littered with such individuals, and that era needs to be shutdown for good.

So many changes are needed in terms of culture. From complimentary ticket hand outs (for example, the Launderers were last time I checked, handing out none, whereas FFC in terms of attendance %, would historically be at the other end of the scale) through to our club’s perennial policy of transparency…..it all needs to be addressed. Can the new people on the Board effectively rebuild everything that has gone wrong in the past couple of decades culminating in the horror show of the past few years and right up to the present day? All we can hope for is that they stay the course, because it needs to happen.

Treat the support/fans/customers/clients/partners/shareholders as people every bit as capable as those on the Board, and who knows, a lot can be achieved in a short time frame. Carry on with the existing behaviours, and it will derail very quickly.

1 hour ago, knee jerk reaction said:

Fun sponge that I am, but an example of  the better goal scorer we need would probably be Keena after half a dozen games for Raith Rovers.

2 hours ago, ebobsboy said:

Ruth would do better if he didn't fall over so much at the slightest contact with a defender who all the time is probably mouthing in his lug "get up ya wee fanny" I bet he doesn't even come off the park with so much as a graze. Keena just looks and plays like he can't be arsed with Sheerin anymore like the majority of us. 

Aye, I think there could well be something in that. Keena needs to buckle down and run his arse off when he gets the chance though, rather than look like he would prefer to be somewhere else.

I do wonder sometimes though if some players are giving what they can for him. Robbie Mutch, for example, was dropped when he shouldn't have been and I wonder if there's some conflict there too? Then there was the episode when Hetherington got sent off against Airdrie and Millar refused to take the arm band and his refusal to give Krasniqi a decent chance.

Sheerin comes over as a nice, placid kind of guy but maybe that's not the case in the dressing room?

1 hour ago, Duncan Freemason said:

Like a good few others, I have paid the one year basic to the FSS up front. Like everyone else, details on member elections are a bit sketchy, so there’s a wee leap of faith required.

In terms of who is selected to sit on the Board, the most important part for me will be to weed out the blazer chasers and those seeking to play out personal fantasies of being FFC big wheels. Our recent past has been littered with such individuals, and that era needs to be shutdown for good.

So many changes are needed in terms of culture. From complimentary ticket hand outs (for example, the Launderers were last time I checked, handing out none, whereas FFC in terms of attendance %, would historically be at the other end of the scale) through to our club’s perennial policy of transparency…..it all needs to be addressed. Can the new people on the Board effectively rebuild everything that has gone wrong in the past couple of decades culminating in the horror show of the past few years and right up to the present day? All we can hope for is that they stay the course, because it needs to happen.

Treat the support/fans/customers/clients/partners/shareholders as people every bit as capable as those on the Board, and who knows, a lot can be achieved in a short time frame. Carry on with the existing behaviours, and it will derail very quickly.

Fun sponge that I am, but an example of  the better goal scorer we need would probably be Keena after half a dozen games for Raith Rovers.

That's got a very loud ring of truth to it for me!!

18 hours ago, BountyBairn said:

Just Falkirk fans being typical Falkirk fans. You had people venting their spleen when we were flying in the premier and look at us now.

we don’t need to make this shit up at all. There is a slice of support who just like to main and be negative - even without reason.

Just waiting for some conspiracy theory about the patrons being cahoots with the FSS to Rob the shares from the fans and sell it to the Rawlins to build a drive through cinema. Fucking stupid but wouldn’t surprise me if some rocket hit out with this next. 

How slowly will one have to drive through? Suppose it depends on the movie but imagine if it's The Hobbit, I think my engine would overheat.

Never mind I will ask HSW , this will be one of his theories.  

7 hours ago, Reggie Perrin said:

Agreed and he’d do well at an attacking well drilled team like Raith.

Sometimes certain players are just not suited to clubs, maybe Keena going to Raith would work for him. I know Keena wasn’t a Holt player but It’s a shame Holt seems to have the same remit with regards to signings as those who have decided them in the past 4/5 years. We are getting really good at identifying players who are not suited to Falkirk. We are becoming something of a career graveyard for a lot of our signings.

At the end of the day Ruth is simply nowhere near good enough at this point in time to be leading the line at a club looking to win the league one title.  By all means have him in the squad as an option and give him a run now and again off the bench but that should be it.  I reckon he'd be struggling to get a game for any other side in the league and yet we're playing him every week.  Sheerin should've  know he's not up to it currently too so no excuses there.

15 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

At the end of the day Ruth is simply nowhere near good enough at this point in time to be leading the line at a club looking to win the league one title.  By all means have him in the squad as an option and give him a run now and again off the bench but that should be it.  I reckon he'd be struggling to get a game for any other side in the league and yet we're playing him every week.  Sheerin should've  know he's not up to it currently too so no excuses there.

It doesn't speak much to our recruitment that Alloa and East Fife were both able to bring in better loan options in Henderson and Connell after we'd signed Ruth. Both strikers who already have experience in this league or higher and were surely within our reach.

14 minutes ago, lanky_ffc said:

It doesn't speak much to our recruitment that Alloa and East Fife were both able to bring in better loan options in Henderson and Connell after we'd signed Ruth. Both strikers who already have experience in this league or higher and were surely within our reach.

Exactly.  Henderson would have been a far better choice but then he isn't Sheerins love child unfortunately. 

11 hours ago, ShaggerG said:

Aye, I think there could well be something in that. Keena needs to buckle down and run his arse off when he gets the chance though, rather than look like he would prefer to be somewhere else.

I do wonder sometimes though if some players are giving what they can for him. Robbie Mutch, for example, was dropped when he shouldn't have been and I wonder if there's some conflict there too? Then there was the episode when Hetherington got sent off against Airdrie and Millar refused to take the arm band and his refusal to give Krasniqi a decent chance.

Sheerin comes over as a nice, placid kind of guy but maybe that's not the case in the dressing room?

I heard that there was a spat in the dressing room between Mutch and Sheerin hence him getting dropped.  The captaincy thing was a fiasco, can't blame Miller for not wanting the armband when Hetherington got sent off, after all Miller was captain before Sheerin stripped him of it. That must have been a bit of a slap in the face. I just get the feeling all is not well in the dressing room. The Alloa away performance looked like the players just weren't interested and it's not been much better since.