The Falkirk FC Thread

On the basis that this virus is not going away anytime soon, it appears that civil servants in Whitehall are drawing up plans to target the vulnerable for protection rather than stopping mainstream life going on.
It would mean that the elderly, the obese and those with health issues would be told/advised to isolate in order to allow schools, business, hospitality to get back to normal.
Apparently, they now have sufficient data to do this with the plan being described as a ‘stiletto rather than a sledgehammer’.
With the NHS more than able to cope ,people in the ‘at risk’ categories would make their own decisions as to whether the risk was worth it or otherwise.
A new approach but there is a lot of sense in it to stop the increasing meltdown in jobs and increasing poverty.

Sounds a bit like Hitler’s 1930’s Germany than a plan you would categories as being sensible.

Just listened to Jonny Hayes apology on the radio talk about half arsed apparently the players werent aware of the rules we've been in lockdown since feb/march time and he didnt know what the rules were aye right

Arrogance, selfish or thick. Probably a bit of all three

31 minutes ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

I think you would find that if the new targeted approach was adopted then there would be new benefits introduced to incentivise those affected.

After all, most of the vulnerable will already be either retired or off sick with their disability.

The  working fit are not really affected apart from a relatively small number with diabetes, obesity and respiratory problems and, yes, they should be properly compensated for shielding.

Its certainly a new approach which NEEDS to be considered.

You can live a pretty well normal life now if you use some common sense, that includes the 180,000 on the most extreme shielding list for whom the government considers it safe to come out of doors again. I don't think sweaty crammed Saturday night boozers are worth the price of locking them all up again, along with the millions of over 50's. f**k knows why this is on the Falkirk Football Club thread anyway, when there's a dedicated Coronavirus thread with loads of fruitloops to share with. 

Edited by welshbairn

30 minutes ago, Back Post Misses said:

Sounds a bit like Hitler’s 1930’s Germany than a plan you would categories as being sensible.

I’m not saying it’s a goer but, as someone who’s had  this disease and of a business orientation, I’d have thought you’d at least be interested in ideas to get us back to something approaching normality.

All I ever get on here is negativity.

Time for some ‘blue sky ‘thinking.

Guest Ecosse83
3 minutes ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

I’m not saying it’s a goer but, as someone who’s had  this disease and of a business orientation, I’d have thought you’d at least be interested in ideas to get us back to something approaching normality.

All I ever get on here is negativity.

Time for some ‘blue sky ‘thinking.

I hope they do something, I'm sick of all the idiots in pubs socialising and I'm not even allowed to get back to work yet. 

1 hour ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

I think you would find that if the new targeted approach was adopted then there would be new benefits introduced to incentivise those affected.

After all, most of the vulnerable will already be either retired or off sick with their disability.

The  working fit are not really affected apart from a relatively small number with diabetes, obesity and respiratory problems and, yes, they should be properly compensated for shielding.

Its certainly a new approach which NEEDS to be considered.

I am classed as working fit despite suffering 2 strokes and 3 mini strokes this year Due back at work in 6 days I also suffer from mild asthma trust me when i say it just wont happen I would have to shield and my employer would either have carry the burden or make me redundant 

51 minutes ago, Gus2 said:

I am classed as working fit despite suffering 2 strokes and 3 mini strokes this year Due back at work in 6 days I also suffer from mild asthma trust me when i say it just wont happen I would have to shield and my employer would either have carry the burden or make me redundant 

Thanks for sharing your story on here.

All I can say is to wish you all the best and I just hope you are getting all the medical help and financial assistance you are due.

I have friends who should be getting cancer check ups but it’s just not happening due to the NHS being so focussed on COVID to the detriment on all else.

Difficult times!!

12 hours ago, Reggie Perrin said:

May I suggest perma crooks Livingston?

Or Motherwell, always them, for ditching debt & voting to exclude FFC to their own benefit (Along with Nick Cusack's elbows & Colin O'Neil).....& Dundee, what about (2 Admin's) Dundee? We even GAVE them cash! Not forgetting Zero P FC, over in Fife.

*Before anybody cuts in, yes, it is a post dripping in perma-rage, seethe & salty tears. #Delicious.

M9W_LB.gif

Edited by kiddy

1 hour ago, Gus2 said:

I am being made redundant due to Covid's impact on my employers.  I'm in my late 50's.  I've had a heart attack and I have heart failure now and I am regularly out of breath doing normal things.  Even though I am classed as working fit too.  I am thinking about becoming my partner's carer as they are housebound with multiple health issues.  This might be the end of my working life.  I don't live in Falkirk so getting to games will probably be down to a very few a season now.  After all the bad things going on, following the Bairns for 50 years has well prepared me for hardships, pain and disappointment so I will be ok :)   Thank goodness for Falkirk TV. 

Edited by Long Suffering Bairn
mistake

4 hours ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

It's engrained in their mindset and these practices were in place for years, Eddie Turnbull's reign being a good example nasty negative team.  The Fergie era just got more cynical about it.

True they are nothing as bad as they were now, but a vow is a vow.

Were you at the 1986 game ?

Yes I was at that match and yes I was incensed .......Aberdeen were a disgrace to football that night and I argued with Stuart Kennedy in the Woodside about it as he stuck up for his old buddies.

He also admitted it was a Fergie directive to "influence" the ref , feign injury, and intimidate the opposition off the ball so the players were only following orders.  

But that was then and this is now.

4 hours ago, AL-FFC said:

Just listened to Jonny Hayes apology on the radio talk about half arsed apparently the players werent aware of the rules we've been in lockdown since feb/march time and he didnt know what the rules were aye right

My own confusion is that Derek McInnes said they broke the rules because they involved more than 4 households, so he is saying if there were only 4 of them it was ok.

I genuinely thought all these professional footballers were in a bio bubble like in the 2 leagues across the border in England and every other league including the A -League here.

I am completely flabbergasted they are allowed to mingle in the general public between games. Who is in charge of all this? 

16 minutes ago, Hank von Hell said:

My own confusion is that Derek McInnes said they broke the rules because they involved more than 4 households, so he is saying if there were only 4 of them it was ok.

I genuinely thought all these professional footballers were in a bio bubble like in the 2 leagues across the border in England and every other league including the A -League here.

I am completely flabbergasted they are allowed to mingle in the general public between games. Who is in charge of all this? 

You would think after an agreement between the SPFL/SFA and Scottish Govt to allow football to start up again (preserving their precious Sky deal) the rules around the start up would be disseminated amongst the clubs to filter down to their players giving them the conditions for football to be played.

Might just be me but that seems the common sense approach of how it should have been done other than the lets agree a deal with the Scottish govt so we can preserve our Sky deal and not tell anyone the rules not to break with the "I didnt know" thats the sort of excuse you would expect from a wean.  Its only been going on 5 months.

19 minutes ago, Hank von Hell said:

I'm speculating here, but I'd have thought that all the SFA Covid rules applied only to what happens when the players are at their football club. When they're off duty they would be subject to the same government restrictions as the rest of us. 

Otherwise how can a player at say Brechin City live in a bio bubble when he has a fulltime job? 

Or are there separate protocols for fulltimers and partimers? It seems unlikely, particularly in our league where the clubs are a mix of both. 

10 minutes ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

I'm speculating here, but I'd have thought that all the SFA Covid rules applied only to what happens when the players are at their football club. When they're off duty they would be subject to the same government restrictions as the rest of us. 

Otherwise how can a player at say Brechin City live in a bio bubble when he has a fulltime job? 

Or are there separate protocols for fulltimers and partimers? It seems unlikely, particularly in our league where the clubs are a mix of both. 

Just read the checklist document on it and whilst the rules for the stadium is no shared cars, try to have an alternate pattern to minimise the contact people come into each day increased hygiene , bring your own food it also states whiles away from the club covid measures which apply to the rest of the population are to be used so  the whole "i didnt know" doesnt really wash

https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-stadium-sector-guidance-for-professional-football-and-rugby/

Its in the checklist download

25 minutes ago, Bainsfordbairn said:

There are companies who are experts in the field of Health and Safety at Work that can be called upon to get this right. 

ARCO one of our sponsors are the market leaders in that field. You would like to think the club would have called on their expertise in setting out the procedures, risk assessment etc for the Stadium and the individuals employed by the club. Since they are based in Middlefield they should be on the premises on a regular basis helping the club to keep the employees on message.

5 hours ago, Dawson Park Boy said:

On the basis that this virus is not going away anytime soon, it appears that civil servants in Whitehall are drawing up plans to target the vulnerable for protection rather than stopping mainstream life going on.

It would mean that the elderly, the obese and those with health issues would be told/advised to isolate in order to allow schools, business, hospitality to get back to normal.

Apparently, they now have sufficient data to do this with the plan being described as a ‘stiletto rather than a sledgehammer’.

With the NHS more than able to cope ,people in the ‘at risk’ categories would make their own decisions as to whether the risk was worth it or otherwise.

A new approach but there is a lot of sense in it to stop the increasing meltdown in jobs and increasing poverty.

The problem is that the transmission level is going up. I doubt, generally speaking, that is being caused by those in the at risk category. So, getting them to isolate isn't going to affect the level of transmission in itself.

This idea sounds to me like they're planning to go down the herd immunity line, hoping that the effects of the virus will be manageable on fitter people, and that the precautions (hand washing/face coverings etc) will also help reduce the impact.

2 minutes ago, gmca said:

The problem is that the transmission level is going up. I doubt, generally speaking, that is being caused by those in the at risk category. So, getting them to isolate isn't going to affect the level of transmission in itself.

This idea sounds to me like they're planning to go down the herd immunity line, hoping that the effects of the virus will be manageable on fitter people, and that the precautions (hand washing/face coverings etc) will also help reduce the impact.

Don't think there's evidence of herd immunity happening anywhere to a significant extent, even in places like Brazil, Belarus or Sweden. I don't see it as a plausible objective until we have a vaccine.

There are companies who are experts in the field of Health and Safety at Work that can be called upon to get this right. 
ARCO one of our sponsors are the market leaders in that field. You would like to think the club would have called on their expertise in setting out the procedures, risk assessment etc for the Stadium and the individuals employed by the club. Since they are based in Middlefield they should be on the premises on a regular basis helping the club to keep the employees on message.

ARCO Sales Manager found!

Reasonable point to be fair.

39 minutes ago, gmca said:

Yes - I would agree with your second paragraph.

There needs to be some pragmatism here but I’m not clear where the line lies. It’s clear as day that we can’t stay in a lockdown. There are many many knock on affects which come from that which can’t be ignored - children’s education, wellbeing of general population and other medical needs beyond Covid all need to be active beside a functioning economy for society to exist. 

There needs to be targeted and thought out measures in place that allow us to function. 

dawson park has had moments but nothing wrong with what he’s said here imo.