The Falkirk FC Thread

13 minutes ago, ebobsboy said:

Dumbarton have signed about 3, 2 if you don't count Johnstone. The rest have signed the odd one or two. 

There's been a number of re-signings, but Clyde, Cove, Dumbarton, East Fife, Montrose and Peterhead have only signed two new players between them.

42 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Honest question - outside Thistle, are any other teams in the league signing players just now ?

Don’t think we have signed as many players as people think.

One of the players who has joined us in the summer was signed in January- docherty

so it’s really only 2 we have signed in the summer- Foster and Murray

1 hour ago, Bairnardo said:

Honestly man just get some c**t signed

I can only imagine the hold up is to allow the media department time to put together an absolute porno of an announcement featuring Alston's Falkirk highlights to the sound of Supersonic.

35 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Did they not disband their reserves and move the ones they kept to the 1st team squad ??

Pretty much yeah. Five of last season’s reserve team have signed for next season, though one of them was already under contract, with the rest being released. We’ve also signed four other players and I’d imagine there will be two or three more to come. The reserve players will mainly provide depth.

4 hours ago, Hank von Hell said:

I can't answer for the Falkirk BOD , I would assume that they have budgeted with a worst case scenario in mind and the players being signed now are done so on the basis that we can ride out any prolonged period with no fans or indeed no football - and with no furlough scheme as well.  

I do understand that there might still not be a League One season 2020/21 - and I'm sure the clever people at FFC understand this too. It's a tricky balancing act to build a squad in these times with all that in mind, however the alternative is to sit with half a squad until the last minute which is not great.

I agree there should be a plan in place for a stoppage or a non startage. Seems the circus that is Scottish football just stumbles on.

Like every employer issuing short term contracts there will be a get out clause for the worst case scenario. Human Resource departments will have the appropriate legal wording in place.

If FFC haven't then hell mend them for their stupidity.

6 hours ago, Shadwell Dog said:

You should be doing  a number of test runs before any important voting event especially when you are doing it in a way that you don't normally do.  Plus in this day and age is the best we can do scanning a voting slip as an email attachment? There's all sorts of software out there that you can use these days that is far more modern and reliable.  Typical of the spfl though to be years behind the times. I'm surprised they werent sending in carrier pigeons to be honest.  Its not the decision to promote ict that was thd issue its the fact they held a vote and then due to the backlash made up an excuse to hold another one.  Again instead of doing it properly  they rubbed particks noses in it back then too. Okay different name spl instead of spfl but same old incompetence that you just don't see in the epl.

As for doncaster why are we wasting a ridiculous amount of money on someone who as you have said is just a figurehead and keeps on telling us he just does what the clubs want? Its an admin post at most and should be recompensed accordingly.

There are several considerations involved in the design of any system for submitting votes. You can have any two of easy, fast and secure, so which do you want? There is an inherent temptation for hackers built into any system, and it is shown repeatedly that even cyber-security firms are breached because of human error.

In terms of security and efficiency, carrier pigeons might be a step forward. I was amazed that a simple email system was utilized for the voting process. Surely at least a secure mail program with token authentication would be the minimum level of reasonable precaution. With a secure system, there is no issue with misdirected emails, if set-up correctly...and once again, human error enters the formula. Other companies can afford to hire the best people and the superior programs, fitba is simply hobbled by a small customer base and a vaguely incestuous relationship between too many of the people and clubs that effectively run things. It isn’t a business, it’s more of a huge, needy family that is supported by a couple of workers.

9 minutes ago, JulioBairn said:

More reliable than our in the know crew by the looks of it. Another wasted day 🙄

Don’t think anyone said it was 100% today, BB said an announcement would most likely be today but did say there was delays in documentation. Have patience brer I don’t know think he’s in risk of missing any games

WTAF?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53473160

Is your team's season now finally over or yet to begin? Want a cause to throw yourself behind? With the English leagues and Scotland's lower divisions not resuming for a few weeks, now could be the time to adopt a Scottish Premiership side.

Do these idiots know anything about football fans?

Edited by NewBornBairn

Listened to that Bill fella the Raith Chairman on Sportsound podcast. “Scottish football should be sad that Raith and Hearts great relationship over the years has been tarnished” Faaaack off you roaster

4 hours ago, wee_bairn said:

I can only imagine the hold up is to allow the media department time to put together an absolute porno of an announcement featuring Alston's Falkirk highlights to the sound of Supersonic.

Acquiesce please 😍 x

6 minutes ago, Back Post Misses said:

Listened to that Bill fella the Raith Chairman on Sportsound podcast. “Scottish football should be sad that Raith and Hearts great relationship over the years has been tarnished” Faaaack off you roaster

Mr i'll back reconstruction all the way to we voted against the proposal as its not the right time for reconstruction. Complete a**e of a man.