Unpopular opinions.

I cannot be arsed with Turkish barbers. 
I'm fine with a tidy up and a chat about where I'm off to on my holidays. Or about the fitba if it's George Mathers in Lochee.
A tenner, keep the change, see you in six weeks...
George is a good lad. A mentalist but a good lad. I work with his young lad.

2 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Quite a weird social occasion when you think about it. Let’s meet up to sit in a pitch black room and watch a film.

It’s entirely logical to do that yourself.

Agreed 

On 03/10/2019 at 03:20, ali_91 said:

a Christmas dinner is bland nonsense. Horrific meal. 

Completely agree here. Christmas dinner is rubbish.

My family now tends to have some kind of homemade curry on Christmas Day when we all spend it together. A vast improvement.

I actually think roast dinners with veg etc are always tolerable at best. A traditional Sunday lunch is simply a very boring, stodgy meal. I could happily never bother with another one.

12 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Going to the cinema on your own is far better than going with someone else.

I agree. My work schedule means I quite often finish early on Wednesdays. There's a cinema near my work and most weeks I'll nip in for a 2pm showing of whatever's on. A large popcorn and a film in a more or less empty cinema. Fantastic.

1 hour ago, Dons_1988 said:

Quite a weird social occasion when you think about it. Let’s meet up to sit in a pitch black room and watch a film.

I'm actually starting to dislike going with other people. I went with a couple of mates last week and was mortified that one of the boys kept talking during the film. Mortified. Yet, if you don't talk, then you might as well just go alone. Why not? You'd watch a film alone in your house.

Edited by JTS98

Surely the idea is that you watch the film, then all discuss it afterwards. It's a bit of a shiter when you see an interesting film on your tod, then come home and have to bite your tongue because nobody else kens the identity of the Illinois Enema Bandit. For example, according to a mate, etc.

The rare shared experience with strangers can be a treat too. There was almost fisticuffs at the showing of A.I. that I went to, as half of the cinema were treating it as a comedy by the end, while the other half thought it was a very serious, moving piece. Even had a teary woman stand up and yell at us to stop laughing. Extraordinary.

Young Adam was great too; the film where Ewan McGregor knobs absolutely everything in a skirt. An entire audience giggling like weans whenever a new female character appeared, as Ewan was clearly going to be inabootit before the credits rolled.

Edit: also, I understand that the film becomes a secondary consideration when escorting a young lady to the pictures. Once again, according to a mate, etc.

Edited by BigFatTabbyDave

3 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Surely the idea is that you watch the film, then all discuss it afterwards.

By that logic nobody would ever watch a film or tv series at home on their own. Yet millions of people do.

1 minute ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Surely the idea is that you watch the film, then all discuss it afterwards. It's a bit of a shiter when you see an interesting film on your tod, then come home and have to bite your tongue because nobody else kens the identity of the Illinois Enema Bandit. For example, according to a mate, etc.

The rare shared experience with strangers can be a treat too. There was almost fisticuffs at the showing of A.I. that I went to, as half of the cinema were treating it as a comedy by the end, while the other half thought it was a very serious, moving piece. Even had a teary woman stand up and yell at us to stop laughing. Extraordinary.

Young Adam was great too; the film where Ewan McGregor knobs absolutely everything in a skirt. An entire audience giggling like weans whenever a new female character appeared, as Ewan was clearly going to be inabootit before the credits rolled.

When I was a young prankster I used to to go to obscure art house films with a mate and and laugh knowingly when absolutely nothing was going on, and you'd inevitably get a ripple going round from people who pretended they knew what we were laughing at. Hee hee.

1 minute ago, JTS98 said:

By that logic nobody would ever watch a film or tv series at home on their own. Yet millions of people do.

My point was there are benefits to seeing a film with other people, not that seeing a film in a group is always the best option that everyone should always do  :unsure:

2 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

When I was a young prankster I used to to go to obscure art house films with a mate and and laugh knowingly when absolutely nothing was going on, and you'd inevitably get a ripple going round from people who pretended they knew what we were laughing at. Hee hee.

You busy tonight? I'll buy the popcorn.

3 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

My point was there are benefits to seeing a film with other people, not that seeing a film in a group is always the best option that everyone should always do  :unsure:

Shoving cinemas in out of town shopping centres has killed the joy of chatting about the film over a pint afterwards.

Goes along the lines of.
Meet up before hand, have a blether , go to cinema , have a blether after movie , head home. Usually Sunday evening.
Sometimes may go for something to eat beforehand.