The Falkirk FC Thread

50 minutes ago, Back Post Misses said:

November at the Stadium.

I said that unless the Board and MSG started pulling in the same direction then the only thing that would suffer would be the club and it could lead to us being relegated.

Sadly they didn’t and we went down. emoji853.png

Thanks for that. I wasn’t there at that meeting, but it has become evident that, the MSG can’t make a collective decision between them, and the board have members who don’t want to get off the gravy train. To ask David and Kenny to gauge the prospects of fans buying shares on the strength of a dilution of the MSG holding, then to have pledges of that funding in place within two weeks and not see through their intended promises, tells you everything you need to know about the lot of them.  Who are two “two” still in the bidding ?

I don’t think the MSG expected K and D to get the pledges from the Patrons and Supporters, and expected it to all end in a “good try lads, have a sugar lump and off you go”.

When it looked like it was materialising into something real, then they simply avoided the subject, and looked elsewhere. Even now, those few that had spoke of donating their shares could still do so, but they won’t (for fairly obvious reasons).

7 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

I believe Thomson is resisting the fans bid based on no more than personal dislike of people involved. Our club.... Unless some petty w****r at the top spits his dummy out.

Ironic eh? Given the fact that Thomson himself is a hugely dislikable, arrogant, self-important p***k!

6 hours ago, Russ said:

Btw on Durnan he’d be a decent signing imo. A partnership of him and Buchanan should be absolutely solid at this level.

His career seems to have stalled after really impressing at QoS a few years ago. He’s probably a solid Championship jobber so better than the utter shite we signed last summer and the types of signings we should be making to get out of this league.

Durnan would be an excellent signing at this level. Top notch stuff.

2 hours ago, Duncan Freemason said:

I don’t think the MSG expected K and D to get the pledges from the Patrons and Supporters, and expected it to all end in a “good try lads, have a sugar lump and off you go”.

When it looked like it was materialising into something real, then they simply avoided the subject, and looked elsewhere. Even now, those few that had spoke of donating their shares could still do so, but they won’t (for fairly obvious reasons).

Likely realised that there was an actual interest in those shares. At that point, they actively started to pimp their shareholdings.

Durnan would be fine at this level, it is clear that McKinnon is doing the old pals act. Funny to think how much of a roasting Huston got for the exact same thing, which ultimately led to his downfall and the situation we are in now and yet it is probably what is required for us just now.

Plenty of these players will be a known quantity to each other and understand the league so hopefully we can hit the ground running if we actually manage to get a full team together.

McKinnon is undoubtedly a draw for players he has worked with previously. Either that, or we are paying over the odds. Tidser and Connolly are two who could reasonably be expected to find themselves Championship berths.

The pendulum has swung fully this season, and I don’t think we can have too many complaints about a manager signing up players he knows and trusts given our experiences of a manager signing players he had never even seen play before.

7 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

Was discussing this recently with Gav... Was bang up for avoiding this sort of jobber last season.... What a different a year makes emoji23.png

Perhaps if we say “Journeymen” enough some queens fans will show.

Here he goes with this "unpaid volunteers" pish again. He's not even trying to hide it any more.
EdiBairn now ramping up the rhetoric for his mates in the MSG & on the BoD to stay in place.  

Spot on it’s not about the few bad decisions the MSG have now admitted to making .I personally cannot think of any good decisions they made.!
Kenny and David have put in more work to genuinely help the club recently than the tea party did in a decade . I don’t blame ML at all as she was the latest of a series of fall guys asked to front the calamitous crew that now sit in residence as we await the white smoke to appear confirming that THEY have selected our new leader. Q What’s the chances of getting this one right !

I agree with this. Folk need to remember we are going to be in League 1 next season. 
Hopefully just a 1 hear deal though, just incase :lol:

You are where you are cos you were rubbish last year.
None of this ‘we’re too good’ attitude.
Raith Rovers mark2

16 hours ago, Russ said:

Btw on Durnan he’d be a decent signing imo. A partnership of him and Buchanan should be absolutely solid at this level.

His career seems to have stalled after really impressing at QoS a few years ago. He’s probably a solid Championship jobber so better than the utter shite we signed last summer and the types of signings we should be making to get out of this league.

McKinnon at least as grasped that his signings are not going to take us to the premier league. Horses for courses with a squad that can battle out of a difficult league. Those people saying we will walk it are deluded and in for a reality check. Opposition should be respected they are community clubs with a core of loyal support just like us, playing is small bearpits of stadiums that will give us a Brockville welcome. If we get up and can have 3 to 4 players good enough to challenge for a promotion squad for the premier league we will have done well. If we turn up with an attitude of the big boys are in town and are better than you plebs then there will be tears !

57 minutes ago, Wee Jockie said:

Raith Rovers mark2

We know we have been shit the last 2 season you wont find a Bairns supporter saying otherwise.

Guest Ecosse83
1 hour ago, Wee Jockie said:

Raith Rovers mark2

You not sobered up yet Jockie? :lol:

If LDP is your idea of a dud, LoonDave, am very much looking forward to meeting the local ladies in the bars and clubs in Forfar this coming season...  
Think you might run into more Mike Morans tbh. The local bridie themed nightclubs are a tad short on LDP alike staff. SNP munters is a fair shout though.

Raith Rovers mark2
Nobody is saying we're too good. We don't even have a team at present FFS.

What people are saying is we need to realign our expectations of players given we're used to comparing players against championship + standard. We now need to consider what is good enough for league 1+and that will take some adjustment. I'm not even sure what a good league 1 player looks like.

We're aware the step from championship to Premier is quite considerable. It's not unrealistic to think there is a similar step between championship and league 1.