The New Raith Rovers Thread

12 minutes ago, SirJimmyofNic said:

Cove, even with their so called abundance of cash are struggling to get players in, theres no experienced CBs out there for us unless it involves a huge transfer fee, Millen can play CB if a RB is easier to come by

They’re still  in a catchment for Aberdeen and Ross County. Not so much Inverness as they’re in the same league

Edited by baillieinleeds

1 minute ago, Specky Ginger said:

They also pumped us in 19/20 when they were League Two and McGlynn was in charge of us.

Wasn’t that the time the money men at their club came in. I’m sure it was about that time. 

24 minutes ago, CALDERON said:

Where did you see the fact that there is no more money for players? Murray talking in the post match interview as though there are players still to come in.

Not so much a fact. But the much reduced budget tells its own story. 

22 minutes ago, SirJimmyofNic said:

Cove, even with their so called abundance of cash are struggling to get players in, theres no experienced CBs out there for us unless it involves a huge transfer fee, Millen can play CB if a RB is easier to come by

They are also Part-Time, which won't be helping them. 

I think they were looking at going Full-Time if they stay up. 

Where has Sim said no more money for players?

Where has any board member talked of reduced budget? Reduced from what? The pile that JMcG spunked on duds?

Lastly, anyone who thinks Ambrose is the answer to anything, whether it be on trial at training or, Joseph Mary and the Wee Donkey forbid, in any form of contract, needs to take a long walk and clear their heid. Or stop watching football.

3 hours ago, SanStarko said:

I doubt it'll happen but it would be nice to find out what happened with Musonda and Bene.  Was it the case that Murray just didn't rate them and thought he could better, if it was then that's turned out to be a disaster.  Or was it the case our budget is so poor that keeping one or both of them wasn't an option if Murray wanted to bring in other players.

Don't know about Musonda - seemed he would liked to have stayed, but Pars offered Bene 2 years instead of our 1, and more money than he was on. Bene said so himself.

9 minutes ago, Brashy's Boots said:

Where has Sim said no more money for players?

Where has any board member talked of reduced budget? Reduced from what? The pile that JMcG spunked on duds?

Lastly, anyone who thinks Ambrose is the answer to anything, whether it be on trial at training or, Joseph Mary and the Wee Donkey forbid, in any form of contract, needs to take a long walk and clear their heid. Or stop watching football.

😂😂 he was the first name I thought of when it came to thinking about about a stopper type cb who might be available to start a discussion and no I will continue watching football if it’s all the same with you 👍🏻

Think the theory that Cove are awash with cash is a bit overblown to be honest. Up until recently, pretty much their entire backline and goalkeeper were the unit that got them out the Highland League. They absolutely push the boat out when it suits, I doubt Shay Logan and Fraser Fyvie are there because they like the scenery for example, but any team in the Championship which still starts Leighton McIntosh aren't *that* loaded. 

As for yesterday, I'd disagree on the comments we didn't create much, in the first half at least. The chance that Jamie Gullan missed at 0-0 was criminal, but Connell had a run in on goal but made a mess of his first touch, we hit the bar, Kyle Gourlay made a brilliant save from Aidan Connolly just before half time which I don't think was in the highlights, and we put a reasonable amount of decent deliveries in. 

The problem is we're asking Gullan to get on the end of them, and despite nearly 70 appearances for us now, I've no idea where he should be playing, but it definitely isn't up front, and the jury is out on whether he's good enough for this level. Another expensive mistake from McGlynn, although not his biggest, obviously. 

The defending was absolutely rancid though, and while on another day we could have scored a couple, we could also have conceded more than two, which is a concern against a Cove team who have lost two of their best players from last season and signed only a couple of jobbers to replace them. I don't think they'll be troubling the top four, but thoroughly deserved to beat us, which is worrying considering we'll have far harder days than yesterday.

Sam Stanton is definitely being asked to do something he can't do. He's rarely played as deep in his career, so another central defender would fix two things in one, namely, make the defence sturdier (surely?) and allow Scott Brown to play that role in front of the back four. 

That still leaves us short up top, although if Murray is keen to use up all his loan slots, you'd imagine another couple will come in at some point. 

Soon, preferably, as that team looks incapable of clean sheets, and has even fewer goals in it than last term. That said, I said after the couple of games last season that I couldn't see where the first win would come from, and then we scudded Aberdeen and went on an incredible run, so we'll see. 

That Aidan chance wasn’t in the highlights because unfortunately our camera operator had to contend with the dreaded midges (as you’ll see in some of the clips) and it wasn’t quite caught on camera.

Edited by Roath Raver

38 minutes ago, McGuigan1978 said:

Think the theory that Cove are awash with cash is a bit overblown to be honest. Up until recently, pretty much their entire backline and goalkeeper were the unit that got them out the Highland League. They absolutely push the boat out when it suits, I doubt Shay Logan and Fraser Fyvie are there because they like the scenery for example, but any team in the Championship which still starts Leighton McIntosh aren't *that* loaded. 

As for yesterday, I'd disagree on the comments we didn't create much, in the first half at least. The chance that Jamie Gullan missed at 0-0 was criminal, but Connell had a run in on goal but made a mess of his first touch, we hit the bar, Kyle Gourlay made a brilliant save from Aidan Connolly just before half time which I don't think was in the highlights, and we put a reasonable amount of decent deliveries in. 

The problem is we're asking Gullan to get on the end of them, and despite nearly 70 appearances for us now, I've no idea where he should be playing, but it definitely isn't up front, and the jury is out on whether he's good enough for this level. Another expensive mistake from McGlynn, although not his biggest, obviously. 

The defending was absolutely rancid though, and while on another day we could have scored a couple, we could also have conceded more than two, which is a concern against a Cove team who have lost two of their best players from last season and signed only a couple of jobbers to replace them. I don't think they'll be troubling the top four, but thoroughly deserved to beat us, which is worrying considering we'll have far harder days than yesterday.

Sam Stanton is definitely being asked to do something he can't do. He's rarely played as deep in his career, so another central defender would fix two things in one, namely, make the defence sturdier (surely?) and allow Scott Brown to play that role in front of the back four. 

That still leaves us short up top, although if Murray is keen to use up all his loan slots, you'd imagine another couple will come in at some point. 

Soon, preferably, as that team looks incapable of clean sheets, and has even fewer goals in it than last term. That said, I said after the couple of games last season that I couldn't see where the first win would come from, and then we scudded Aberdeen and went on an incredible run, so we'll see. 

Totally agree regarding Gullan a panic signing by Mcglynn IMO because we weren’t scoring goals and an expensive one at that. Personally Gullan is never a number 9 he’s best out wide or playing behind the front 2 

25 minutes ago, Roath Raver said:

That Aidan chance wasn’t in the highlights because unfortunately our camera operator had to contend with the dreaded midges (as you’ll see in some of the clips) and it wasn’t quite caught on camera.

Aye, fair play, standing in a swarm of insects for a couple of hours to film that must have been a tough shift! 

Personally I’m a bit frustrated with the Berra situation. He went to the manager saying he wanted to quit after the Stirling game and then by his own admission ‘cruised’ through the following game. He left because he didn’t feel he was able to hit his own high standards. But a Berra at 90% or even 75% ability would still be invaluable to us at this very moment, in organising the defence, talking Nolan or other new signings through games and getting his head on anything that moved. Disappointed a professional like him wouldn’t want to give us another month or so of his time to give the manager more chance to find replacements and help us avoid this shambolic makeshift defence.

1 hour ago, McGuigan1978 said:

Pretty much all of this.

46 minutes ago, ComeOnYouRaith said:

Personally I’m a bit frustrated with the Berra situation. He went to the manager saying he wanted to quit after the Stirling game and then by his own admission ‘cruised’ through the following game. He left because he didn’t feel he was able to hit his own high standards. But a Berra at 90% or even 75% ability would still be invaluable to us at this very moment, in organising the defence, talking Nolan or other new signings through games and getting his head on anything that moved. Disappointed a professional like him wouldn’t want to give us another month or so of his time to give the manager more chance to find replacements and help us avoid this shambolic makeshift defence.

Perhaps Christophe was completely disenfranchised with the ongoing lack of signings defensively and reckoned that Murray was never going to sign a centre-back (how many  of us speculated Dick or Brown would feature until Lang returned?) until his hand was forced. Either that or he just came to the conclusion that RRFC are on the whole a shambles and is on a downward spiral. To such an extent he wanted out before he could be apportioned blame.

Regarding the managers office, dressing-room and boardroom I fear "there is something rotten in the state of Denmark"

21 minutes ago, Scottydog said:

Perhaps Christophe was completely disenfranchised with the ongoing lack of signings defensively and reckoned that Murray was never going to sign a centre-back (how many  of us speculated Dick or Brown would feature until Lang returned?) 

Despite the fact an interview went out yesterday with Murray where he went into explicit detail about 3 deals for centre backs that fell through? 

I know some fans would love for there to be some kind of ingrained crisis in order to justify the various conspiracy theories,  but it may just be possible that it's taking longer for the manager to make signings ? As concerning as that and the state of the squad is, I doubt its some kind of major Raith Rovers specific crisis.

As for Berra, I don't think him playing on for a month would have been too unreasonable to ask.