The Falkirk FC Thread

1 hour ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Last time I can remember a Falkirk Keeper getting sent off for banjoing somebody was Geordie Watson at the Car Park end of Brockville in late 70's

Tim Krul v killie ?

Edited by monthebairns
Sorry he never banjoed someone

38 minutes ago, Bantabairn said:

First time I’ve head Cracks pissed of & angry. Just maybe it’s sunk in that we won’t accept this absolute shite..... and massive changes needed 

Well it better have sunk in, because him and Miller will be out the door soon if it hasn’t 

6 hours ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

I had to come off it of my own volition as it was inducing severe rage.

Me too , it's a Happy Clapping Zone only.

I left it last year after being continually shouted down for daring to suggest Mark Campbell was a fraud & a conman. 

1 hour ago, Bantabairn said:

First time I’ve head Cracks pissed of & angry. Just maybe it’s sunk in that we won’t accept this absolute shite..... and massive changes needed 

There's no scope to make any massive changes at this stage. They've had a free hand over an extended close season to make decisions in terms of signings, re-signings and exits. It's their squad, they've had plenty of time to work with them and need to be getting a hell of a lot more out of them than has been in evidence for the majority of the first two league matches. Keena and Connelly are big misses, Todd is just a complete sick note, and I've got a nagging doubt that Alston's lack of a preseason and consequently match fitness is going to be a hindrance for some time to come, not helped by him being wasted out wide.  As it stands, perhaps Morrison apart, the same old slug-like, creativity-free midfield is as screamingly obvious as always. It never ends. We were paper thin today, there was nothing at all on that bench that you'd have confidence in coming on and effecting things in a positive manner. I'd have taken a 37-year old Lee Miller before any of the rest. The likes of Sammon, Telfer, Leitch just continue to pick up a wage ad infinitum for absolutely nada in return.  A colossal waste of cash.

One thing I think they have been really poor in since their appointment is their use of the loan market. A washed up old diddy in De Vita, a revolving cast of substitute goalkeepers and some 17-year old left-back from Killie. In contrast, Partick made a cracking signing in Declan Glass from DU, he picks up a season ending injury so it's straight to Ross County for Spittal who by all accounts has scored a worldy to get them the win today and will be a big player for them if he stays fit.

The next three games are against the kind of opposition we failed miserably and repeatedly against last season. They'll tell us a lot about where we are. I don't see much at all that is convincing about either the playing squad or management team at this moment in time. Massive and immediate improvement required.

9 hours ago, JulioBairn said:

Right, I get all this “it’s a good to win when not playing well” etc etc but surely you are more likely to win if you play well. My question is when did we last actually play well? How many times in the last 3 seasons have we been good to watch?

Theres only so many times you can win playing shite. We’ve been shite for 3 years and look where we are.

After all the positivity during the week a sense or reality has set in...we need to improve. 

Funny I was just thinking the same thing , when did Falkirk actually last play well. 

Remember the times we used to play swashbuckling attacking football blowing teams away - we had players like Stainrod, Crunchie, Latapy , McWilliams, Cadette ,Stokes, Gow, Farid, Taylor, Riera,.

Look at us know, it's tragic.  

2 hours ago, Hank von Hell said:

Funny I was just thinking the same thing , when did Falkirk actually last play well. 

Remember the times we used to play swashbuckling attacking football blowing teams away - we had players like Stainrod, Crunchie, Latapy , McWilliams, Cadette ,Stokes, Gow, Farid, Taylor, Riera,.

Look at us know, it's tragic.  

No way Gow belongs in that list for me. 

7 hours ago, AGPar said:

There's no scope to make any massive changes at this stage. They've had a free hand over an extended close season to make decisions in terms of signings, re-signings and exits. It's their squad, they've had plenty of time to work with them and need to be getting a hell of a lot more out of them than has been in evidence for the majority of the first two league matches. Keena and Connelly are big misses, Todd is just a complete sick note, and I've got a nagging doubt that Alston's lack of a preseason and consequently match fitness is going to be a hindrance for some time to come, not helped by him being wasted out wide.  As it stands, perhaps Morrison apart, the same old slug-like, creativity-free midfield is as screamingly obvious as always. It never ends. We were paper thin today, there was nothing at all on that bench that you'd have confidence in coming on and effecting things in a positive manner. I'd have taken a 37-year old Lee Miller before any of the rest. The likes of Sammon, Telfer, Leitch just continue to pick up a wage ad infinitum for absolutely nada in return.  A colossal waste of cash.

One thing I think they have been really poor in since their appointment is their use of the loan market. A washed up old diddy in De Vita, a revolving cast of substitute goalkeepers and some 17-year old left-back from Killie. In contrast, Partick made a cracking signing in Declan Glass from DU, he picks up a season ending injury so it's straight to Ross County for Spittal who by all accounts has scored a worldy to get them the win today and will be a big player for them if he stays fit.

The next three games are against the kind of opposition we failed miserably and repeatedly against last season. They'll tell us a lot about where we are. I don't see much at all that is convincing about either the playing squad or management team at this moment in time. Massive and immediate improvement required.

We have to remember the BOD made a decision to appoint two rookie managers , which I did not agree with at the time  - too big a risk at a crucial time in our history.

However the decision was made & to be fair to the club they have backed the managers with cash, and in my opinion M&M have in turn made some good signings.

The challenge now is to mould those players into a team and get the best out of them  -  M&M are learning on the job and are going to make mistakes. All we can do is give them time and hope it all clicks before too long.

The football is turgid but at the very least you'd expect us to be a fit team (especially considering Cracks' background)  , much fitter than the PT clubs - but it doesn't look like it.  

1 hour ago, Hank von Hell said:

We have to remember the BOD made a decision to appoint two rookie managers , which I did not agree with at the time  - too big a risk at a crucial time in our history.

However the decision was made & to be fair to the club they have backed the managers with cash, and in my opinion M&M have in turn made some good signings.

The challenge now is to mould those players into a team and get the best out of them  -  M&M are learning on the job and are going to make mistakes. All we can do is give them time and hope it all clicks before too long.

The football is turgid but at the very least you'd expect us to be a fit team (especially considering Cracks' background)  , much fitter than the PT clubs - but it doesn't look like it.  

They've had long enough now to get up to speed considering the division we are in and the budget we have compared to 8 out of the other 9 sides. Learning on the job is one thing when you actually do learn from your mistakes but this pair continue to make the same ones I'm afraid.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

I’m worried about the season after the first 2 league games.

The managers haven’t sorted out the defence at all and it still looks like conceding every game - if they think the teenage left back is the answer f**k knows what they’ve been looking at in games.

Our main tactic is to get the ball to Morrison - we have no variety in our play.

I hate to agree with what some of the other posters have said but we are really awful to watch.

You can see from the highlights just what happened to make Mutch so angry. The Forfar boy actually sticks his boot towards Mutch when he’s lying on the ground. Watching it back, I didn’t think Mutch done too much, pushed the back of his neck and I know he shouldn’t raise his hands but it’s not as bad as was being made out by the commentators. 

Edited by CC52 FFC

4 minutes ago, CC52 FFC said:

You can see from the highlights just what happened to make Mutch so angry. The Forfar boy actually sticks his boot towards Mutch when he’s lying on the ground. Watching it back, I didn’t think Mutch done too much, pushed the back of his neck and I know he shouldn’t raise his hands but it’s not as bad as was being made out by the commentators. 

Agree with this.

It looked more of a warning slap than anything malicious but I suppose ‘rules are rules’.

However, he was having a very poor game and was continually failing to collect the ball cleanly.

Not like him at all.

23 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

I’m worried about the season after the first 2 league games.

The managers haven’t sorted out the defence at all and it still looks like conceding every game - if they think the teenage left back is the answer f**k knows what they’ve been looking at in games.

Our main tactic is to get the ball to Morrison - we have no variety in our play.

I hate to agree with what some of the other posters have said but we are really awful to watch.

Totally agree. We never dictate play or seem to have any sort of game plan with an approach to attack sides. We knew last year that Miller and Gomis don’t work together but here we are still trying the same failed tactics and formations again. We’ve re-signed far too many jobbers like Telfer, Leitch and the two centre back diddies. 
This season especially there was a wide selection players available and we’ve made a bit of a arse of it. 
No disrespect to Forfar but we should be blowing away teams of that standard at home. Even before the sending off our play was disjointed resorting to long balls that never looked to be troubling Forfar.
I really want M&M to be a success because of who they are but I’m seriously doubting their ability to carry out the job now. 

Edited by wee_bairn

Cracks interview after the game he said he hadn’t seen the Mutch incident yet, we’ll go and watch it, then get your interview. Biggest talking point of the game (apart from us being total pish) and he can’t comment on it. I’m still Fcukin raging at the 90 minutes I watched yesterday.