Unpopular opinions.

2 hours ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Well that's even worse. Glastonbury is one of the biggest and most diverse festivals in the world.

Oh jeez, not this self-righteous pish again.

If you hate what's on the main stage so much try doing a minimum of work and looking around at the rest. You'll find plenty of things worth listening to.

I'm sure that there are but I fail to see why I or indeed any other sane person would choose to go through a multi-stage booking process and then pay a significant premium on top of just about any other top line music festival in order to rummage around page 34 of the programme to find someone 'who's quite good' on some stupid wee corner of the venue to spend my Friday night. Before Eavis jr. began to seriously run the show they were more than capable of both providing good headliners *and* an interesting and electic programme at the same time, instead of booking an endless parade of performing turds for the Pyramid stage. When a music festival talks as much about the 'unique experience' as Glastonbury does then you know that it is running on fumes when it comes to selling the actual product.

Obviously those who keep going and have a great time have got an interest in insisting to everyone that the standard hasn't declined. From an objective standpoint, it absolutely has though.

For the various boomer complaints over the past few pages about the internet, about a throwaway culture, it's never been easier to make, share and discover music. Bitching about what's mainstream when the non mainstream is as large and varied as its ever been is... you know I'd like to come up with a nice metaphor, but I don't need to. It's lazy. Quit your fucking bitching and go looking yourself

Well no because once again you seem to think that people are somehow obliged to find new music on a regular basis: they are not. For most people music is only one of a diverse range of interests which means that the available time to check out some obscure no-mark outfits is limited. The mainstream exists to make music consumption as hassle free as possible for the vast majority of the population, so when it is shite then music in general is shite. Get off your cross about it.

Edited by vikingTON

2 hours ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

I remember many middle-aged fuds in the early '90s complaining about modern music being recycled pish. Nirvana ripping off Cheap Trick (whoever they were) seemed to be quite a common opinion. Presumably mid-18th century Salzburg was awash with auld fuds rattling on about this upstart Mozart and this generic plinky-plonk stuff he keeps rattling out.

From this, I think we can gather that middle-aged folk from all periods in history should just f**k off and realise their time is done. You're Yer Da now. Accept it.

I genuinely can't think of the last artist that emerged into popular consciousness that everyone felt was doing something genuinely original. Burial, maybe? Even then, he's went on to become really derivative of himself as well.

I think because culture has splintered so much with the death of major subcultures (what was the last major subculture? Scene kids? Emos?) that people making original stuff are generally remaining underground with a bit of a cult following. Although to completely contradict myself I have noticed more major pop stars are taking their cues from underground electronic artists which is cool. The PC Music folk have basically transitioned to becoming a hit factory for Charli XCX for example.

1 hour ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

She's done remarkably well not ending up in porn, considering she has no discernible musical talent. I remember liking one of her songs, only to find it was written by somebody else, and their demo version of it was notably better than hers.

But presumably that lassie doesn't look like a plastic sex doll, so nobody kens who she is.

Her verse on Kanye West's Monster proves she has talent. I still maintain she hobbled Jay Z by knocking it out the park right after his spot.

Drones was up there with BHaR, the two either side of that were horrendous though.
Music peaked in my book around 2005-07 and the last decade has been a solid march into the abyss. Indie in particular is now fatally irrelevant as a genre and won't be back.

DMA’s are doing their best to keep indie music alive IMO.

1 hour ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

I liked The Jam, but they were grossly over rated. In my youth I thought they were new and original. Then as I got older I could see the lineage from The Small Faces and The Kinks etc.

Anything involving Paul Weller is grossly over rated

Just now, Mark Connolly said:

Anything involving Paul Weller is grossly over rated

I could have gone on to his solo career which is very derivative. He's not bad at it, to be fair. I never quite understood the degree of adulation from his fans though.

1 hour ago, virginton said:

Oh jeez, not this self-righteous pish again.

I'm sure that there are but I fail to see why I or indeed any other sane person would choose to go through a multi-stage booking process and then pay a significant premium on top of just about any other top line music festival in order to rummage around page 34 of the programme to find someone 'who's quite good' on some stupid wee corner of the venue to spend my Friday night. Before Eavis jr. began to seriously run the show they were more than capable of both providing good headliners *and* an interesting and electic programme at the same time, instead of booking an endless parade of performing turds for the Pyramid stage. When a music festival talks as much about the 'unique experience' as Glastonbury does then you know that it is running on fumes when it comes to selling the actual product.

Obviously those who keep going and have a great time have got an interest in insisting to everyone that the standard hasn't declined. From an objective standpoint, it absolutely has though.

Well no because once again you seem to think that people are somehow obliged to find new music on a regular basis: they are not. For most people music is only one of a diverse range of interests which means that the available time to check out some obscure no-mark outfits is limited. The mainstream exists to make music consumption as hassle free as possible for the vast majority of the population, so when it is shite then music in general is shite. Get off your cross about it.

I wonder what it was like on here when things you posted were worth reading.

4 hours ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Nicki Minaj can f**k off, though. I'm convinced she only got popular as some kind of sick joke.

I always call her Nicki John McVeigh is a tit*in my mind 

*Begins with m, rhymes with hinge :lol:

Edited by tamthebam
Div's filter

4 hours ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

I remember many middle-aged fuds in the early '90s complaining about modern music being recycled pish. Nirvana ripping off Cheap Trick (whoever they were) seemed to be quite a common opinion. Presumably mid-18th century Salzburg was awash with auld fuds rattling on about this upstart Mozart and this generic plinky-plonk stuff he keeps rattling out.

From this, I think we can gather that middle-aged folk from all periods in history should just f**k off and realise their time is done. You're Yer Da now. Accept it.

Edit: it was always OK to slag Coldplay, however, as nobody under the age of 30 ever bought one of their albums. Same goes for any of that copycat shite, like Snow Patrol. Absolute gash purchased by Yer Maw because the Rolling Stones might have upset her heart condition.

Spot on.

For more years that I can recall there has been a long standing tradition in popular music that the only way to succeed is to pinch a good tune, rework it a bit, and make some money out of it.

1 hour ago, jamamafegan said:

DMA’s are doing their best to keep indie music alive IMO.

Not a fan. Quite like The Lathums and Corella but that's just through Twitter. I haven't bought an album. 

My unpopular opinion: stealing most of the music you listen to but paying full whack for an album from artists you really like is more ethical than paid streaming.

Aye, you’ve a fair point tbh. I should make more effort to actually buy from the band as well as using as Spotify.

19 minutes ago, NJ2 said:

Get Spotify, grandad.

16 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

My unpopular opinion: stealing most of the music you listen to but paying full whack for an album from artists you really like is more ethical than paid streaming.

13 minutes ago, NJ2 said:

Aye, you’ve a fair point tbh. I should make more effort to actually buy from the band as well as using as Spotify.

That's you telt, you tight fisted sheep shagger! 

1 hour ago, NJ2 said:

Get Spotify, grandad.

Anybody who uses Spotify or any of the other streaming services obviously doesn't care about music.  The sound quality is appalling.  If a song is worth listening to then it's worth buying the CD.