Who's Going To Uni?

Just the words Civil Engineering, we fucking can't stand Civil Engineers... 99% of them are complete tossers, and we get thrown in for quite a few of their lectures (where they have 3 years background and we have none) as we're part of that department for reasons we don't quite understand as it's a science degree...

You'll find out next year if you take the Environmental Engineering module on your course.

Ah, we feel the same about Architects

First day back today. Only have one class, from eleven until twelve. Came in a bit early to get some stuff organised and printed off and read up a wee bit before we start.

Been choking to get back but I'll probably hate it within a couple of weeks!

How come you were so late back into uni? What are you doing now?

I love being at uni while I'm there, but hate the amount of group courseworks we have to do this year! It's not possible to get three people motivated at the same time to write reports (we have had FOUR to write this year, and there's a twenty minute presentation to give) on Chromium contamination... we and every environmental scientist in the United Kingdom have done Chromium to death (unfortunately literally in some cases).

At least we get to go to the Vet school, so we're all happy about that! :)

How come you were so late back into uni? What are you doing now?

I love being at uni while I'm there, but hate the amount of group courseworks we have to do this year! It's not possible to get three people motivated at the same time to write reports (we have had FOUR to write this year, and there's a twenty minute presentation to give) on Chromium contamination... we and every environmental scientist in the United Kingdom have done Chromium to death (unfortunately literally in some cases).

At least we get to go to the Vet school, so we're all happy about that! :)

I assume he's at Stirling, who get a massive winter break.

Ken, im torn between being extremely jealous of the folk i know at stirling and lording it over them coz ill soon be finished.

That's what I'm doing ibwoul rather have 4months off than a longer winter holiday. Saying that I know people at school who get off for Easter holiday when j get off for summer. Safe to say they aren't happy.

I'm not in Glasgow at the moment because I simply didn't need to be but seemingly the protests today were absolutely enormous.

There were two factions even, the ACAAN lot that are occupying the Hetherington Research Club, that are a wee bit cunty, and theres another protest that was disassociating themselves from them and focusing more on the Modern Language cuts, and not attacking specific individuals who dare to disagree with any aspect of what they're doing them. I might have joined them if I'd been there.

I'm not in Glasgow at the moment because I simply didn't need to be but seemingly the protests today were absolutely enormous.

There were two factions even, the ACAAN lot that are occupying the Hetherington Research Club, that are a wee bit cunty, and theres another protest that was disassociating themselves from them and focusing more on the Modern Language cuts, and not attacking specific individuals who dare to disagree with any aspect of what they're doing them. I might have joined them if I'd been there.

I was there, albeit only to kill an hour between a tutorial and playing pool. The numbers I heard were about 2000, trouncing any previous protest at Glasgow Uni.

And the Against Cuts group leading the main protest is just a front for a socialist group :lol:

Kinda boring, lots of standing around and I couldn't help but feel all the work councils should have maybe been at work.

And I'm actually all for cutting sociology.

To be fair, the name alone implies that they are "a wee bit cunty".

I don't grudge people not speaking in tutorials. All this year my tutorials have had some kind of participation mark attached, so you kind of force yourself to speak up now and again. When I did International Private Law Ordinary as an outside course, it was bliss just turning up, sitting back and not feeling any pressure to contribute. :)

Aye, a lot of my courses have participation attached to it. Therefore, I couldn't give a flying duck how much other people contribute. There have been certain occasions where I've said f**k all in a seminar. This is either due to being hungover or not having a clue about the subject in hand. Taking a module in Economics springs to mind where I let other people do all the work and answer questions. Swings and roundabouts really.

Gaz/Enigma - you boys up for it? Thursday between 5-7pm? Know of anyone else who may be interested? I've text a few mates. One is a maybe for some weeks and another will see how he gets on with his game on Friday.

There is nothing worse than people who think tutorials are there for people to have discussions. I don't care if they're talking about what they had for lunch or the finer points of the subject at hand, have a 1 to 1 meeting if you really want a cosy chat. The purpose of a tutorial is for students to ask questions if they have a problem, or for lecturers to provide clarity. Nothing else, no more interaction is required.

The less interaction there is with academics, the better the student experience.

There is nothing worse than people who think tutorials are there for people to have discussions. I don't care if they're talking about what they had for lunch or the finer points of the subject at hand, have a 1 to 1 meeting if you really want a cosy chat. The purpose of a tutorial is for students to ask questions if they have a problem, or for lecturers to provide clarity. Nothing else, no more interaction is required.

The less interaction there is with academics, the better the student experience.

Tutorials exist precisely to have discussions about the topic matter. It is by bouncing ideas off other people of a group that new information is imparted and new and better arguments and responses constructed.

My experience of tutorials, both with law and with politics, has not simply been "for students to ask questions if they have a problem, or for lecturers to provide clarity". It has always been for the group to work through the essential components of the material and to use it to develop what they as individuals have learned from the material. If someone wants clarity from the tutor on a subject matter, that is built-in to the primary purpose.

Tutorials exist precisely to have discussions about the topic matter. It is by bouncing ideas off other people of a group that new information is imparted and new and better arguments and responses constructed.

My experience of tutorials, both with law and with politics, has not simply been "for students to ask questions if they have a problem, or for lecturers to provide clarity". It has always been for the group to work through the essential components of the material and to use it to develop what they as individuals have learned from the material. If someone wants clarity from the tutor on a subject matter, that is built-in to the primary purpose.

Agree with this. I do Computing tutorials, which are more about answering questions and working through problems than they might be in other subjects, but we still expect something more. We have (attempted) discussions on issues, we expect first year students to give presentations and do their own research. So I agree with you, its more than Barry says.

As lowly under grad puppy I'm sure you want to make a good impression on your lecturer and sit thoroughly engaged for the duration. Once you've been in the real world and maybe done further study you'll realise that this poncy nonsense isn't necessary to get that bit of fancy paper at the end.