The Falkirk FC Thread

God help the NHS then as that's what is being used with a PCR if a positive is registered

The Lateral Flow test has a very low rate of accuracy, but is cheap - you get what you pay for in other words.
For football , especially considering recent issues, it will always have to be the PCR test which is at the price level you have stated.   

1 hour ago, Shadwell Dog said:

I can easily just see then putting through every championship and premiership team and playing it from there.  This week has just emphasised the contempt they treat leagues one and two with so would that really shock anyone?

How come most of the lower leagues in England are still playing?

All well and good but the devil's in the detail - the reason why the 14 suggestion was dismissed in the summer is because it was shit. And if you start going to 16 or 18 then you are reducing the number of home games and teams are not going to vote for that. Plus an 18 team league has other downfalls like a large midtable doldrum zone, and if you get relegated from that then you are going into a part time totty teams wasteland.
Yeah I agree with this, i actually quite like our league setup and i think the split in particular in the top tier is brilliant.

For me, the more meaningful games for teams the better but I do agree we play each team too often.

Club Update

Dear Supporter

Some of you will recall that on Boxing Day I recorded an interview with Falkirk TV expressing concern at the allocation of Scottish Government funding designed to support all of Scotland’s senior clubs address the financial impact of the pandemic.  Now, barely a fortnight later, I feel it right to communicate with you to express my disappointment yet again with the decisions made by our sport’s governing bodies to suspend Scotland’s League One and League Two.  We’ve held off making our thoughts public for a few days awaiting further clarifications from the SPFL at a meeting scheduled for today (Wednesday).  Unfortunately that meeting did not provide any clearer understanding of the justification for the decision.

By way of background, on Monday morning we received a communication from the SFA and SPFL notifying us of their decision to suspend all Scottish football below Championship level.  This decision came with no prior consultation with our Club and we have been forced to rapidly assess the impact that the suspension of fixtures and training will have on all our staff here at Falkirk.  We continue to work through the implications of this decision and will take the action that we believe is in the best interests of our people, supporters, and club.  We will have more to say on this at the Club’s General Meeting of shareholders which is due to take place on Thursday evening.

Our staff have worked incredibly hard to ensure we comply with the varied and numerous pandemic directives and protocols from Scottish Government, the SFA and the SPFL.  Quite frankly, our staff and supporters deserve greater respect from Scottish football’s decision makers who threaten their livelihoods and our club with decisions which we believe are ill-thought through and poorly communicated.

We all recognise the wide-ranging and serious impact that the pandemic has had on every aspect of society and of course we commend and support the efforts of the Scottish Government to safeguard life and to protect the NHS.  Football has been granted unique concessions which reflect its importance to our national consciousness and we are all aware of recent failures which have brought these concessions into focus.

Unfortunately, only some clubs (namely those in League One and Two and those outside the SPFL) have been made to carry the can for those failings, whilst those in the upper reaches of the league pyramid have been allowed to continue on top of having been rewarded disproportionately with Scottish Government funding.

The health crisis results in everyone – us included – having to make difficult decisions and that includes those in charge of our game, but some decisions, such as those to stop us playing and training while allowing other part-time clubs to continue are baffling.  We will be accused of looking at this with the benefit of hindsight, but there were many medical and scientific professionals predicting a second wave of the virus last summer, and yet again Scottish football has proven itself unable to deal with undoubtedly difficult circumstances.

The unfairness, inconsistency, and double standards on display is there for everyone to see. It is heartening to see other clubs express similar disappointment, but I know such expressions will ultimately fail to sway the decisions that are imposed on us and others.  To not even be consulted is entirely unacceptable.

Many of you will feel you have heard this record before, but the continued inability of our sport’s most senior decision makers to take decisions that seek to safeguard the future of all of Scotland’s clubs continues to baffle but not surprise.  We have called for change and we are ready to play a leading role in the much-needed reform that our national game requires.  Change is required and urgently.

Gary Deans 

Edited by superandy_07

1 minute ago, superandy_07 said:

Dear Supporter

Some of you will recall that on Boxing Day I recorded an interview with Falkirk TV expressing concern at the allocation of Scottish Government funding designed to support all of Scotland’s senior clubs address the financial impact of the pandemic.  Now, barely a fortnight later, I feel it right to communicate with you to express my disappointment yet again with the decisions made by our sport’s governing bodies to suspend Scotland’s League One and League Two.  We’ve held off making our thoughts public for a few days awaiting further clarifications from the SPFL at a meeting scheduled for today (Wednesday).  Unfortunately that meeting did not provide any clearer understanding of the justification for the decision.

By way of background, on Monday morning we received a communication from the SFA and SPFL notifying us of their decision to suspend all Scottish football below Championship level.  This decision came with no prior consultation with our Club and we have been forced to rapidly assess the impact that the suspension of fixtures and training will have on all our staff here at Falkirk.  We continue to work through the implications of this decision and will take the action that we believe is in the best interests of our people, supporters, and club.  We will have more to say on this at the Club’s General Meeting of shareholders which is due to take place on Thursday evening.

Our staff have worked incredibly hard to ensure we comply with the varied and numerous pandemic directives and protocols from Scottish Government, the SFA and the SPFL.  Quite frankly, our staff and supporters deserve greater respect from Scottish football’s decision makers who threaten their livelihoods and our club with decisions which we believe are ill-thought through and poorly communicated.

We all recognise the wide-ranging and serious impact that the pandemic has had on every aspect of society and of course we commend and support the efforts of the Scottish Government to safeguard life and to protect the NHS.  Football has been granted unique concessions which reflect its importance to our national consciousness and we are all aware of recent failures which have brought these concessions into focus.

Unfortunately, only some clubs (namely those in League One and Two and those outside the SPFL) have been made to carry the can for those failings, whilst those in the upper reaches of the league pyramid have been allowed to continue on top of having been rewarded disproportionately with Scottish Government funding.

The health crisis results in everyone – us included – having to make difficult decisions and that includes those in charge of our game, but some decisions, such as those to stop us playing and training while allowing other part-time clubs to continue are baffling.  We will be accused of looking at this with the benefit of hindsight, but there were many medical and scientific professionals predicting a second wave of the virus last summer, and yet again Scottish football has proven itself unable to deal with undoubtedly difficult circumstances.

The unfairness, inconsistency, and double standards on display is there for everyone to see. It is heartening to see other clubs express similar disappointment, but I know such expressions will ultimately fail to sway the decisions that are imposed on us and others.  To not even be consulted is entirely unacceptable.

Many of you will feel you have heard this record before, but the continued inability of our sport’s most senior decision makers to take decisions that seek to safeguard the future of all of Scotland’s clubs continues to baffle but not surprise.  We have called for change and we are ready to play a leading role in the much-needed reform that our national game requires.  Change is required and urgently.

Gary Deans 

Cheers Gary

Really enjoyed the dig at Celtics antics and laying the blame there in significant part.
Also like the fact that the club waited before rushing something out and wanted to find out more from the governing bodies. I guess we could have predicted though that it would be a waste of time..

As predicted the lad Ben Williamson signed on loan for someone - Arbroath. Another promising local lad, Dylan Patterson off to Alloa on trial after we were offered him and didn’t even get him in on trial

1 hour ago, Back Post Misses said:

As predicted the lad Ben Williamson signed on loan for someone - Arbroath. Another promising local lad, Dylan Patterson off to Alloa on trial after we were offered him and didn’t even get him in on trial

I can't see any Premier League teams being keen on loaning a player to a League 1/2 side after the leagues have been shutdown. Sending him to Arbroath makes perfect sense.

Edited by wee_bairn

3 minutes ago, Back Post Misses said:

Rangers were hardly going to loan a player to us over Arbroath given we have no games scheduled as it stands.

We won't be getting anyone coming on loan if we ain't playing any games. Just as well we didn't jump in and sign players straight away like last season . Was bad enough signing da vita to do feck all last season. As to the local boy. Who knows. I remember people going mad when Kieran Anderson went to Hamilton on trial and going on about how great it was when sneddon signed. Both have so far done absolutely nothing.

3 hours ago, FFC 1876 said:

At least it gives us time to get Keena back fit, that being said I highly doubt the league will start back up again. 3 weeks break to then go back to no testing again? Another year in league 1 it is.

The chance was there to reconstruct the leagues in the summer for the good of scottish football but yet again self preservation and greed prevailed. 

Reconstruction wouldn't have changed anything about the current scenario, although I thought at the time it was the best way forward, it's beginning to look like this reduced season maybe effected too

We can't reconstruct year in year out

49 minutes ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

How come most of the lower leagues in England are still playing?

They have players in their top leagues taking the pish but not going to Spain and playing days later and none of the teams were away for a jolly abroad.

5 minutes ago, MrDust said:

Reconstruction wouldn't have changed anything about the current scenario, although I thought at the time it was the best way forward, it's beginning to look like this reduced season maybe effected too

We can't reconstruct year in year out

They have players in their top leagues taking the pish but not going to Spain and playing days later and none of the teams were away for a jolly abroad.

Surely it would have as us and Partick would've been in the championship and able to continue trading so you are reducing the number of full time sides having to stop for no reason.

There's no part time sides in the English pro leagues either I think although could be wrong.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

I think on the whole that's a pretty reasonable statement from Deans, particularly the bit about how we've been warned of a second wave since last summer and still had no plan for this scenario. Would be interested to see what he means by change and reform though - very emotive words but they need substance. 

Thing is this time it needs an effort by all the lower league teams  for change not a vote against cause Brechin don’t want to drop out the pyramid or vote this way and we will release the prize money.

52 minutes ago, Back Post Misses said:

I’m all for your cynicism on this topic but come on to f**k. We have no league for these guys to play in 🤷🏼‍♂️