The New Raith Rovers Thread

7 hours ago, RRFC2711 said:

Fkn hell neebur

1) we need a striker
2) McGlynn will fix it.

dae ye no get tae talk in the hoose….

A striker doesn’t help when, like versus Arbroath, we get closed down before we can pass it forward to get to the striker. We need to fix the passing game to support a true striker, or adjust our strategy.

32 minutes ago, TxRover said:

A striker doesn’t help when, like versus Arbroath, we get closed down before we can pass it forward to get to the striker. We need to fix the passing game to support a true striker, or adjust our strategy.

I think it's a bit of both tbf.

Last season we had Hendry, Spencer and Tait all routinely dropping deep and and taking the ball. Sadly with all 3 of them no longe available that's not been happening to the same extent as Williamson and Stanton aren't up to speed on what's what (and even if they were neither of them is a Regan Hendry).  

Just now we are too pedestrian at the back and seem to be unable to miss a player out and play anything more than a 10 yrd pass.  Against Arbroath as has been well documented we were far too slow and as a result they had our number, to compound this the midfield weren't dropping off enough and the balls out were limited to a long high ball. Neither Gullan nor Ross have the build to win a high ball and hold it in, ergo if you need to play it long you need a different type of forward.  Both Varian and Poplatnik may (do) meet that criteria but aren't prolific, so........ we need another striker, for those such occasions a new striker would certainly help.

But also we definitely do need to be doing things much quicker, balls across the back need to be zipped at pace to get the ball left to right (and vice versa) much quicker.  Two Arbroath front men had all the time in the world to straddle the defence and close down all four defenders.

McGlynn or TxRover, who to trust? 

Yesterday was fine. In an ideal world, we’d have scored one of those early chances and racked up a few goals. Yes we left it relatively late to score but we were never in any real danger of losing that tie.  The end result was a pretty fair reflection of how the game panned out. 

Watched the highlights. Looks like we should have battered them. Couldn't care less when in a game the goals are scored as long as we score them eventually and win. Relying on RaithTV's commentary to gauge a match seems silly and very Crazy Englishman'esque, especially when you'd struggle to know when Rovers have scored these days such is the lack of reaction from Davie and co so's not to offend opposition fans. Get back to them roaring like f**k when we score. 

8 minutes ago, roverthemoon said:

Yesterday was fine. In an ideal world, we’d have scored one of those early chances and racked up a few goals. Yes we left it relatively late to score but we were never in any real danger of losing that tie.  The end result was a pretty fair reflection of how the game panned out. 

I’d trust JMcG, personally. Yesterday was “fine” in result but terrible in execution. Against that level of competition, we should have looked like Liverpool versus Lowestoft Town. We need to tune our approach if we can’t execute our basic strategy against much lower level competition.

1 minute ago, roverthemoon said:

I thought at the time 3-0 flattered us but looking back now I feel it does and it doesn't. Stats wise we were well on top and if those 3 goals had been spaced out over the 90 this discussion would be entirely moot, but it's the fact that we missed a hatful of opportunities and only really sealed the deal in the last 10 mins that leave you with a wee feeling of having performed a minor smash & grab. Perhaps smash & grab is a bit strong, but it's the failure to turn that over all superiority and chances into goals that just leaves me a little dubious.

1 minute ago, Raithie said:

Watched the highlights. Looks like we should have battered them. Couldn't care less when in a game the goals are scored as long as we score them eventually and win. Relying on RaithTV's commentary to gauge a match seems silly and very Crazy Englishman'esque, especially when you'd struggle to know when Rovers have scored these days such is the lack of reaction from Davie and co so's not to offend opposition fans. Get back to them roaring like f**k when we score. 

Looks like, until you see how the passing is missing the timing and precision necessary for it to succeed.

Just now, Scottydog said:

I thought at the time 3-0 flattered us but looking back now I feel it does and it doesn't. Stats wise we were well on top and if those 3 goals had been spaced out over the 90 this discussion would be entirely moot, but it's the fact that we missed a hatful of opportunities and only really sealed the deal in the last 10 mins that leave you with a wee feeling of having performed a minor smash & grab. Perhaps smash & grab is a bit strong, but it's the failure to turn that over all superiority and chances into goals that just leaves me a little dubious.

Exactly, and the highlights alone don’t show how we laboured to moved their players around, and often failed. Something is amiss, and JMcG knows it and is struggling to correct it. Hopefully he has the key.

4 minutes ago, TxRover said:

Exactly, and the highlights alone don’t show how we laboured to moved their players around, and often failed. Something is amiss, and JMcG knows it and is struggling to correct it. Hopefully he has the key.

TBH we could easily have scored 10 yesterday, if LV was up front we probably would have, hence why we need a clinical striker. Hopefully the 250 odd K we make from the Celtic game brings that guy in for the rest of the season, who that is nobody fucking knows, Cummings off to Australia and Lafferty to Killie seems like a couple missed, but now we know we have a cash injection to make something happen, 8 days left, will we have a better chance next season ? who knows, however we are only 6 points off the top with 14 to go, bring in a striker who could score 8 or 9  in the remaining fixtures and it will be very interesting.

42 minutes ago, Specky Ginger said:

Heard yesterday we were offered Lafferty, but at 4 grand per week, we quite understandably declined.

Aye bolt, If Killie are paying him that and don't go back up then they will probably be fucked.

2 hours ago, TxRover said:

A proper target man acts as a focal point for the ball to stick up top.  See Nouble at Arbroath.

32 minutes ago, keyser_soze said:

Aye bolt, If Killie are paying him that and don't go back up then they will probably be fucked.

Don't shoot the messenger.

If Dundee are paying Charlie Adam £3,500 per week (which was revealed at his court case for drink driving a couple of weeks ago), then I don't think 4 grand for Lafferty, on a short term deal, is entirely implausible.

I agree with you it seems like one hell of a gamble, but apparently Bowie, their chairman, is prepared to finance it.

Edited by Specky Ginger

3 minutes ago, Killiefan said:

McInnes had him in the bag as soon as he was made manager, certainly nowhere near 4k

Fair enough. Only repeating what I heard.

Given there's 90 grand difference in prize money alone between 1st and 2nd, then another 75 grand per placing down to 5th, it's not hugely surprising Killie have splashed out however much.

Edited by Specky Ginger