The Falkirk FC Thread

1 minute ago, Bantabairn said:

Can’t actually back this by fact, but I’ve been told nothing moves in our club without MR & SA sanction/approvals 

This, it's a dummy board with major decisions being made by the MSG, a certain fans rep who was once was on the BOD told me that whatever member of the MSG was on the BOD at the time would come in and announce how the MSG wanted decisions to go and you were expected to vote in that direction.

1 hour ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

There is the rub and the reality check on the clubs reputation and standing. There was a time not that long ago where the Falkirk job was desired position to get.

Stand by the manager and rarely sack them when there is a form issue. Giving a fair chance to sort it out. Well run club with a strategy and a reputation for giving youth a chance. Go through the managers over the last 20 years and you see that a large % moved onto bigger jobs because they were given the chance to manage to their potential.

All that is gone ! and all self inflicted.

“Self inflicted”, yes, but...

Everything you posit is correct for damn near any team, in almost ant sport, these days. The changes in sport and societal views have created a results now demand, and very little patience. In business, short-term return is hyped rather than long-term development, much as it is in sport now. Very few teams have leadership willing to stand around during a slow rebuild, but rather want results NOW. The academy costs money and doesn’t always pay off, close it...build  up a team of mercenaries, we have to win...buy a big name coach, we have to win....splash out money before the season, we have to look committed to win for the fans to pay up. That’s “businessmen” running the club, not supporters, and the infection runs across many teams and sports.

Teams with stability weather the downturns quickly and safely, those who don’t are at risk for much worse. You are right to worry, but not only about a failure to earn promotion, more right to worry about the people in charge for the future of the club beyond bobbing between League One and the Championship.

21 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Each to his own of course but I'd rather everyone got together and got us promoted out of this league and then we looked at protests etc.  Its imperative to the future of the club that happens or we could be really fecked big time.

Yes, everyone getting together has worked really well for us over the last ten years. Why wouldn't it work again?

The blame and deflection will be incredible if we dont go up, but there is only a few nakes you need to remember who are at fault if we dont go up and all the misery that will follow.

7 minutes ago, Gaz said:

I know what you're saying m8. But to me getting promoted this season is so important its vital that nothing else gets in the way at the moment. If at some point automatic promotion is out the window then by all means get stuck in until the playoffs.

1 minute ago, Shadwell Dog said:

I know what you're saying m8. But to me getting promoted this season is so important its vital that nothing else gets in the way at the moment. If at some point automatic promotion is out the window then by all means get stuck in until the playoffs.

You could have said the same the season we got relegated from the SPL. Or last season.

30 minutes ago, TxRover said:

“Self inflicted”, yes, but...

Everything you posit is correct for damn near any team, in almost ant sport, these days. The changes in sport and societal views have created a results now demand, and very little patience. In business, short-term return is hyped rather than long-term development, much as it is in sport now. Very few teams have leadership willing to stand around during a slow rebuild, but rather want results NOW. The academy costs money and doesn’t always pay off, close it...build  up a team of mercenaries, we have to win...buy a big name coach, we have to win....splash out money before the season, we have to look committed to win for the fans to pay up. That’s “businessmen” running the club, not supporters, and the infection runs across many teams and sports.

Teams with stability weather the downturns quickly and safely, those who don’t are at risk for much worse. You are right to worry, but not only about a failure to earn promotion, more right to worry about the people in charge for the future of the club beyond bobbing between League One and the Championship.

But when you do get good stewardship of a club you get the dividend. St Johnstone is a good example  2 -3 months ago there were moves by some to get rid of Wright. Correctly they had faith in him and got the backing as he sorted out the issues. That club are a good comparison and in many ways to Falkirk and an example that the club should learn from.

5 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

But when you do get good stewardship of a club you get the dividend. St Johnstone is a good example  2 -3 months ago there were moves by some to get rid of Wright. Correctly they had faith in him and got the backing as he sorted out the issues. That club are a good comparison and in many ways to Falkirk and an example that the club should learn from.

Exactly. A stable top flight club ran excellently as a business and a football team. They have had a number of managers over recent years but continually manage to make excellent appointments one after the other. Unlike our diddies who keep on employing one disaster followed by another.

Think I might knock up a wee decision tree in preparation for the inevitable crossfire when we stay down. 

The gist of it will be "ARE YOU A MEMBER OF THE MSG?"

YES: The current situation and all circumstances that led to it, aswell as both short and long term consequences are entirely, and without exception your fault. 

NO: Carry on. 

7 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Think I might knock up a wee decision tree in preparation for the inevitable crossfire when we stay down. 

The gist of it will be "ARE YOU A MEMBER OF THE MSG?"

YES: The current situation and all circumstances that led to it, aswell as both short and long term consequences are entirely, and without exception your fault. 

NO: Carry on. 

Nah, the gist of it should be -

Do you go to games?

Yes - this is all your fault

No - good guy

49 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Exactly. A stable top flight club ran excellently as a business and a football team. They have had a number of managers over recent years but continually manage to make excellent appointments one after the other. Unlike our diddies who keep on employing one disaster followed by another.

Not sure how it has progress and indeed the finer details of it ( they were discussing it on off the ball a few weeks back)but were what they have as a support not kicking up by their BoD decision to give the rest of the stadium to teams with larger supports and have the home support in main stand only (not sure if it was to include the Hibs/hearts or only the OF). I know it was down to finances and their board were saying they ahve tried various initiatives to increase the support and this was the only other means to increase the revenue of the club.

5 hours ago, Bantabairn said:

Remember a quote from our friends in Greenock that Tidsers fitness was always an issue, and that there midfield set up allowed for this, kinda makes sense now. If true about pinning RM to the wall, I’m actually surprised he wasn’t sacked for gross misconduct, therefore that story is probably shite. It’s more than likely he’s maybe toiled for fitness, hoping he’d get away with this being lower league, unfortunately even the part time teams fitness levels are decent.

Connolly is the prime example on what to do when you are not in the starting 11 which he was under M & M

work hard, increase your fitness and take your chance when you are on the pitch

26 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Can we stop all this shit please. Some people are still going to games and some people are not going to games, it’s really as simple as that. Neither is better than the other. Neither loves Falkirk less. We don’t have to keep discussing the fucking point no matter what side anyone is on. It’s boring.

Take your point ! same things being said just using different words.

Edited by HopeStreetWalker
grammer