The Falkirk FC Thread

1 hour ago, Numbers_One_To_Eleven said:

It was good to hear about what occurred that brought about the fans on the board writing to the board. This obviously hurt him and made him think twice about his future at the club.

Let's face it he was off to hibs letter or no letter. He was never going to turn that job down.

7 hours ago, Canoeist said:

That cfb guy doing the podcast is banned from linking his stuff on here. They were polluting every thread.

He's a bit too up the guests arse for me at times. All this brilliant , fantastic you dont hold back pish.

43 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Let's face it he was off to hibs letter or no letter. He was never going to turn that job down.

Probably but he’d turned them down before whilst he was with us if you remember. The letter and asking to hand his bonus money back made it a foregone conclusion. You have a downer on him but taking away the slide in fortunes in his last season (misdirection with recruitment at the time was obviously on him), he gave a lot of commitment (and I mean that, scouring down south when other managers wouldn’t) and great service to the club and that’s good enough for me.

44 minutes ago, Bantabairn said:

Jason Lee being interviewed on BBC tv this morning, talking about the abuse he got for his hair.......

Am surprised that was all he is complaining he got the abuse for and not his howlers of missing sitters at Nottingham Forest some of them were legendary.  Tp single out abuse for being called pineapple heid is tame,

11 minutes ago, Numbers_One_To_Eleven said:

Probably but he’d turned them down before whilst he was with us if you remember. The letter and asking to hand his bonus money back made it a foregone conclusion. You have a downer on him but taking away the slide in fortunes in his last season (misdirection with recruitment at the time was obviously on him), he gave a lot of commitment (and I mean that, scouring down south when other managers wouldn’t) and great service to the club and that’s good enough for me.

The fact he seemed to expect to go to hibs for hee haw surprised me to be honest. Why the hell would we do that? If hibs wanted him that badly then they would've been happy to pay compensation for him and did at the end of the day. It was get hibs to pay compo or give up your bonus money and go for nothing. Hibs quite rightly paid compo and that was it. It's an interesting listen  but some of he doesnt half blether rubbish at times and just seems to make stats up as he goes along.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

8 hours ago, Bairn in Exile said:

So, what are we?

A timid "young teenager" who gets all upset when an adult makes a ribald joke?

Or a long term supporter who thinks "walking away from Falkirk would be a very difficult thing to do"?

Make your mind up ya trolling muppet.

I believe I called you a creep because you made sexual posts towards me. I also believe I explicitly stated I wasn’t offended by them and just thought it was a strange thing to post. Backed up by plenty of other posters.

Where on earth did I claim I was a long term Falkirk supporter? Last season was my 3rd ‘full’ season following Falkirk. 

1 minute ago, Falkirk09Bairn said:

I believe I called you a creep because you made sexual posts towards me. I also believe I explicitly stated I wasn’t offended by them and just thought it was a strange thing to post. Backed up by plenty of other posters.

Where on earth did I claim I was a long term Falkirk supporter? Last season was my 3rd ‘full’ season following Falkirk. 

So how can you possibly know that it would be a difficult thing to walk away from following Falkirk?

You haven't got a clue.

31 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

The fact he seemed to expect to go to hibs for hee haw surprised me to be honest. Why the hell would we do that? If hibs wanted him that badly then they would've been happy to pay compensation for him and did at the end of the day. It was get hibs to pay compo or give up your bonus money and go for nothing. Hibs quite rightly paid compo and that was it. It's an interesting listen  but some of he doesnt half blether rubbish at times and just seems to make stats up as he goes along.

I think it’s more a hazy memory rather than “make up stats”. He was too busy engrossed in it day-to-day whereas fans will probably look at the statistics of it more as we can look at it from a more outside point of view. I’m sure he doesn’t look at exactly how many games Cregg played under him!

34 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

So how can you possibly know that it would be a difficult thing to walk away from following Falkirk?

You haven't got a clue.

When does it start to become difficult? 5? 10? 25?

I've got 40 years under my belt this summer, I think I'd probably find it difficult.

50 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

You haven't got a clue.

I love my football club. That’s how I know it would be difficult. 

Edited by Falkirk09Bairn

2 hours ago, Shadwell Dog said:

He's a bit too up the guests arse for me at times. All this brilliant , fantastic you dont hold back pish.

Totally agree his twitter's the same, everyone's the best writer, broadcaster etc.

Was cringing at the start of the podcast when Yogi was taking time to praise him for supporting his local team. Callum obviously goes for the fluffy Bambi story by telling the guest hes a teacher and a fan of his local team to entice him on.

Truth is he's a Celtic season ticket holder.

50 minutes ago, Numbers_One_To_Eleven said:

I think it’s more a hazy memory rather than “make up stats”. He was too busy engrossed in it day-to-day whereas fans will probably look at the statistics of it more as we can look at it from a more outside point of view. I’m sure he doesn’t look at exactly how many games Cregg played under him!

He makes things up. Going on about the scottish cup final and there being 5 guys from the academy playing no there wasnt and saying these young boys were on the bench, no they werent. Complete and utter tosh.There must've been two kevin McBride's at falkirk. One that hughes remembers that controlled games and never lost the ball and one that was slow as a week in the jail and an utter shitebag to boot.   He also goes on about Arnaud Riera and yet didnt play him nearly enough. Was waiting for the interviewer boy to say what the feck were you doing paying 50k for john stewart but hes far too nicely nice.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

3 minutes ago, Canoeist said:

Totally agree his twitter's the same, everyone's the best writer, broadcaster etc.

Was cringing at the start of the podcast when Yogi was taking time to praise him for supporting his local team. Callum obviously goes for the fluffy Bambi story by telling the guest hes a teacher and a fan of his local team to entice him on.

Truth is he's a Celtic season ticket holder.

Exactly m8 I laughed at that too . 

46 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

He makes things up. Going on about the scottish cup final and there being 5 guys from the academy playing no there wasnt and saying these young boys were on the bench, no they werent. Complete and utter tosh.There must've been two kevin McBride's at falkirk. One that hughes remembers that controlled games and never lost the ball and one that was slow as a week in the jail and an utter shitebag to boot.   He also goes on about Arnaud Riera and yet didnt play him nearly enough. Was waiting for the interviewer boy to say what the feck were you doing paying 50k for john stewart but hes far too nicely nice.

Mark Stewart was, Chris Mitchell wasn’t. So there was four - Scobbie, Arfield, Barr and Stewart in the cup final squad! So he got Mitchell wrong! He admitted not playing Riera enough. Aye, there’s McBride. Maybe a blind spot there. It seems like you are very selective in the things you point out about him - always veering towards the negative!

1 hour ago, Falkirk09Bairn said:

I love my football club. That’s how I know it would be difficult. 

The thing is, your attachment to the club that you support and love grows exponentially over the years, so somebody who has supported their club for 3 years can't possibly begin to comprehend how somebody who has supported the club for say 30 years would feel about walking away from the club. 

Edited by Bairn in Exile

1 hour ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Scottish Cup Final and academy players - what we would give for a bit of that now.

Sure Yogi had some real faults , made mistakes, fell out with players and wasted some cash - at times he totally infuriated me.

BUT he did bring in some wonderful players, some of my favourites ever,  and had us competing well in the top league.

For me only Jim Jeffries  brought better times at FFC than Yogi - for most of the time it was a great era for us . Couple that with his heroic time as a player and he should really be remembered fondly.    

41 minutes ago, Numbers_One_To_Eleven said:

Mark Stewart was, Chris Mitchell wasn’t. So there was four - Scobbie, Arfield, Barr and Stewart in the cup final squad! So he got Mitchell wrong! He admitted not playing Riera enough. Aye, there’s McBride. Maybe a blind spot there. It seems like you are very selective in the things you point out about him - always veering towards the negative!

He said there was 5 on the pitch and more on the bench which simply wasnt the case but any chance to bum himself up in that interview is taken as the guy interviewing him is clueless.  He seemed surprised he never got an interview for the hibs job and was going for the st Johnstone job. He needs to realise that it's the forfars and stirling Albion jobs he needs to be going for to get himself back in the game as he's been out the game for a while and had a disaster at raith. Mind you the way hes talking himself up I'm surprised hes not been picked up by man u by now.🤣

Edited by Shadwell Dog

11 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

The thing is, your attachment to the club that you support and love grows exponentially over the years, so somebody who has supported their club for 3 years can't possibly begin to comprehend how somebody who has supported the club for say 30 years would feel about walking away from the club. 

Sooner the schools are back the better I think safety permitting.

15 minutes ago, Hank von Hell said:

Scottish Cup Final and academy players - what we would give for a bit of that now.

Sure Yogi had some real faults , made mistakes, fell out with players and wasted some cash - at times he totally infuriated me.

BUT he did bring in some wonderful players, some of my favourites ever,  and had us competing well in the top league.

For me only Jim Jeffries  brought better times at FFC than Yogi - for most of the time it was a great era for us . Couple that with his heroic time as a player and he should really be remembered fondly.    

Willie Cunningham is the gold standard on judging a FFC manager. Measured on Style of play - Signings - Tactics - Relationship with the fans.

Jeffries was the closed that came to that impeccable standard. Followed by Hughes - Houston and Totten in spells when they had stewardship of the club. What also endeared the latter 3 to the support was that they played for the club and all of them wore their love for the club on their sleeve.