Who's Going To Uni?

I'm heading to Heriot Watt in September, for any current/past students on here, how much of a pain in the arse is living out at Riccarton in 1st year? a wee part of me is wishing i'd picked Napier just so i'd be properly in town. Although it certainly won't be boring i'd probably prefer to have more of a city life.

I found it fine but I was 17 at the time so didn't have to worry about nights out. There is (or certainly was when I was there in 2009-10) a night bus runs so you don't have to worry about taxis to get back out.

Halls are great if you end up with good folk, and being able to wake up 10 minutes before a lecture and make it on time was awesome.

I'm heading to Heriot Watt in September, for any current/past students on here, how much of a pain in the arse is living out at Riccarton in 1st year? a wee part of me is wishing i'd picked Napier just so i'd be properly in town. Although it certainly won't be boring i'd probably prefer to have more of a city life.

Don't go to Heriot Watt but if your going into 1st year and are under the age of 20 just bite the bullet and go into halls. Everyone is in the same shit situation and just gets on with having fun.

I found it fine but I was 17 at the time so didn't have to worry about nights out. There is (or certainly was when I was there in 2009-10) a night bus runs so you don't have to worry about taxis to get back out.

Halls are great if you end up with good folk, and being able to wake up 10 minutes before a lecture and make it on time was awesome.

I'll be going on 19 so i would hope to be out in the city a fair bit, I'm looking forward to the halls experience though. where did you live in second year? I'm hearing Gorgie is a popular area for HW students, with decent bus links etc

Also, what did you make of the Uni in general?

Don't go to Heriot Watt but if your going into 1st year and are under the age of 20 just bite the bullet and go into halls. Everyone is in the same shit situation and just gets on with having fun.

I'm almost certain i'll be living in halls, i'd feel as if i was missing a part of the experience if i never.

I'll be going on 19 so i would hope to be out in the city a fair bit, I'm looking forward to the halls experience though. where did you live in second year? I'm hearing Gorgie is a popular area for HW students, with decent bus links etc

Also, what did you make of the Uni in general?

I'm almost certain i'll be living in halls, i'd feel as if i was missing a part of the experience if i never.

I stayed at home in second year and commuted from Perth, and ultimately dropped out half way through it when my son was born. The bus goes right through Gorgie in to the centre though, it takes about 40 minutes from the campus in to Princes Street.

The uni itself is alright, but I believe it has changed a lot since then. I think the halls I stayed in have now been knocked down.

Not quite the same, but my boyfriend is in first year at HW so I'm there fairly often. It's a bit of a journey to the city but buses are very frequent and as pointed out, there are night buses I believe.

He seems to quite enjoy living there though and so do others that I've spoken to. Looking to head to Napier myself this year.

Over a decade on and I still have regular contact with folk who were on my floor in halls. Good to meet plenty of folk outside of your classes (and their mates) too rather than form a small cleak.

Some of my best mates are the guys I was in halls with back then, and subseuqently shared flats with in town. I loved Heriot Watt, yeah it was a bitch getting into town at times, and you learned to appreciate Edinburgh Uni's student union but HW was great for the reasons you give, also a damn fine Electronic Engineering course.

Aye most people I know who went to HW loved it. It's a really underrated university.

Applied for several PGDE Teacher Training courses this year and had two interviews so far at Strathclyde and Edinburgh. Just had an unconditional offer there for Strathclyde and I think I'm going to take it. As far as I'm aware all the courses have roughly the same content so I'd rather cancel my other choices and just go for the one I definitely have. Everything I've heard about Strathclyde's PGDE program has been really positive as well.

cleak.

I've absolutely no idea why I spelled clique that way. :unsure:

Out of this, at least I've learned that 'cleak' is i) another word for a fart and ii) crispy booger like things which build up in the corner of your eyes.

also a damn fine Electronic Engineering course.

That was actually my original plan for uni. Chose Aberdeen in the end because it was the only one which let you dabble in electrical, mechanical and civil for a couple of years before letting you choose which to specialise in for the remainder of the BEng-MEng course.

Edited by Hedgecutter

This might not count but I'm starting an OU Social Work degree at the end of the month.

I graduated with a BA Applied Social Sciences in 2004 (I didn't stay for honours due to becoming a Dad after my first year and money being an issue). I started working as a support worker with adults who have learning difficulties and mental health issues and have been doing this job since. The drawback I have is that there's no opportunity for career progression unless I go into management which I don't want to do. I enjoy working with people who have disabilities so I decided to go for the social work degree. It's part time and will take a few years but I managed to get a fee grant so it's all been paid for and I can still work full time. I'm slightly nervous as I haven't studied (aside from a pish SVQ3) for over a decade but I'm looking forward to it. From a financial point of view, a qualified social worker starts on £10k more per year than I make. More importantly though, I think I have the correct personal skills and experience to do the job.

That was actually my original plan for uni. Chose Aberdeen in the end because it was the only one which let you dabble in electrical, mechanical and civil for a couple of years before letting you choose which to specialise in for the remainder of the BEng-MEng course.

Surely you'd be fucked if you spent the first two years dabbling? Fair enough, from what I've seen there's some degree of overlap in elec/mech and mech/civil and even mech/chemical especially since the maths courses will be the same but still think that simply dabbling in a few would lead to serious catch-up in later years.

I did wonder that myself, but if you read this then you'll have as much knowledge as I ever had on the subject:

http://www.abdn.ac.uk/engineering/courses/degree-structure-198.php

First year is a waste of time these days anyway ( for learning stuff anyway, should be great for socialising), second year covers the fundamentals in most engineering degrees so dabbling is fine. Third year is where the proper shite usually starts and in many cases it's only marks from third year onwards that count towards your final degree.

Changing away from Engineering was a bit of a shock in a good way for me. In first year engineering we had an hour to have our lunch with Bargain Hunt on in the background and that was about all the free time we had during the day. Everyone else just seemed to have a whole pile of free time. Perhaps that's where it was made up?

Nah, I know who it was though. I'm mates with him. Does his name start with a G?

I've not even heard back from UWS ffs :lol:

Cannae remember his first name, think it did. His surname starts with a K? I think. If I'm remembering the right guy.

I've been up since half 6, I was just proud I managed to remember that I met a Killie fan today :lol:

Cannae remember his first name, think it did. His surname starts with a K? I think. If I'm remembering the right guy.

I've been up since half 6, I was just proud I managed to remember that I met a Killie fan today :lol:

aye defo him. Were both into the journalism etc, do some work for the same website too lol.

I'm waiting on one more essay result to find out if I have completely finished my degree and, frankly, it's bloody torture. I got my penultimate one back yesterday which I got 68% for but I was marked down a bit on my references. I used RefWorks because I was being a lazy cow and I've had it pointed out to me that it's riddled with silly little errors. Raging. Note to anyone doing essays: read your references properly before you submit. You'll kick yourself if you get marked down for something so bloody stupid. Laziness doesn't pay.