The Falkirk FC Thread

2 hours ago, Gaz said:

Not always.

It was obvious after about two games that May was hopelessly out of his depth.

It was obvious after three games that Houston had lost the dressing room.

It was obvious after three games that Hartley had monumentally fucked up that summer.

Sometimes leaving it too late means it is too late to change things. Two rounds of fixtures is enough to lose you a league.

This. I was actually thinking  earlier is it possible to lose a dressing room even this early in the season? The Alloa performance was very poor but also strange in the sense the whole lot looked like they couldn't give a toss. I'm just wondering if it's car crash time already. 

9 hours ago, Gaz said:

Not always.

It was obvious after three games that Hartley had monumentally fucked up that summer.

Sometimes leaving it too late means it is too late to change things. Two rounds of fixtures is enough to lose you a league.

The Montrose game (first match of the season IIRC) was all that was required. It was clear the players were not even of the standard of a mid table team from the league below us at the time.

10 hours ago, ebobsboy said:

This. I was actually thinking  earlier is it possible to lose a dressing room even this early in the season? The Alloa performance was very poor but also strange in the sense the whole lot looked like they couldn't give a toss. I'm just wondering if it's car crash time already. 

You’re not actually being serious are you? It’s extremely possible that as a collective it was a bad day at the office, which easily happens to the best teams in the world. 

Talk of Sheerin possibly losing the dressing room because of one poor performance is absolutely mental and sums up some of the clowns that we have in our support

16 minutes ago, Rocco said:

You’re not actually being serious are you? It’s extremely possible that as a collective it was a bad day at the office, which easily happens to the best teams in the world. 

Talk of Sheerin possibly losing the dressing room because of one poor performance is absolutely mental and sums up some of the clowns that we have in our support

100% this.  

Some of the comments on here post Saturday have been ridiculous.  We lost a game.  Did we think we weren't going to lose any games or play poorly at all this season?  Would expect these reactions if we're still behind after 9/18 games not 6 when we've barely been able to field a settled XI but still looked capable in all games bar one. 

Folk more or less writing off Ruth after Saturday too is equally crazy.  Give the guy a chance FFS.  

21 hours ago, Long Suffering Bairn said:

It's not the critical supporters that are the problem at Falkirk, it's the happy clappers.  I commented realistically on our performance on COYB after the Alloa game, saying the Honeymoon was over.  I was jumped on by the Kumbaya mob.  I was delusional, called all that's wrong with the supporters, laughed at, basically I was a traitor.   One hour later the Sheerin interview was put on youtube.  Practically the first words out his mouth was "well that's the Honeymoon over".  He said exactly the same comments I had made, even more critical than me.  Then come the comments on COYB saying at least he is honest and knows what went wrong.  Absolute hypocrites.    For too long a majority of our support have clapped at rubbish.  A true friend will tell you the truth, not tell you what you think you want to hear.  Their complacency played a large part of why we are in the mess we are today.

I love Falkirk just as much as anyone else does.  I still have moderate confidence Sheerin style of play will get us out of this, but as a true friend, Falkirk, yes your bum does looks big in that.

No.  The fans aren't 'the problem' and there are no such things as 'happy clappers' and 'critical supporters' just a whole load of Falkirk fans with different opinions who want the best for the club.  

The problem has been years of terrible decision making from the end of Yogis time onwards.  Some of these decisions have been reactionary off the back of fan criticism/lobbying some have tried to curry favour and others have been plain mind boggling. 

Fans get it wrong all the time.  I can't be bothered to look back but I'm certain there were plenty on here keen on Peter Grant and Stuart Taylor as our new manager.  There were definitely plenty happy with the Hartley appointment as another example.   

Discussing all things Falkirk is interesting but its extremely easy to sit back and criticise.  For me that time may well come but its far far too early under Sheerin to be there yet.  

Guest Back Post Misses
15 minutes ago, Proudtobeabairn said:

No.  The fans aren't 'the problem' and there are no such things as 'happy clappers' and 'critical supporters' just a whole load of Falkirk fans with different opinions who want the best for the club.  

The problem has been years of terrible decision making from the end of Yogis time onwards.  Some of these decisions have been reactionary off the back of fan criticism/lobbying some have tried to curry favour and others have been plain mind boggling. 

Fans get it wrong all the time.  I can't be bothered to look back but I'm certain there were plenty on here keen on Peter Grant and Stuart Taylor as our new manager.  There were definitely plenty happy with the Hartley appointment as another example.   

Discussing all things Falkirk is interesting but its extremely easy to sit back and criticise.  For me that time may well come but its far far too early under Sheerin to be there yet.  

I agree the criticism of Sheerin is far too early. He can only work with the tools he has at his disposal. The lines were meant to be clear on who signs players and who coaches them. 
That now looks blurred on the signing front as it is clear 3/4 Sheerin has input into. Let’s hope if we continue to struggle (lost 3 on the trot) that Holt keeps his nose out of team set up etc as he did last season. 

15 hours ago, Gaz said:

Not always.

I did say normally......in current situation it is for me.

The Hartley and May scenario was obvious, Houston for me was an expiry date which all managers have at each club or lack of £s to invest in the team.

Our budget went backwards after completing with Rangers and Hibs

I think it’s fair to question or pass comment on aspects of Sheerin’s coaching/man management/tactical choices and selections even this early in his tenure, but “lose the dressing room” chat is a bridge too far. We can comment on the things we see, but not the things we can’t.

For me, Miller’s refusal to take the armband after Hetherington was sent off was a visible signal of a man management decision that hadn’t been dealt with properly (if at all). Krasniqi’s performance(s) being significantly (to my mind) better than Hetherington’s were again, a visible sign of a potential flaw in the coach’s decision making.

I haven’t seen anything to even hint at him having “lost the dressing room”. Nothing at all to give that sort of impression.

I don’t think anyone expected us to go all season unbeaten, or play poorly. I think no-one expected us to play that badly though. It was a fall off the cliff performance that was way too close to last season’s omnishambles that has unsettled most supporters……hardly surprising tbh.

Guest Caractacus Potts

I’m still sitting on the fence with Sheerin but will back him and the new players as it’s still too early to make a judgement.

What I would say is that writing Sheerin off at this point is just as bad as claiming he’s some sort of messiah after a couple of games. Time will tell whether he or the players are up to the task. Fingers crossed they are. 

3 hours ago, Rocco said:

I agree it’s far to early to shout for Sheerin’s head and also to suggest he’s lost the dressing room.

Personally I’m just mortified that a Falkirk manager got tactically out thought by Wee Barry Armband and Boab Malcolm- that takes some doing.

27 minutes ago, Duncan Freemason said:

I think it’s fair to question or pass comment on aspects of Sheerin’s coaching/man management/tactical choices and selections even this early in his tenure, but “lose the dressing room” chat is a bridge too far. We can comment on the things we see, but not the things we can’t.

For me, Miller’s refusal to take the armband after Hetherington was sent off was a visible signal of a man management decision that hadn’t been dealt with properly (if at all). Krasniqi’s performance(s) being significantly (to my mind) better than Hetherington’s were again, a visible sign of a potential flaw in the coach’s decision making.

I haven’t seen anything to even hint at him having “lost the dressing room”. Nothing at all to give that sort of impression.

I don’t think anyone expected us to go all season unbeaten, or play poorly. I think no-one expected us to play that badly though. It was a fall off the cliff performance that was way too close to last season’s omnishambles that has unsettled most supporters……hardly surprising tbh.

Sheerin's interview on Saturday was honest refreshing unlike we have seen for years but was also very open for people to question for the fans too.

The Gary Miller situation is a strange one and for me Dixon would've been better choice than the new boy. if Williamson gets fit soon I can see Gary away in January if we get a replacement in

I don't think it's up for debate that Keena is our best striker to date, Sheerin subbed him as a lone striker to play Sammy and Wilson as a two v QP when clearly you should be keeping your best striker on if you have decided to play two up top. The next league game he drops Keena for Ruth a player that more than likely will be freed from his parent club and has had little goal return in first team football.

When Holt was in charge last season, I don't think he started Keena, yep I'm stirring a pot there that hopefully isn't there but it wouldn't surprise me if Holt still has influence as I honestly can't see how the above Keena scenarios seem logical.

13 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

I agree it’s far to early to shout for Sheerin’s head and also to suggest he’s lost the dressing room.

Personally I’m just mortified that a Falkirk manager got tactically out thought by Wee Barry Armband and Boab Malcolm- that takes some doing.

Our formation though is easy to stifle, work ethic, flood the midfield and take yer chances when they arise. Alloa would lose players to injury and nothing changed.

Our best football was the start of the 2nd half with nice passes in our own half which hurts no one, we go two up top and we create more chances in 15 mins than we did in 60 odd

1 minute ago, MrDust said:

Our formation though is easy to stifle, work ethic, flood the midfield and take yer chances when they arise. Alloa would lose players to injury and nothing changed.

Our best football was the start of the 2nd half with nice passes in our own half which hurts no one, we go two up top and we create more chances in 15 mins than we did in 60 odd

Aye, but it was Barry and Boab mate. They are as thick as shit in the neck of a bottle.

Guest Caractacus Potts
29 minutes ago, MrDust said:

Sheerin's interview on Saturday was honest refreshing unlike we have seen for years but was also very open for people to question for the fans too.

The Gary Miller situation is a strange one and for me Dixon would've been better choice than the new boy. if Williamson gets fit soon I can see Gary away in January if we get a replacement in

I don't think it's up for debate that Keena is our best striker to date, Sheerin subbed him as a lone striker to play Sammy and Wilson as a two v QP when clearly you should be keeping your best striker on if you have decided to play two up top. The next league game he drops Keena for Ruth a player that more than likely will be freed from his parent club and has had little goal return in first team football.

When Holt was in charge last season, I don't think he started Keena, yep I'm stirring a pot there that hopefully isn't there but it wouldn't surprise me if Holt still has influence as I honestly can't see how the above Keena scenarios seem logical.

Would that not have been part and parcel of Sheerin getting the job that he accepts Holt as a superior and a seemingly important part of the new structure?

1 minute ago, Caractacus Potts said:

Would that not have been part and parcel of Sheerin getting the job that he accepts Holt as a superior and a seemingly important part of the new structure?

Who knows ?

I have been wary of pointing fingers to our coach/manager signings because of whatever structure we have at the club. 

I'd be surprised if Sheerin would've signed Holt's laddie, that alone makes all our signings questionable who makes them added with the many we made mins after Sheerin was appointed.

20 minutes ago, Caractacus Potts said:

I’m not the only one concerned with Holt’s influence beyond the apparent remit of Sporting Director.

First Sheerin interview after appointment saw him talk of a 4-3-3 formation. 
What now transpires is the 4-2-3-1 which ended M&M’s season. Undoubtedly influenced by Holt upon 2020-21 season restart.

This can only add to Sheerin’s clear frustration about Saturday’s team performance. 
Very worrying times.