The New Raith Rovers Thread

45 minutes ago, Patrick Bateman said:

Some of the replies to the announcement on Twitter (and a few on here TBF) make depressing reading.

Some people will really turn a blind eye to anything, won't they?

It’s grim.

You’ve got the wee spice boys winding people up about it as well. Absolutely tragic.

It's usually about contrition as much as the crime so Declan Gallagher would be your opposite example of Goodwillie. 
Rape is so low, so horrid that even if he had shown some (never had, never will) then normal people can't look past it. 
We hounded out Gallagher when we found he was training at the club whist on prison leave.

16 minutes ago, RavyDavy said:

You don't think this is hysteria? The guy has continued to play professional football for over a decade since the allegations/civil court ruling... Haven't seen anyone protesting this? Signs for Raith and all off a sudden all hell breaks loose... Like we've plucked him out a prison team FFS.

Hes played part time lower league football as no full time club with a moral compass would go near him......untll now.

I was really hoping Raith would get promoted this season. Were playing some great stuff under McGlynn

now I am a Celtic and whoever is playing against Raith Rovers fan 

With respect, I think you ought to take a closer look behind the scenes at your own club in past years, especially at youth level …

1 minute ago, Raith Against The Machine said:

Well, that's the final whistle for me. It's been fun. 

Like everyone else, this football club has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. One of my earliest memories is having my photo taken in my parents' back garden wearing the full "Kelly's Copiers" kit, the one they recently re-released. I loved that shirt. 

I've been a season ticket holder for somewhere in the region of 20 years. For the last fifteen that's meant a 100 mile round trip for home games. I didn't mind. It was worth it. 

It's something I do with my Dad. Going to Rovers games. It's a shared passion, and it's nice to feel part of something bigger. Something that carries with it the hopes and dreams of a community. Something that does good for that community too, and uplifts it. Well, it was nice, until tonight. 

I can't in good conscious go on from here. I thought about it, before when the rumours first emerged, and again today when they resurfaced. Could I just ignore what he did? Could I maybe just sit on my hands, support the other ten players and ignore him? No, I'm afraid I can't. 

I can't put my name alongside his, or alongside this club. "Who do you support mate? Oh aye, they just signed..." No thank you, not in my name. 

People seem all too willing to forget that rape isn't some buzzword. The way this conversation gets framed sometimes you'd think it was like that open goal Chris Iwelumo missed. "Oh, don't sign him, he did that thing that one time". He raped a woman. There's a human being who has to live her life in a totally altered state because of the actions of this man. Nobody mentions her much. I hope she's okay tonight, as her rapist's name reverberates around yet again. I can't imagine she is. 

So from that incredibly significant impact, to an incredibly small one. I'll be logging off. There's no reason for me to post here anymore, a man without a football club. There's not much call for journeymen P&B posters. I expect I'll still lurk from time to time, the draw of lower league football is just too strong, but it won't be the same. 

I might pop up now and again, like Yoss does. He always was the best Rovers poster on here. And I might pop up at Stark's Park again. Hopefully just once he's gone. Maybe a year or two. But maybe longer. Can I in good faith cheer the manager who signed him? Or the owner who paid his wages? Maybe I'll have a new team by then. Only time will tell.

Goodnight everyone. Enjoy your football. 

This makes me sad bud.  I’d hate this to be me.  

Despite the shit show of a season we’ve had at the Pars, going to the football helped me get thru this awful pandemic and cope with losing my dad end of 2019. 

I think I’d be same as you if it had been happening to us.  What galls me more is that your board tested the water earlier, saw a pretty strong negative reaction, and STILL did this.

I hope you and your dad can still enjoy football together, maybe get yourself out and ground hop for a bit.  

It would be so easy to come on here and act all high and mighty and gloat about this but I’m genuinely gutted for all the decent Raith fans. I honestly really feel for you guys, and I did honestly think at one stage we could have been experiencing what you are now and if we were I’d be looking for a new club to support. Fucking hell lads, what to say. 

I agree with you 100%. Genuinely feel sorry for the decent Rovers fans who will be absolutely devastated that their club have sanctioned this. Until today, I felt they had a lot to be proud of in recent years on and off the park. I can’t imagine the disgust they must be feeling towards those in charge at their club.

Their community engagement seemed to be at an all time high recently and the team were doing really well on the park. One poor run of form and they’ve thrown all that away. Must honestly be heartbreaking for fans to see the lack of morals from their club here.

I’m honestly not here to slag off the decent fans, they don’t deserve this and I don’t want them to feel any worse about it than they already will. Those who are ok with this signing should hang their heads in shame though.

4 minutes ago, RavyDavy said:

You don't think this is hysteria? The guy has continued to play professional football for over a decade since the allegations/civil court ruling... Haven't seen anyone protesting this? Signs for Raith and all off a sudden all hell breaks loose... Like we've plucked him out a prison team FFS.

Yes, signed by the worst (at the time) team in Scotland where he has remained since.

I'm guessing all the rape apologists on here, twitter, Facebook etc are single guys who think that strangle porn is a good watch.

But every single one of them will have mothers, grandmothers, possibly sisters, female cousins, workmates, maybe even female friends... and christ, by some fluke a few of them might even be in a relationship with a real woman, have daughers etc.

How they can be anything other than disgusted by their team signing a convicted, non remorseful rapist is beyond reason.

Shudder!!!!

Can’t believe the club have done this after the reaction fans (rightly) had when he was rumoured a while back. Hit a wee poor run of form and any morals straight out the window. Embarrassing.

Sympathies to Rovers fans. Well, the ones who aren’t c***s that are supporting this signing anyway.

7 minutes ago, Enigma said:

John Sim holds the aces but this wouldn’t happen without McGlynn wanting him. Not sure we’ll see that phrase “In McGlynn we trust” too often going forward. Goodwillie is pretty much the last person I ever wanted to sign for the club.

Always knew that Sim was an odd character, but it’s McGlynn that’s truly disappointing. Thought he understood what the club meant and how important being a community club was. To knowingly f**k all that over shows that he simply doesn’t get it. 

Sure, there’s a portion of the fanbase who don’t give a f**k and will turn up regardless. But this signing has fucked the trust between fans and club more beyond anything even the likes of Eric Drysdale or Gary Locke managed.

8 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

No. I’m unlikely to stop supporting Rovers. I get the outrage - although like most things on here these days and on Twitter - it’s completely hysterical outrage. Give it a week or two and these same people will be outraged about something else

I would rather we hadn’t signed him as this will just alienate a large chunk of our fanbase, but we have. I would have thought the previous alarm shown by fans in December was the end of it, but no. Maybe the club will reconsider if enough fans pull their support.

I really don’t know where to begin with that post so I’ll just leave you to it. 

Just now, roman_bairn said:

With respect, I think you ought to take a closer look behind the scenes at your own club in past years, especially at youth level …

He was probably always a Celtic fan. However probably best to leave that pish for the OF playpen.

He's been playing in the lower leagues for a reason. Quality wise he would have been far higher than Clyde all those years but thankfully there is still some morals in our game and clubs steered clear of giving a rapist a higher platform.

If you think it's hysteria, lets wait and see how your crowd numbers are effected as a result. I'm just one opposition fan but I won't be giving Raith Rovers another penny via streaming or attendance for as long as he's employed at your club. Again, you'll have to see numbers to see if others follow.

But I think you're in for a bit of a shock in the coming weeks if you think the reaction is just online hysteria.

9 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

No. I’m unlikely to stop supporting Rovers. I get the outrage - although like most things on here these days and on Twitter - it’s completely hysterical outrage. Give it a week or two and these same people will be outraged about something else

Sorry, but this is a bit different to when many, and I include myself in this, chucked the toys out the pram for Gary Locke. This isn't some PC gone mad nonsense: we've signed a rapist. Whether it's a fortnight, a month, or a year I'll still find it utterly disgusting that the club decided to move forwards with this.