Unpopular opinions.

1 minute ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

Universal default Saturday 3pm kick off's are a wee bit antiquated 

Falkirk are just as capable of getting beat after 12.30 or 2 pm kick offs on a Sunday as they are after a 3pm Saturday kick off you know...

3 hours ago, Stellaboz said:

If you've heard one ACDC song, you've heard then all.

Motorhead were a bit like that too. If you like Ace of Spades, you're pretty much guaranteed to enjoy the rest of their catalogue. If it ain't broke, why fix it.

8 minutes ago, tongue_tied_danny said:

It takes Big Balls to say that.

I love AC/DC's lesser-seen strategy of using single entendres in their song titles. Kenneth would not approve.

Reminds me of this...

On 25/12/2022 at 18:09, Madame RH33 said:

Christmas is shite. I fell zero connection to it at all.

Christmas is pure w**k! I do not say this as a shock form of look at me i'm such a bah humbug in today's fashionable misery. I mean it seriously, puting the huge commercialism to one side, It is a vocal minority that make a silent majority feel obliged to take part in something that if they could be truly honest, they're not particularly arsed about.  there will have been a huge number of people who have had to go through the motions becuase there is family and societal pressure for them to do so when they'd rather just treat it like any other day. I visted two sets of aunts and uncles who I havent seen since the exact same time last year, neither of us have made any effort to speak through the year, so why now other than because it's christmas?

If i had young children, I would obviously give them presents and would not want them feeling left out of it all, but when theyre grown up and i'm a proper auld c**t by then, then i certainly wouldn't be expecting anything from them, if they want to go thailand for a fortnight then crack on, there will be no guilt about leavin so & so by themselves at christmas!

3 hours ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

I visted two sets of aunts and uncles who I havent seen since the exact same time last year, neither of us have made any effort to speak through the year, so why now other than because it's christmas?

I think that's kind of the point. It gives an excuse to check in with people you'd normally feel strange contacting without good reason, and who would possibly drift out of your life permanently, something you might regret later in life.

If you really don't like them and find it too much of a hassle, tell them to f**k off and I doubt you'll hear from them again!  :P

45 minutes ago, BFTD said:

I think that's kind of the point. It gives an excuse to check in with people you'd normally feel strange contacting without good reason, and who would possibly drift out of your life permanently, something you might regret later in life.

If you really don't like them and find it too much of a hassle, tell them to f**k off and I doubt you'll hear from them again!  :P

It's a good point you make but it is one countered by the misery that within minutes you are generally reminded of why it's been a year.

Within minutes of being exposed to selfish brexity racism (now with added WhatsApp visuals that includes the likes of a Londis sign above 10 Downing Street) the only appropriate mindset is one that involves getting out of there just as soon as possible.

35 minutes ago, sophia said:

It's a good point you make but it is one countered by the misery that within minutes you are generally reminded of why it's been a year.

Within minutes of being exposed to selfish brexity racism (now with added WhatsApp visuals that includes the likes of a Londis sign above 10 Downing Street) the only appropriate mindset is one that involves getting out of there just as soon as possible.

I've been done with that shit for years, other than when one of P&B's multi-banned brethren fancies switching to a new account again.

Anything that saps your spirit can GTF. Nobody gets to the end of their life and thinks, "one of my greatest regrets is not spending more time listening to my gran's stories about untrustworthy <insert racial group here>".

17 hours ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

Christmas is pure w**k! I do not say this as a shock form of look at me i'm such a bah humbug in today's fashionable misery. I mean it seriously, puting the huge commercialism to one side, It is a vocal minority that make a silent majority feel obliged to take part in something that if they could be truly honest, they're not particularly arsed about.  there will have been a huge number of people who have had to go through the motions becuase there is family and societal pressure for them to do so when they'd rather just treat it like any other day. I visted two sets of aunts and uncles who I havent seen since the exact same time last year, neither of us have made any effort to speak through the year, so why now other than because it's christmas?

If i had young children, I would obviously give them presents and would not want them feeling left out of it all, but when theyre grown up and i'm a proper auld c**t by then, then i certainly wouldn't be expecting anything from them, if they want to go thailand for a fortnight then crack on, there will be no guilt about leavin so & so by themselves at christmas!

I largely agree with your points.

People go through the motions with some being in their element but some the opposite.

Personally, I like Christmas, but couldn’t imagine the stress if we were skint and was struggling to get anything for the kids.

Now it’s not just that, but everyone showing off Christmas pyjamas and all the rest.  Does anyone on social media have an imperfect life?  I suspect so..

How do we make it easier for the rest?  It’d involve a complete culture change, which would be very hard to achieve.

Christmas has come to Thailand, son and daughter had to buy presents  ฿30 (75p) for a secret Santa today.

I don't mind that, bit of fun. However at the next parents meeting I'll be putting the motion for ฿50, but no sweeties.

I don't like sweeties. - that's my unpopular opinion.

Edited by SlipperyP

2 hours ago, approximately dave said:

It is true, most people exist on social media to correct others.

CCOM thread for this maybe, outwith getting into pointless arguments on comments sections & organising five asides and fishing, there is f**k all point in social media.

posting things to make your life seem great is the most pointless thing ever, the only people who care about what you post are those who dislike you and/or are jealous. for those that you like or are indifferent towards, when you see their wonderful life and beautiful family pictures are you even the least bit interested or do you scroll on, get bored and check livescore instead? thought so

Edited by effeffsee_the2nd