The Falkirk FC Thread

Fans upset Falkirk supported putting Bigot Sister straight into second tier.
Same fans support a game promoting Bigot Sister's Colts.
"It's muh club"

Couldn’t give a monkeys about either of the arse cheeks. Personally, I go to watch Falkirk, not the opposition.

Hope this colts thing doesn't take off in other countries, imagine a Real Madrid  b team winning a league but a wee team going up as they aren't allowed to go up, this could ruin world football. Maybe a couple of years ago colts could've been parachuted into the leagues but with the highland/lowland pyramid now operating where exactly would the colts go? Hardly worth getting steamed up about and not going to games over. With 1700 there last night and reading the posts on here, looks like we have a Seville calculator working in reverse :lol:

Can’t believe some of the comments on this game. I hope we have a colt team in this competition in a few years when we’re in the SPL. What’s wrong with allowing youngsters to gain experience playing professional teams in a competition?

There’s already a system in place to allow youngsters the opportunity to play.

How can some not see the bigger picture here? These sides coming anywhere near senior competitions is a dangerous situation for the majority of clubs in the lower tiers.

10 minutes ago, Senor Bairn said:

There’s already a system in place to allow youngsters the opportunity to play.

How can some not see the bigger picture here? These sides coming anywhere near senior competitions is a dangerous situation for the majority of clubs in the lower tiers.

How are they going to fit 12 colt teams into the league setup?

They aren’t. Could easily fit in 2 though, which is why the 12 are really in this tournament.

Hate what this tournament has become. Really quite sad actually as for some teams it’s the only realistic chance of a trophy.

Going along to the games to support our team or not though won’t change Doncaster doing what the hell he wants.

As stated, they won’t, you telling me though they can’t fit 4/5 teams in? Hearts also had a very strong side out last night that included a lot of boys who could play championship/league 1 standard. It would simply be a case of moving actual senior sides lower in the pecking order, to accommodate these reserve/B teams. They’ve actually talked about subsiding teams to accommodate the loss of revenue from the lack of fans showing up to watch the reserve sides.

1 hour ago, knee jerk reaction said:

Hope this colts thing doesn't take off in other countries, imagine a Real Madrid  b team winning a league but a wee team going up as they aren't allowed to go up, this could ruin world football. Maybe a couple of years ago colts could've been parachuted into the leagues but with the highland/lowland pyramid now operating where exactly would the colts go? Hardly worth getting steamed up about and not going to games over. With 1700 there last night and reading the posts on here, looks like we have a Seville calculator working in reverse :lol:

Have you done any reading on B teams at all?

This colt team nonsense is just marketing.

There should be a straight reserve team league as there was in the 60s and 70's.

With a mix of young players coming through. Injured and low form players able to get competitive game time to play themselves back into form.

It used to be good seeing these games and now and again spotting stars in the making.

They were competitive with players motivated to play well there used to be some cracking games that meant something.

This is my view as well, the weather was lovely last night. A nice walk was a much better use of the time for me.

Can’t really complain about parting with £5.
I mean we are paying nearly £20 to watch us play at home against diddies, with worse teams than what they faced last night.

10 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

Are you suggesting that there is not an ongoing effort to get the colt teams into the league? Thats how this reads and thats demonstrably untrue. 

Can you prove there is ?

Two colt teams met last season with a crowd of 191 and it wasn't Livi.

East Fife got a bye in the semi final last year because the other team couldn't be arsed, yet the 1700 last night proves it matters to you

The only interest they take in this competition is the freebie biscuits

Diddy cup or no it was a run out our fringe players and new signings badly needed.

Buchanan was very commanding, think were going to get the best him at the right time. Gomis was good and Longridge industrious, hel do a job and his fitness levels were good.

Miller toiled  imo maybe fitness, McShane disappointed again.

Moore huffed and puffed.

Celtic Colts could probably hold tgeir own in the Championship.

Diddy cup or no it was a run out our fringe players and new signings badly needed.
Buchanan was very commanding, think were going to get the best him at the right time. Gomis was good and Longridge industrious, hel do a job and his fitness levels were good.
Miller toiled  imo maybe fitness, McShane disappointed again.
Moore huffed and puffed.
Celtic Colts could probably hold tgeir own in the Championship.

Miller being played in a natural position would have helped

32 minutes ago, MrDust said:

Can you prove there is ?

Two colt teams met last season with a crowd of 191 and it wasn't Livi.

East Fife got a bye in the semi final last year because the other team couldn't be arsed, yet the 1700 last night proves it matters to you

The only interest they take in this competition is the freebie biscuits

The freebie biscuits were only there as a sweetener ..lol