Things you want to share with P&B

Ad Lib

The other quote that made me laugh was "One witness, part of a group involved in the trouble, explained to staff that things kicked off when another passenger appeared dressed as a clown. This upset one of their party because they’d specifically booked a cruise with no fancy dress. It led to a violent confrontation".

You can immediately tell the calibre of those involved when you hear about "alcohol fuelled patriotic partying" too.
I didn't know you could (or have to) specify that you wanted a non-fancy dress cruise. Bizarre. I also assumed given the booze and the clown and the fighting and whatnot that it was a Mediterranean cruise or something, I always assumed that a slightly better type of person would go on a scenic cruise round the fjords.

I know there's a travel/holiday forum for this pish but I was staying in Edzell, near Brechin last week. Had wee trips around Aberdeenshire, down to Dundee, over to the various beaches. Got a good pirate-esque tan in the process. What a glorious part of the world. 

28 minutes ago, Salvo Montalbano said:
10 hours ago, Swarley said:
The other quote that made me laugh was "One witness, part of a group involved in the trouble, explained to staff that things kicked off when another passenger appeared dressed as a clown. This upset one of their party because they’d specifically booked a cruise with no fancy dress. It led to a violent confrontation".

You can immediately tell the calibre of those involved when you hear about "alcohol fuelled patriotic partying" too.

I didn't know you could (or have to) specify that you wanted a non-fancy dress cruise. Bizarre. I also assumed given the booze and the clown and the fighting and whatnot that it was a Mediterranean cruise or something, I always assumed that a slightly better type of person would go on a scenic cruise round the fjords.

I'm curious as to how they would enforce it. Was there a clause in the booking conditions that said "Nae fancy dress!"

Also, how do you define it? What if the guy was an actual clown and had turned up in his work clothes?

I know there's a travel/holiday forum for this pish but I was staying in Edzell, near Brechin last week. Had wee trips around Aberdeenshire, down to Dundee, over to the various beaches. Got a good pirate-esque tan in the process. What a glorious part of the world. 

Lunan Bay?

30 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

A can? 

My work has stopped selling plastic bottles or having plastic cups available for the water cooler.  I have a metal water bottle I use but I forgot it.  I went to the canteen thinking I'd be reduced to drinking fizzy crap but they were selling cans of water.   72p, ffs!

this is them - https://www.life-water.co.uk/

"Voted best water drink 2018" 

1 hour ago, ICTChris said:

My work has stopped selling plastic bottles or having plastic cups available for the water cooler.  I have a metal water bottle I use but I forgot it.  I went to the canteen thinking I'd be reduced to drinking fizzy crap but they were selling cans of water.   72p, ffs!

Blimey.

1 hour ago, ICTChris said:

Tell them the energy it takes to make 4 aluminium cans is the equivalent of filling one of the cans with petrol and setting it alight.

#climateemergency

Daughter goes for a play date at a wee pal's house this afternoon.

I go back to pick her up, and spend a couple of minutes doing the small talk thing with the other parents at the door, while she gets her shoes on.

Once we're in my vehicle, she says "you've got a dry bogey hanging from your nose"

*facepalm*