The Metalhead thread

Zizou-5

Been listening to lots of classic Slipknot recently for the gym, perfect for beasting the weights. Looking forward to seeing them at Download, sad to say, but It seems like the death of Paul has added a new lease of life for the band.

Must admit though, looking through the back catalogue due to the lack of great metal over the last couple of years still produces some gems, such as

Went to see Rival Sons in Edinburgh last night and it was one of the greatest gigs I have ever seen. I don't say that lightly as I have been concert-going since 1978 and usually take in 50-60 gigs a year, but they were truly majestic.

Just back from London after going to the Hellish rock tour part 2 gig.

Gamma Ray were awsome (their newest live album really doesnt do them justice, their songs sounded quite flat on the album, whereas actully seeing it live they are most definatly not and Kai sounds great) and Helloween were very good (but not as good as Gamma Ray), quite sad they cut "Burning Sun" from the set though :(, but the encores were a great ending to a great night. The 3rd band Shadowside werent all that memorable.

EDIT: Found it again, Megadeth's title track "Super Collider"

https://soundcloud.com/breakdownn/super-collider-megadeth

its awful

Not really impressed by that, it's very simplistic for Megadeth - feels like a radio song.

I hope the rest of the album isn't along the same lines, although, we got a snippet of another song when the super colider artwork was posted and that sounded very promising!

We'll see.

Just back from London after going to the Hellish rock tour part 2 gig.

Gamma Ray were awsome (their newest live album really doesnt do them justice, their songs sounded quite flat on the album, whereas actully seeing it live they are most definatly not and Kai sounds great) and Helloween were very good (but not as good as Gamma Ray), quite sad they cut "Burning Sun" from the set though :(, but the encores were a great ending to a great night. The 3rd band Shadowside werent all that memorable.

I missed Shadowside due to being a lazy arsehole. I had one of their albums about five years ago and it was somewhere between poor and average. Good to hear I didn't miss much.

Disagree about the Rays. This was the first time I'd seen them so maybe I was just setting expectations too high, but I thought they were plagued with sound issues and were just a bit of a damp squib overall. No idea why they included three songs from To the Metal and only one from No World Order.

Helloween were awesome. Their stage craft really put the Rays to shame, it was just a lot more professional. Good setlist that I have no complaints about.

But of course, seeing Helloween with Kai Hansen was probably the only reason any of us were there and fortunately it didn't disappoint. I would have preferred to have heard Future World done as the Gammaween combo, but beggars cannae be choosers.

I missed Shadowside due to being a lazy arsehole. I had one of their albums about five years ago and it was somewhere between poor and average. Good to hear I didn't miss much.

Disagree about the Rays. This was the first time I'd seen them so maybe I was just setting expectations too high, but I thought they were plagued with sound issues and were just a bit of a damp squib overall. No idea why they included three songs from To the Metal and only one from No World Order.

Helloween were awesome. Their stage craft really put the Rays to shame, it was just a lot more professional. Good setlist that I have no complaints about.

But of course, seeing Helloween with Kai Hansen was probably the only reason any of us were there and fortunately it didn't disappoint. I would have preferred to have heard Future World done as the Gammaween combo, but beggars cannae be choosers.

Yea the sounds issues were annoying (i think it was starting to annoy them too) but when everything was going they sounded great imo. The 2 new songs sound great live and yea the setlist was far from my pick, it was expected (i had checked online and they were essentially keeping up the theme of the skeletons and majesties tour of playing some of the lesser played stuff). Nothing from Land of the Free and only 1 from Somewhere out in Space :(, but i very much enjoyed it.

I thought Helloween had some sound issues too at times i felt Deris and the drummer were overpowering and the guitars became hard to hear at times.

Id love to see Gamma Ray do a fullset sometime. I personally would have prefered Ride the Sky over Future World.

EDIT: im also not overly sure what you mean by stagecraft.

Edited by DavieCFC

Yea the sounds issues were annoying (i think it was starting to annoy them too) but when everything was going they sounded great imo. The 2 new songs sound great live and yea the setlist was far from my pick, it was expected (i had checked online and they were essentially keeping up the theme of the skeletons and majesties tour of playing some of the lesser played stuff). Nothing from Land of the Free and only 1 from Somewhere out in Space :(, but i very much enjoyed it.

I thought Helloween had some sound issues too at times i felt Deris and the drummer were overpowering and the guitars became hard to hear at times.

Id love to see Gamma Ray do a fullset sometime. I personally would have prefered Ride the Sky over Future World.

EDIT: im also not overly sure what you mean by stagecraft.

I meant stage presence, I guess. It's a bit difficult to explain, but Gamma Ray looked quite lethargic compared to Helloween.

I never noticed any sound issues with Helloween. I was standing right at the back mind you and many's the time I've spoke to someone standing in a different place from me who complains about awful sound, or heard a better mix than I.

Gamma Ray should really do a decent setlist sometime, without Helloween covers, and preferably in Scotland.

Whose all going to the Falloch gig this Friday? I'm looking forward to seeing the new line up and this'll be the first of three Falloch gigs I'll be going to over the next few weeks. Also going to see them in Dundee on the 25th of May and in Aberdeen on the 1st of June. They are also playing Edinburgh on the 2nd of June but I think I'll give that one a miss.

The Defiled are playing Aberdeen next month so I might take in that gig as well. They've announced a few dates over the course of May and the dates early in May have Malefice and Breed 77 supporting but they don't seem to be doing the second batch of dates which Aberdeen is a part of. That would be a cracking wee line up for a gig at The Tunnels.

Also just over a week until Devin Townsend Project play The Garage in Aberdeen 8)

Me mates Metal band Youtube clip.

A drummer who sings and a cello player,that's it.

They can rock though.

I'm not a Metalhead,so I wondered what some of you connoisseurs thought.

The band are called Zlang Zlut and here they are with "Revolution Baby."

Edited by DeeGas

Whose all going to the Falloch gig this Friday? I'm looking forward to seeing the new line up and this'll be the first of three Falloch gigs I'll be going to over the next few weeks. Also going to see them in Dundee on the 25th of May and in Aberdeen on the 1st of June. They are also playing Edinburgh on the 2nd of June but I think I'll give that one a miss.

The Defiled are playing Aberdeen next month so I might take in that gig as well. They've announced a few dates over the course of May and the dates early in May have Malefice and Breed 77 supporting but they don't seem to be doing the second batch of dates which Aberdeen is a part of. That would be a cracking wee line up for a gig at The Tunnels.

Also just over a week until Devin Townsend Project play The Garage in Aberdeen 8)

Yep, going to the Dundee one. Are Cnoc An Tursa supporting there? They're popping up around the same time IIRC.

Edited by Ranaldo Bairn

Yep, going to the Dundee one. Are Cnoc An Tursa supporting there? They're popping up around the same time IIRC.

Looks like Dundee is the only date out of the 4 Scottish dates that don't have Cnoc An Tursa as the support band. Support in Dundee is from Man Made Origin, Malestorm, Abandoned Stars and Tosca.

If you fancy saving yourself a quid you can get tickets for the Dundee gig from here for £5.