The Falkirk FC Thread

7 hours ago, sirscottyoung said:

Look up Willie Haughey and see how they can go FT. emoji106.png

Look up Gretna too !

I'd love Gretna/Queens park to take both McShane and Tidser but one was playing top league football 18 month ago, league winner x2 and League cup winner.....the other is Tidser.

More chance of me being in goals for queen's park this season than Tidser or McShane wearing Queens park tops

Look up Gretna too !
I'd love Gretna/Queens park to take both McShane and Tidser but one was playing top league football 18 month ago, league winner x2 and League cup winner.....the other is Tidser.
More chance of me being in goals for queen's park this season than Tidser or McShane wearing Queens park tops
[emoji23][emoji23] Different spectrum. Gretna had no plan b. I guarantee Mr Haughey has a plan considering he paid half of what the sfa paid for hampden. Paid / paying to renovate lesser hampden. Get the foundations sorted and any club can go FT within means.
Just look at Hamilton. They have 650 season ticket holders. You meaning to tell me QP couldn't manage that?

1 hour ago, sirscottyoung said:

emoji23.pngemoji23.png Different spectrum. Gretna had no plan b. I guarantee Mr Haughey has a plan considering he paid half of what the sfa paid for hampden. Paid / paying to renovate lesser hampden. Get the foundations sorted and any club can go FT within means.
Just look at Hamilton. They have 650 season ticket holders. You meaning to tell me QP couldn't manage that?

Gretna had no plan A nevermind plan B.

Queens park can barely get 650 fans as it stands, it's not impossible to increase the fan base but with a recent history of years in the 4th tier and McKinnon on board suggests to me it's gonna be a struggle.

The whole history of the club in my time has been plucky amateurs and Andy Robertson played there and I can't see that changing.

2 hours ago, Stainrod said:

I wish we were backed by Willie proper fitba guy understands the game how to make money and kick ass when appropriate. He is gilt edge football club owner compared to our clowns

I would stay well clear. He was involved with all those dodgy shenanigans at Livi when they went down the tubes the first time. 

He is no fool, that’s for sure. He called out that Livvy owner back in the day, and lost the case mainly due to a lack of evidence. Keane walked away, but McGuinness lost everything, and handwriting expert was adamant that Haughey’s signature had been forged.

Given their track record prior to and since that court case, I know which of the two I would choose to believe (and it wouldn’t be Dominic Keane).

I would imagine Haughey would suss out McKinnon pretty quickly. Any manager who plays ten games against clubs he has previously managed, and fails to win a single one of them will be found out soon enough.

11 minutes ago, Duncan Freemason said:

He is no fool, that’s for sure. He called out that Livvy owner back in the day, and lost the case mainly due to a lack of evidence. Keane walked away, but McGuinness lost everything, and handwriting expert was adamant that Haughey’s signature had been forged.

Given their track record prior to and since that court case, I know which of the two I would choose to believe (and it wouldn’t be Dominic Keane).

I would imagine Haughey would suss out McKinnon pretty quickly. Any manager who plays ten games against clubs he has previously managed, and fails to win a single one of them will be found out soon enough.

I wouldnt trust anyone with links to Livi ownership.

I wish we has someone who could reach the dizzy heights of occasional mediocrity in charge rather than the gaggle of calamitous, Benny Hill of business type morons we currently have.

I wish we were backed by Willie proper fitba guy understands the game how to make money and kick ass when appropriate. He is gilt edge football club owner compared to our clowns

1 hour ago, Shadwell Dog said:

I wouldnt trust anyone with links to Livi ownership.

Ownership looks like it is settled that what we have is what we are getting for as far as anybody knows.

We may well get another carpetbagger sniffing around and that's about it.

We desperately require a Fergus McCann type figure. Lifelong fan - Proven businessman - Financial clout - The clubs best interests at heart and a business plan to achieve it.

You just have to look at St Johnstone as an example as to how it can work.

To quote Pink Floyd - Is there anybody out there ?

9 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Ownership looks like it is settled that what we have is what we are getting for as far as anybody knows.

We desperately require a Fergus McCann type figure. Lifelong fan - Proven businessman - Financial clout - The clubs best interests at heart and a business plan to achieve it.

The problem with us is decision making. You cant complain about the cash managers have had available to them over the past few seasons.  Its been more than enough to get us in the fight for promotion from the championship.  The problem has been the complete numpties in charge of spending that budget.  That and the decisions like closing the academy and the way they have treated the fans. We don't need a rich philanthropist we just need some people who can make the most out of what we actually have instead of constantly making the wrong decisions.

Thing is the MC debacle was played out to give them the "saviours of the club" from the fans in reality it should never have got that far and MC should never have been wheeled out in the first place. The consortium of local business men got pissed about as did Gowser and anyone else who showed in interest and from an outsider looking in all this to stick 2 fingers up at the fans so as there no change and we are stuck in limbo in a number of ways boycot the club and hurt the club financially effectively fucking the club over and the MSG not giving a shite.  No additional monies coming into the club from the MSG due to the fact they are bored and not happy being resent by the rest of us again hurting the club more than them.

The other parties interested were strung out and what it looks like made to jump through hoops to meet the MSG and even at the final one had the carpet pulled from underneath them.

Reality is as stated we have our lot and need to lump it but in amongst it they appointed a man with no knowledge of running a football club to basically run a football club and between the disasters he presided over i.e. the crest copyright and threatening to take fans to court over copyright when it had expired, then the closure of the academy to save money and the club and put all the money into the first team (which apparently didn't happen anyway).

Then you had the Project Hartley and handing the recruitment to a Scout/Agent to sign a full team who no one had basically seen resulting in a pay off of ANOTHER entire first team, sacking of a manager no doubt with a pay off then have to sign ANOTHER first team.

The accusations of fans subjecting a player to racial abuse which made the national press only to be found to be nothing of the sort and a comment of "f**k off back to the lower leagues where you came from" being taken as rascist (to be fair he is there now in the lower leagues of England)

Then we have McKinnongate to appoint a manager on the basis of his stats (mainly draws) and that he could walk out of his contract at GMFC without having to pay any compensation to being fined, guilty of tapping a manager (wasnae aware he had money to tap ..lol) and just for good measure and a boot in the balls pay compensation to Morton.

Then you have a director resign due to being threatened by another director.

(just reading that back and it actually highlights how much of a basket case of a club we are)

Edited by AL-FFC

2 hours ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

Er, Careful with that axe, Eugene.....

Well said, think basket case is putting it mildly. 
A clusterfuck of Fck ups, with absolute no accountability.
No ownership and not so sure the fans will back the club in anything like the numbers this season, should we fail to gain promotion.
Over to M&M, really hope they pull it off, if they do we should never underestimate the achievement it would be. Good luck lads [emoji849]

Everyone is desperate for them to pull it of and it’s probably 50/50 now. There is a marked improvement in attitude and we are keeping the ball in the deck more and trying to move it quickly. We as a club should not be in this league but unfortunately a few of our players fit in quite well Mc Shane Durnan samon leitch Doyle to name but a few.
At least our management team are giving it 100% and not referring to their stats to justify some of the pish we’ve witnessed recently.
Coming out of this window well could make our season !

2 hours ago, Shadwell Dog said:

The problem with us is decision making. You cant complain about the cash managers have had available to them over the past few seasons.  Its been more than enough to get us in the fight for promotion from the championship.  The problem has been the complete numpties in charge of spending that budget.  That and the decisions like closing the academy and the way they have treated the fans. We don't need a rich philanthropist we just need some people who can make the most out of what we actually have instead of constantly making the wrong decisions.

You are right ! it can be done with astute wheeling and dealing. How often did Jeffries and Brown go on scouting trips  ? It used to be near every week and look how it payed off. The success they had in the market place was not luck - it was hard work. The clever bit was adapting the style to get the most out them.

Happy times !

Thing is the MC debacle was played out to give them the "saviours of the club" from the fans in reality it should never have got that far and MC should never have been wheeled out in the first place. The consortium of local business men got pissed about as did Gowser and anyone else who showed in interest and from an outsider looking in all this to stick 2 fingers up at the fans so as there no change and we are stuck in limbo in a number of ways boycot the club and hurt the club financially effectively fucking the club over and the MSG not giving a shite.  No additional monies coming into the club from the MSG due to the fact they are bored and not happy being resent by the rest of us again hurting the club more than them.
The other parties interested were strung out and what it looks like made to jump through hoops to meet the MSG and even at the final one had the carpet pulled from underneath them.
Reality is as stated we have our lot and need to lump it but in amongst it they appointed a man with no knowledge of running a football club to basically run a football club and between the disasters he presided over i.e. the crest copyright and threatening to take fans to court over copyright when it had expired, then the closure of the academy to save money and the club and put all the money into the first team (which apparently didn't happen anyway).

Then you had the Project Hartley and handing the recruitment to a Scout/Agent to sign a full team who no one had basically seen resulting in a pay off of ANOTHER entire first team, sacking of a manager no doubt with a pay off then have to sign ANOTHER first team.

The accusations of fans subjecting a player to racial abuse which made the national press only to be found to be nothing of the sort and a comment of "f**k off back to the lower leagues where you came from" being taken as rascist (to be fair he is there now in the lower leagues of England)
Then we have McKinnongate to appoint a manager on the basis of his stats (mainly draws) and that he could walk out of his contract at GMFC without having to pay any compensation to being fined, guilty of tapping a manager (wasnae aware he had money to tap ..lol) and just for good measure and a boot in the balls pay compensation to Morton.
Then you have a director resign due to being threatened by another director.
(just reading that back and it actually highlights how much of a basket case of a club we are)

It won’t be the last mess IMO either

Everyone is desperate for them to pull it of and it’s probably 50/50 now. There is a marked improvement in attitude and we are keeping the ball in the deck more and trying to move it quickly. We as a club should not be in this league but unfortunately a few of our players fit in quite well Mc Shane Durnan samon leitch Doyle to name but a few.
At least our management team are giving it 100% and not referring to their stats to justify some of the pish we’ve witnessed recently.
Coming out of this window well could make our season !

I am to be convinced we will see many more coming through the doors, sadly unless people go out first.

That’s a gamble. What happens if McManus get injured? The goalkeeper? Gomis?

That’s the teams quality there.