The Falkirk FC Thread

Rodgers seems to have had a middle of the road career that has been on a gentle downward glide path for a wee while now. Haven’t a clue if he is the player to provide the front players with a decent supply line, or if he is the type of player to disrupt opposition attacks, but right here, right now, if he is good enough, he could virtually have his pick of any midfield berth as there is absolutely no-one who owns their midfield slot.

5 minutes ago, Long Suffering Bairn said:

Obviously I am all for more female involvement in football but NOT like this.  Please NOT like this.

Obviously aimed at a bit of publicity for the dance group,  but in all seriousness, it’s the sort of thing that should make any male not in their age group look away in embarrassment. In simple terms, it just looks so wrong.

18 minutes ago, Duncan Freemason said:

Rodgers seems to have had a middle of the road career that has been on a gentle downward glide path for a wee while now. Haven’t a clue if he is the player to provide the front players with a decent supply line, or if he is the type of player to disrupt opposition attacks, but right here, right now, if he is good enough, he could virtually have his pick of any midfield berth as there is absolutely no-one who owns their midfield slot.

Described as a 'play maker' 

20 hours ago, Gaz said:

Was spending a bit of time last night trying to think of all the utter horror decisions that our club has made over the past decade or so.

1) Convincing our fans that 7th place in the SPL wasn't good enough for us and getting our fans convinced we were going for "The Next Level"

2) Hughes throwing money away on signing his old, injury-prone pals whereas before we'd been a successful team with young, hungry players (the decision to replace Jack Ross with Jackie McNamara was particularly criminal)

3) Giving Eddie May longer than three weeks when it was plainly obvious by September that he was hopelessly out of his depth and going to get us relegated

4) Replacing May with Pressley

5) Giving Pressley more time after him making a pigsty of our post-split fixtures in our last SPL season

5.5) Being told at a fans' meeting that we were financially on the verge of going bankrupt only to have our Chairman at the same meeting telling us we were still looking to pay for a fourth stand

6) "Our Time"

7) Giving Peter Houston longer than three weeks when it was plainly obvious by September that he was hopelessly out of his depth and going to get us relegated

8) Allowing Hartley to sign so many untried and untested players

9) The hot-tub

Anything else?

How about building a stadium for double our expected crowds then having to rent part of it back from the counvil cos we couldn't afford it. Genius! 

5 minutes ago, Stainrod said:

How about building a stadium for double our expected crowds then having to rent part of it back from the counvil cos we couldn't afford it. Genius! 

It wasn't the BOD's fault that the SPL had a stupid 10,000-seater rule, they planned for a stadium thinking that was the criteria. We're lucky it was changed to 6,000.

16 minutes ago, Gaz said:

It wasn't the BOD's fault that the SPL had a stupid 10,000-seater rule, they planned for a stadium thinking that was the criteria. We're lucky it was changed to 6,000.

I'd still like to know which of the SPL chairmen would like to take the credit for that doozy of a rule.

To think they allowed that excuse for pitch protection at Motherwell but were seriously gonnae tell teams they couldn't get up with 8000 seats.

The problem was though we spunked the same amount of cash on a stand/pitch as other clubs spent on full stadiums and we are paying fortunes on loans for other stands. Don't get me wrong the main stand is beautiful but a stadium something like Livingston or St Mirren would have done the job without the necessity for the loans.

We were in the premier league for 5 seasons with the current stadium. It's not what's stopping us.
The loans on the stadium aren't helping us. The figures quoted on here are anything between £350 - £400k we are paying back each season. How much that is affecting the quality of player we can bring in is anyone's guess.

I still would rather have had a completed stadium with the budget we had than what we have now. Each to their own opinion though.

1 hour ago, Gaz FFC said:

I'd still like to know which of the SPL chairmen would like to take the credit for that doozy of a rule.

To think they allowed that excuse for pitch protection at Motherwell but were seriously gonnae tell teams they couldn't get up with 8000 seats.

Lex Gold was the prominent figure. He was anti-Falkirk to the core. He also led the decision to deny Murrayfield as a ground sharing option. The reason? Hardly seems credible even now, but shows how utterly corrupt the man was......he thought Falkirk playing there brought about crowd segregation issues. Seriously.

There is enough seats in Murrayfield to segregate every fan individually, but at the time, he had Boyle at Motherwell and the twat Keane at Livingston feverishly doing all they could to undermine FFC.

We need someone with money to come in and bluff the council. We either play elsewhere or the council sells their share of the stadium for a couple million up front. They've had more than enough of us over the years, time to shoot that particular cash cow. It's a good bluff, if they say no and risk us moving, what are they going to do with the stadium, charge the Shire 300k a year? 

50 minutes ago, Harry Kinnear said:

The loans on the stadium aren't helping us. The figures quoted on here are anything between £350 - £400k we are paying back each season. How much that is affecting the quality of player we can bring in is anyone's guess.

I still would rather have had a completed stadium with the budget we had than what we have now. Each to their own opinion though.

We could have built a 6000 seat old fashioned stadium with stands tight to the pitch, and likely not even had to involve the council for their share of the cash.