The Falkirk FC Thread

Aye, I agree with you, given the circumstances, Jack probably isn't the best example of what I was getting at. 

One of the things I said about McKinnon is the great opportunity he has, or maybe had, to set him and his family up for life. With the huge advantage he has regarding his budget, he had a chance to impress bigger clubs than us and step up a level or two, and maybe even step up again. Landing a good job down South, with the wages on offer, could put Ray and his family on easy street. 

But, the arse he is making of the Falkirk job surely cannot be overlooked by everyone in the game. 

Hopefully Ray, through some twist of fate, will find a starting 11 that happen to click and we do win the league, but I still think he should not be given a new contract.

8 minutes ago, BairnBrainBrian said:

Aye, I agree with you, given the circumstances, Jack probably isn't the best example of what I was getting at. 

One of the things I said about McKinnon is the great opportunity he has, or maybe had, to set him and his family up for life. With the huge advantage he has regarding his budget, he had a chance to impress bigger clubs than us and step up a level or two, and maybe even step up again. Landing a good job down South, with the wages on offer, could put Ray and his family on easy street. 

But, the arse he is making of the Falkirk job surely cannot be overlooked by everyone in the game. 

Hopefully Ray, through some twist of fate, will find a starting 11 that happen to click and we do win the league, but I still think he should not be given a new contract.

I agree. Falkirk job should be a dream to any half decent manager.  Huge budget advantage over the rest so you've basically got a years grace.  All you need to do is stick a half decent side together playing some decent fitba against plumbers and decorators for most of the season. Win the league comfortably then the hard work starts. If you do a good job you never know you may get a better offer next Summer.

29 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

I think a lot of clubs will look at the Sunderland situation though and see he was up against it from day one there.  Huge club with a massive fan base but the budget available doesnt match that in terms of league one.  

You don't see any league one sides spend £4M on a striker.

His hands were tied to an extent but around 20 players came in during Jack's time at Sunderland and he did the usual thing that Scottish managers tend to do in sign players who were successful in Scotland, there is a reason why the majority head back to Scotland in both players and managers.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/47086441

9 minutes ago, MrDust said:

You don't see any league one sides spend £4M on a striker.

His hands were tied to an extent but around 20 players came in during Jack's time at Sunderland and he did the usual thing that Scottish managers tend to do in sign players who were successful in Scotland, there is a reason why the majority head back to Scotland in both players and managers.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/47086441

Was never £4m though mate. Vast majority of that was add ons and for the full 4million he had to get them qualifying for europe in the premiership.  Was around a million fee which is sizeable in Scottish terms but peanuts down south.  It wasnt as much up front as the fee they got for Josh Maja who he replaced.  He only signed 3 players from Scottish clubs.  Mclaughlin who has been excellent in the main. Ozturk who has done okay and McGeough who was a free anyway but has struggled to get a game.

10 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Was never £4m though mate. Vast majority of that was add ons and for the full 4million he had to get them qualifying for europe in the premiership.  Was around a million fee which is sizeable in Scottish terms but peanuts down south.  It wasnt as much up front as the fee they got for Josh Maja who he replaced.  He only signed 3 players from Scottish clubs.  Mclaughlin who has been excellent in the main. Ozturk who has done okay and McGeough who was a free anyway but has struggled to get a game.

Funnily Sunderland fans (cough)post the it was never 4M but every published report on it says the figure 4M with Wigan saying 3.25M up front and Sunderland 2M which is still ridiculous in that league for a striker that's scored 2 goals this season.

Ross had Morgan on loan, signed a few other ex Scottish League players and was always quoted at bidding for various Scottish players, it reminded me of Strachan at Middlesbrough.

He probably could've done with an assistant who knew English football. My Sunderland mate called his sacking 4 or 5 week ago, pity we can't do the same with our manager

3 minutes ago, MrDust said:

Funnily Sunderland fans (cough)post the it was never 4M but every published report on it says the figure 4M with Wigan saying 3.25M up front and Sunderland 2M which is still ridiculous in that league for a striker that's scored 2 goals this season.

Ross had Morgan on loan, signed a few other ex Scottish League players and was always quoted at bidding for various Scottish players, it reminded me of Strachan at Middlesbrough.

He probably could've done with an assistant who knew English football. My Sunderland mate called his sacking 4 or 5 week ago, pity we can't do the same with our manager

The other ex-scottish league players have done pretty well in the main. Morgan was ok, but Maguire and McGeady have been brilliant. Glen Loovens probably the only real failure and he was a free and only played a handful of games.  Mcnulty has been injured but done well when available. Its the boys from the english leagues that have been the real problem,  Losing Cattermole at the start of the season was a big blow but his wages were a massive cost to the club.

Jack Ross, aye ok. League one team now ladies. On the plus side, now that the first quarter is done and dusted I reckon Falkirk should have enough about them to claim a promotion play off place, not too shabby for a mediocre league full o shit teams [emoji1787]

Ladies?

2 hours ago, BairnBrainBrian said:

Such is the paucity of the pool of managers, Ross will walk into another job before the ink is dry on his P45.

Is there any other industry where this happens?

Some managers are serial failures, yet when they get emptied for doing a poor job at one club so many others are queueing up to get their signature!

Ross hasn't 'failed' though. You could argue that maybe he hasn't been quite as successful as the Sunderland owners want, but he's only lost 10 games in total at Sunderland (and only lost 2 this year).

ETA: I do broadly agree with your point, though.

Edited by Gaz

Ross hasn't 'failed' though. You could argue that maybe he hasn't been quite as successful as the Sunderland owners want, but he's only lost 10 games in total at Sunderland (and only lost 2 this year).

Tbf, you could twist that saying Mckinnons not failed this season, having only lost 1 game.

Ross had to get them out that league, and should’ve won it comfortably with the budget he had. But failed.

8 minutes ago, Gaz said:

Sorry, but I think that he and McKinnon have failed, at least so far this season and the similarities are there for all to see: Sunderland and Falkirk are both playing in their respective 3rd tiers where neither club should be and both are managing clubs with by far the biggest budget in their divisions yet neither currently has their team in an automatic promotion spot which I think should be a requisite, all things considered. For clarity, I want McKinnon to GTF.

3 minutes ago, Senor Bairn said:

Tbf, you could twist that saying Mckinnons not failed this season, having only lost 1 game.

Ross had to get them out that league, and should’ve won it comfortably with the budget he had. But failed.

Ross didn't get Sunderland relegated last season.

45 minutes ago, Gaz said:

It's Sunderland in League One, the equivalent of Falkirk being in the third tier up here given crowds, budget, stadium in relative terms. He is a draw specialist.

27 minutes ago, Gaz said:

He failed to get them out of League One, which is arguably worse than being relegated from the league above. He completely bottled automatic promotion and then did the same in the playoffs.

What ever happened to the ahem Sunderland fan who was posting on here about MC?

Wonder what is thoughts are now that another American has pulled out the deal to buy them stating the rising cost to buy Sunderland as the reason?  

PS the Linekdin chat is now up there with the Benny T's pish as cringeworthy stuff. 

1 hour ago, Gaz said:

He didn't, however he had a full crack at getting them up last year, and is now struggling this season, as mentioned above, a draw specialist, him and mckinnon are both failures in different ways imho. 

22 minutes ago, Senor Bairn said:

He didn't, however he had a full crack at getting them up last year, and is now struggling this season, as mentioned above, a draw specialist, him and mckinnon are both failures in different ways imho. 

As I said though the budget at Sunderland has been hamstrung by the need to cut wages, pay off players that were on £75k a week and meet the needs of FFP. The club was a complete shambles when he came in and he steadied the ship.  Mckinnon doesnt have these issues at hand. He has the full budget advantage we have over the rest.  Ross has also has a championship win under his belt whilst mckinnon has 4 decent months at Raith as his only real positive in his managerial career.

Just now, Shadwell Dog said:

As I said though the budget at Sunderland has been hamstrung by the need to cut wages, pay off players that were on £75k a week and meet the needs of FFP. The club was a complete shambles when he came in and he steadied the ship.  Mckinnon doesnt have these issues at hand. He has the full budget advantage we have over the rest.  Ross has also has a championship win under his belt whilst mckinnon has 4 decent months at Raith as his only real positive in his managerial career.

Still had a much larger budget than everyone else in that league. Don't get me wrong, I'd have Jack ross over mckinnon every day of the week. However are we really trying to say Ross has had a successful time at Sunderland? His stock has definitely dropped, unfortunately not to our level though.