The Falkirk FC Thread

Money saved? The academy made us money it didn't cost us anything really. Christ since closure the add ons and  sales of the likes of gallacher and Kingsley brought in more cash than anything it would've cost us to run the bloody thing.

The bit about the a academy people always overlook is the cost to the club for blooding a really good 17 year old compared to a senior pro probably saves 20k/season. Think back to when Pressley had to blood them all together we have a budget which will be much lower than today’s for sure.

No one would be even mentioning the academy imo if Hartley had signed a team of higher quality players with the money saved rather than a team of jobbers.

I would have.

It was the wrong call whether you are Barcelona or Stenhousemuir

On 01/05/2021 at 20:58, Shadwell Dog said:

If you find that hilarious when they are posted on every teams page at one point or another then you really need to get out more.  I'm all for ripping the pish but it needs to be a bit more original and not just the same unimaginative shite over and over again.

Laugh Laughing GIF

Don’t get me wrong I think it was wrong to scrap the youth set up entirely but imo while languishing in the championship we couldn’t continue having a set up with multiple age groups and having to sign a certain number of players to professional contracts every year even if none were good enough.

The current approach of a part time development squad of guys who are all hungry and who can then be signed professionally only if and when good enough is much more sustainable where we are now.

If and when we’ve established ourselves as a premiership squad we should look at expanding it.

Edited by PedroMoutinho

2 minutes ago, PedroMoutinho said:

Don’t get me wrong I think it was wrong to scrap the youth set up entirely but imo while languishing in the championship we couldn’t continue having a set up with multiple age groups and having to sign a certain number of players to professional contracts every year even if none were good enough.

The current approach of a part time development squad of guys who are all hungry and who can then be signed professionally only if and when good enough is much more sustainable where we are now.

If and when we’ve established ourselves as a premiership squad we should look at expanding it.

Raith managed to be involved in an  excellent youth development academy/program  in league one which has produced fruit over the last couple of seasons even though it's in the 3rd tier of the SFA academy structure. It's all about cutting your cloth to what you can afford not binning it completely. 

36 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Money saved? The academy made us money it didn't cost us anything really. Christ since closure the add ons and  sales of the likes of gallacher and Kingsley brought in more cash than anything it would've cost us to run the bloody thing.

exactly, players made us money even after they stopped playing for us when they made their second move, just think about that, players whos wages were paid by Swansea made us money whilst we slept. it was100% the wrong call

also the high school team of 2012 who were mostly youth graduates and mostly local were largely  forgiven for performances that would have any other group of players hung because they were "our " team, the board really missed a trick with the fans on that one.

Yes we could as they were offered support to keep by external funding

Raith managed to be involved in an  excellent youth development academy/program  in league one which has produced fruit over the last couple of seasons even though it's in the 3rd tier of the SFA academy structure. It's all about cutting your cloth to what you can afford not binning it completely. 
Aye but it's not theirs alone and doesnt belong to them.

1 hour ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

Fans did demand change, especially during the Presley era,  in 2013 as well as wanting Pressley out there were a few on here and one F who wanted the academy binned and a team of journeymen signed ( no serious there were) Morton did the journeyman method in 2012/13 and narrowly missed out on promotion and if there had been playoffs in those days I would have fancied them to go up , there was a vocal minority of Falkirk fans who wanted us to scrap the academy and go down that route ourselves, they went quit after Morton got relegated the following season.

There was absolute seeth in 2014 when we didn't make enough effort to get promoted and again that we didn't really bother the year hearts hibs and rangers were in the championship with us instead they gladly took the increased gate money,

That's the problem with fans, they demand a lot but don't always make sense or agree with each other, the reason the board doesn't listen to fans is the same reason players don't listen to auld c***s screamin " get it up the park Falkirk"!  at the top of their lungs, they think we're talking shite and just ignore us

Sorry, but to say the posters on One F wanted the youth set up binned, & journeymen signed, is just utter bullshit.

They were almost unanimously against the signing of Dads Army. With multiple warnings against taking such tack; predicting a downward spiral, which would ultimately result in the current sides predicament.

25 minutes ago, Rob1885 said:
40 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Aye but it's not theirs alone and doesnt belong to them.

Neither was ours . They still have to help fund it.  And as a league one side they can't have been chucking that much at it.

47 minutes ago, kiddy said:

Sorry, but to say the posters on One F wanted the youth set up binned, & journeymen signed, is just utter bullshit.

They were almost unanimously against the signing of Dads Army. With multiple warnings against taking such tack; predicting a downward spiral, which would ultimately result in the current sides predicament.

Falkirk Support is never unanimous on anything FFS.

2 hours ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

Fans did demand change, especially during the Presley era,  in 2013 as well as wanting Pressley out there were a few on here and one F who wanted the academy binned and a team of journeymen signed 

Houston wouldn't have been able to cope with a team of journeymen.

2 hours ago, ChrispPancake said:

Yes there have been periods of relative success but by and large to not be able to compare ourselves to a StJohnstone, Kilmarnock, St Mirren or Hamilton Athletic shows that the club has been ran by buffoons for so long the fans  have forgotten they have right to expect a decent product and a team worth watching.

In fairness, not many clubs can be compared to Hamilton Athletic.

IMG_1620043712.886173.jpg

Have use lot not been through enough to avoid another car crash. As a coach fine but tactically naive, must win game 2 down puts two strikers on in the 94th minute. Has sloppy shoulders will blames the referees, players and ball boys, takes no responsibility.

Hopefully he takes his son with him.

IMG_1620043712.886173.thumb.jpg.edfb642bbf2e09a3e47e56db1e0c0813.jpg

Have use lot not been through enough to avoid another car crash. As a coach fine but tactically naive, must win game 2 down puts two strikers on in the 94th minute. Has sloppy shoulders will blames the referees, players and ball boys, takes no responsibility.

Hopefully he takes his son with him.

His son was a stand out in this league last year. There’s not a chance we are going up so would be a major upgrade on anything we’ve got at the moment.

1 hour ago, Bula Bairn said:

In the last 4 years, we've had 4 different chairmen, 4 different managers, a new board, new investment, fans share issue, MSG cut from 69% to 37% and signed about 100 players.

We need change! 

/s

And we have had Sandy Alexander and Martin Ritchie sitting back pulling the strings throughout.

See the problem yet? 

Taking a manager who is leaving Alloa after being pumped out the second tier would just about sum up how far this club has fallen. How thoroughly underwhelming. 

Edit to add: It would also be a striking repeat of the 'full and rigorous process' we were all promised after McKinnon left, before we seemingly sacked that off 48 hours later to give Dumb and Dumber the reins. 

Edited by 18BAIRN76

12 minutes ago, 18BAIRN76 said:

Taking a manager who is leaving Alloa after being pumped out the second tier would just about sum up how far this club has fallen. How thoroughly underwhelming. 

Edit to add: It would also be a striking repeat of the 'full and rigorous process' we were all promised after McKinnon left, before we seemingly sacked that off 48 hours later to give Dumb and Dumber the reins. 

Ask any neutral and he had Alloa playing good football, just didn’t have the players to do it. His contacts must be far and wide so I wouldn’t have a problem with him at all.