The Falkirk FC Thread

7 hours ago, Gaz said:

So it would appear I have been banned from that COYB page :huh:

No need to worry, I will keep you filled in if there are any changes to the FICF's planned protest against McKinnon this Saturday outside an empty main stand at 2 o'clock sharp.

6 hours ago, MrDust said:

Miller flopped at Dundee Utd and Middlesbrough, still regarded well at the every other club, that's football

Mark Kerr has had a reasonable career and extended it by dropping down the leagues, the legends that are Prince Bauben and Gomis are done at the just over the 30 mark

Problem with Miller is the money that was spent on him, bad enough the large transfer fee to Bristol City but I would his wages were not cheap on top, all for little return.  

As much as they are well regarded I am not sure I would have brought Gomis back to the club again just because of age and getting on to the end of his career in fairness.  A younger player even if not youthful who had a few years more would have been preferred.  

If it is announced that the 4 definitely staying contain any of Kidd, O’Hara, Todorov or Osman I’ll joining FICF wi yer man Barceloner. 

Paton replied to one tweet from a fan regarding the club captaincy saying we already have a good one... if McGhee stayed for one last dance that would be greatly appreciated.

Guest Ecosse83

If the likes of McGhee stay then it will be a big difference from last season when the likes of sibbald and longridge couldn't wait to get out!

As an outsider, it's clear to me the board has to take a huge part of the blame for the difficulties Falkirk finds itself in, but do some fans themselves accept any of the blame? Thinking specifically of one incident, which might have been the sliding doors moment: mini pitch invasion at Palmerston.

Looking at the results from the start of the year, FFC were on a decent run, but time added due to that affair let a couple of points slip, which in simple terms would, if all other results had stayed the same, kept the Bairns in the Championship.  Just conjecture, but it underlines supporters' responsibilities.

As an outsider, it's clear to me the board has to take a huge part of the blame for the difficulties Falkirk finds itself in, but do some fans themselves accept any of the blame? Thinking specifically of one incident, which might have been the sliding doors moment: mini pitch invasion at Palmerston.

Looking at the results from the start of the year, FFC were on a decent run, but time added due to that affair let a couple of points slip, which in simple terms would, if all other results had stayed the same, kept the Bairns in the Championship.  Just conjecture, but it underlines supporters' responsibilities.

How many times do people have to have this explained to them. The time added on had nothing to do with the celebrations. If the game was up when the PK was taken it was us. If there was a minute and a half still to play then whether the celebration took 20 minutes or 20 seconds there was still a minute and a half to play. Our issue was we couldn’t keep a lead for a minute and a half end of.

42 minutes ago, Dundee Hibernian said:

This chat needs to get cut ASAP.

1, We scored our goal in added time. Its not like it was 80th minute when it would mean that any delay would increase the added time.

2. There was about 4 boiz on the park. If no one went on the park, the celebrations would have lasted just as long with the #scenes from players coming in to the crowd.

3. Wasn't a pen.

4. They scored about a minute after we did. Not like 6. There was always going to be another attack after we scored given the pen was 90+1. When does any game any 91?

5. DKD got sent off for taking his shirt off and he trudged off the park - there was probably more time added on for that than any of the "pitch invasion"

So aye, away and fvck off with that.

Putting that back pass aside ,Lee Miller was a complete waste of money for return provided.  I am sure United paid around £225k to Bristol City for him that is crazy decision by the board at that time and he never justified that fee before joining Aberdeen for free.  
Granted the board should never allowed that money to be spent on one player, unless they hoped to recover some back with a future transfer fee which never happened.   
Next season's championship Forum for this pish

13 minutes ago, Back Post Misses said:

How many times do people have to have this explained to them. The time added on had nothing to do with the celebrations. If the game was up when the PK was taken it was us. If there was a minute and a half still to play then whether the celebration took 20 minutes or 20 seconds there was still a minute and a half to play. Our issue was we couldn’t keep a lead for a minute and a half end of.

The bigger issue that got us relegated was having diddies like Mitchel and Fasan for 6 months between the sticks.

Just now, gav-ffc said:

The bigger issue that got us relegated was having diddies like Mitchel and Fasan for 6 months between the sticks.

This

There was a blooper vid earlier showing just how bad Hartley's team was. How anyone could watch Mitchell in that then say they preferred him to Fasan is a mystery. It's like saying "What would you prefer - a punch in the face or a punch in the face?"

Forgetting what they were like as Championship players, Ryan Williamson and Higgy are two of our released bunch that could be worth recruiting. Higgy has that bit of fire you'll need (we won lots of games by using Josh Falkingham as human bait, getting part times wound up and sent off). Williamson was excellent in League one and has a good understanding with Higgy. 

Of course it would be great of you signed some duffers and finished 7th like us but those two are the kind of guys who would stand out. 

Forgetting what they were like as Championship players, Ryan Williamson and Higgy are two of our released bunch that could be worth recruiting. Higgy has that bit of fire you'll need (we won lots of games by using Josh Falkingham as human bait, getting part times wound up and sent off). Williamson was excellent in League one and has a good understanding with Higgy. 
Of course it would be great of you signed some duffers and finished 7th like us but those two are the kind of guys who would stand out. 

Higgy back at Falkirk? Wed be as well putting Kenny Shiels in as replacement for McKinnon.....

1 minute ago, roman_bairn said:

Higgy back at Falkirk? Wed be as well putting Kenny Shiels in as replacement for McKinnon.....

It's a totally different game down where you're going. You need a few grizzled guys and some fancy dans (eg Joe Cardle) and plenty of pace.