Unpopular opinions.

37 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

EgDna5ZXsAA-H1_.jpg

We’ve let the “let people enjoy things!!!” crowd get away with murder

Where is that list from? Girls from a primary school class and men from a nursing home?  Bladerunner 2049 probably the only one I'd go out of my way to watch. 

5 hours ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

Sweet chilli flavour is the most overrated flavour of anything anywhere. 

I raise you 'Salted Caramel'.

57 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

I have some opinions that even I don't really agree with they are that unpopular.

One is about adulthood and people who are really into things that, a few years ago, were for children.  Video games, superhero movies, Harry Potter books etc.  There's something odd to me about people in their 30s and 40s spending significant time in their lives playing computer games or rewatching entire superhero franchises in their 'man caves'.  I have colleagues who are older than I am and have children who have rooms in their houses for all their gaming stuff, rooms they forbid their children to enter or use.  I just find that odd - I think back to when I was a kid and what my dad did in his spare time and what other people's dads did, I don't remember many people having interests that would directly cross over with their childrens.  What did people used to do for the time that they now spend playing video games?  Maybe they just watched more TV and games are a better use of their time.  A lot of people seem to live in a petrfieid adolescence, everyone dresses the same when they are 45 as they did when they were 15 now.  I'm not some sort of martyr, I do often think I'm too scruffy wearing jeans and a polo shirt to take my wee boy to the park or pick him up from nursery and then you get there and half the other dads are wearing tracksuits with the arses hanging down.

On the other hand though, what does it matter if people play video games, they aren't hurting anyone.  Maybe it's a generational thing and I'm out of touch by viewing video games as something for kids when they are in fact more like movies or novels now, something that can be enjoyed by everyone.  Also, people's time preferences change depending on what is available.  I remember reading an article about football crowds in the 20th century and one reason that you had such enormous attendances in the early and middle 20th century is that watching football was one of the few sources of entertainment for people.  Once things like television became affordable people could do that instead - the article also made the point that a pastime like gardening, unavailable to everyone but the rich for most of history, became something that far more people could do with the advent of council housing and clearences of slums.  Maybe video games are like that, gardening for the 21st century and I am just a Luddite.

I'm sure on adults reading Harry Potter books though, they are clearly weirdos and the people who play Quidditch on the Meadows need a fucking slap.

'Video games are childish/just for kids' isn't just wrong, it's moronic. Gaming had been popular for decades amongst adults as well, not just in the last few years. What's the difference between playing a game and watching a film or TV show? What makes one 'childish' but the other not? The 'petrified adolescence' stuff is utter garbage. Maybe it applies in some cases but to characterise everyone who likes video games as such is a total 'yer da' bag of shit that tried to affect an air of superiority and belittle folk. I suppose they should be out getting pissed, having fights and shagging birds all the time like folk who don't play video games clearly do?

Also I'll disagree with you on superhero movies being just for kids. Arrogant, condescending nonsense, and whilst I like many of them I'm not a massive fan with merchandise or any of that stuff. There's many very old fashioned and odd sneering attitudes about those films, and I don't really get where they come from. A comedy like Anchorman is very juvenile but folk don't go around saying that it's only for children and that folk who watch it have 'man caves' and other stereotypes.

2 minutes ago, hk blues said:

Fair Play - I even turn off movies in English if they are subtitled!  

It's definitely not for everyone but I think if it's an engaging film it's okay.

The worst film I've ever seen is 365 days, utter shite followed closely by Apocalypse Now, which may be an unpopular opinion

13 minutes ago, Angusfifer said:

I think I've only seen two of these films, and one of them is Beauty and the Beast. Disney version. 

Aye it does.

2 minutes ago, 101 said:

It's definitely not for everyone but I think if it's an engaging film it's okay.

The worst film I've ever seen is 365 days, utter shite followed closely by Apocalypse Now, which may be an unpopular opinion

I used to work with a French guy who was a big fan of foreign movies - I suppose French ones in particular!  He would watch Spanish,  Italian and Portugese movies.  He also wore a raincoat so I'm not sure if he was a total pervert or not.

11 minutes ago, hk blues said:

I used to work with a French guy who was a big fan of foreign movies - I suppose French ones in particular!  He would watch Spanish,  Italian and Portugese movies.  He also wore a raincoat so I'm not sure if he was a total pervert or not.

Surely not foreign films if they are from his country of birth? or in his own language? Some films will from other countries are done on shoe string budgets because they dont have the same range of audience  but they get some interesting stories across, I forget the name of the film but its on the slaves building the Qatar world cup stadiums its in about 10 languages and is excellent. 

6 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

Martin Scorcese was correct in what he said about superhero movies and while games might not necessarily be for children anymore it’s apparent that the general standard of video game writing is pretty poor.

Disagree on both counts.

25 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

'Video games are childish/just for kids' isn't just wrong, it's moronic. Gaming had been popular for decades amongst adults as well, not just in the last few years. What's the difference between playing a game and watching a film or TV show? What makes one 'childish' but the other not? The 'petrified adolescence' stuff is utter garbage. Maybe it applies in some cases but to characterise everyone who likes video games as such is a total 'yer da' bag of shit that tried to affect an air of superiority and belittle folk. I suppose they should be out getting pissed, having fights and shagging birds all the time like folk who don't play video games clearly do?

I'd say that there is a difference between watching a film or TV show and playing a video game.  Can a video game be a piece of art, the way that a film or TV show can be?  What about novels, or poetry or music, can you compare playing a video game to them?  Of course, most films and TV shows aren't works of art, they are entertainment but the medium can surpass that and give us a greater understanding of humanity.

I didn't characterise everyone who likes video games as being like anything and I certainly didn't say that people should be "out getting pissed, having fights and shagging birds" - I would say that people who behave like that into their middle age are displaying the same phenomenon of a petrified adolesence just in a different way.

I'm not trying to say I'm superior to anyone, I deliberately tried not to use derogatory language.  I'm guilty of many of these traits myself, to be honest, just in different ways.  Is supporting a football team and caring about their results really different to playing Doom for few hours a day?  Probably not.

1 hour ago, ICTChris said:

I have some opinions that even I don't really agree with they are that unpopular.

One is about adulthood and people who are really into things that, a few years ago, were for children.  Video games, superhero movies, Harry Potter books etc.  There's something odd to me about people in their 30s and 40s spending significant time in their lives playing computer games or rewatching entire superhero franchises in their 'man caves'.  I have colleagues who are older than I am and have children who have rooms in their houses for all their gaming stuff, rooms they forbid their children to enter or use.  I just find that odd - I think back to when I was a kid and what my dad did in his spare time and what other people's dads did, I don't remember many people having interests that would directly cross over with their childrens.  What did people used to do for the time that they now spend playing video games?  Maybe they just watched more TV and games are a better use of their time.  A lot of people seem to live in a petrfieid adolescence, everyone dresses the same when they are 45 as they did when they were 15 now.  I'm not some sort of martyr, I do often think I'm too scruffy wearing jeans and a polo shirt to take my wee boy to the park or pick him up from nursery and then you get there and half the other dads are wearing tracksuits with the arses hanging down.

On the other hand though, what does it matter if people play video games, they aren't hurting anyone.  Maybe it's a generational thing and I'm out of touch by viewing video games as something for kids when they are in fact more like movies or novels now, something that can be enjoyed by everyone.  Also, people's time preferences change depending on what is available.  I remember reading an article about football crowds in the 20th century and one reason that you had such enormous attendances in the early and middle 20th century is that watching football was one of the few sources of entertainment for people.  Once things like television became affordable people could do that instead - the article also made the point that a pastime like gardening, unavailable to everyone but the rich for most of history, became something that far more people could do with the advent of council housing and clearences of slums.  Maybe video games are like that, gardening for the 21st century and I am just a Luddite.

I'm sure on adults reading Harry Potter books though, they are clearly weirdos and the people who play Quidditch on the Meadows need a fucking slap.

This Was pretty much my grounds for divorce! 🙈

2 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

I'd say that there is a difference between watching a film or TV show and playing a video game.  Can a video game be a piece of art, the way that a film or TV show can be?  What about novels, or poetry or music, can you compare playing a video game to them?  Of course, most films and TV shows aren't works of art, they are entertainment but the medium can surpass that and give us a greater understanding of humanity.

I didn't characterise everyone who likes video games as being like anything and I certainly didn't say that people should be "out getting pissed, having fights and shagging birds" - I would say that people who behave like that into their middle age are displaying the same phenomenon of a petrified adolesence just in a different way.

I'm not trying to say I'm superior to anyone, I deliberately tried not to use derogatory language.  I'm guilty of many of these traits myself, to be honest, just in different ways.  Is supporting a football team and caring about their results really different to playing Doom for few hours a day?  Probably not.

Yes, video games absolutely can be a piece of art. I'd consider many to be so.

You might not have set out to be offensive or characterise loads of folk but the 'petrified adolescence' is exactly that. It's also absolute pish. Where is that coming from? How does enjoying and playing video games make someone a childish fool who is terrified of 'growing up'? Likewise enjoying superhero movies?

2 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

Yes, video games absolutely can be a piece of art. I'd consider many to be so.

You might not have set out to be offensive or characterise loads of folk but the 'petrified adolescence' is exactly that. It's also absolute pish. Where is that coming from? How does enjoying and playing video games make someone a childish fool who is terrified of 'growing up'? Likewise enjoying superhero movies?

I didn't mean petrified as in scared, I meant it as in preserved.  

2 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

I didn't mean petrified as in scared, I meant it as in preserved.  

Ok, got you.

But folk will usually play different games as an adult to what they did as a kid, unless they just play the same ones over and over, especially because they'll actually be able to buy and play 18 rated games (and how can games 18 rated be for kids?). 

Is it any different to watching a TV show or film that you liked as a kid? 

It is even that difficult from going to the football as an adult because you enjoyed it as a kid?

What I'm getting at here is why are video games different in to the other things mentioned?

I'm approaching 30 and still play video games probably 5-6 hours a week, and my girlfriend gives me the same kind of "what age are you?" patter. I enjoy it though and 95% of the time I'm playing with and talking to my mates, so don't really see why I should stop. The only problem is I have one TV - in the living room - so I suppose it's a pain in the arse for her not to be able to watch anything during that time. Although some nights she could stare at her phone for hours not watching anything and then as soon as I boot up the PS4 I'm suddenly being selfish. Infuriating Things Your Partner Does for this pish.