The New Raith Rovers Thread

5 minutes ago, Raith Against The Machine said:

Big part of me is disappointed that we didn't get a more winnable tie, but that's going to make up for the lost New Year's derby income, and hopefully let McGlynn do some more forward planning for next year and beyond. 

This isn’t a winnable tie?

Ethan Ross will do the business. Zanatta will rediscover his form. Berra will hold it all together. 2-1 Rovers.

24 minutes ago, roverthemoon said:

Crowd was reasonable against us in the League cup. A weekend tie in the Scottish cup with away fans allowed will easily surpass that even if it’s on TV

Does anyone no who the minutes clapping  was for today before the start of the Banks of Dee game

Responding to @RRFC2711…on the Morton v Raith thread:

Congratulations on being there or watching on Raith TV, but that doesn’t make your view inherently correct or superior. We were, relatively, wretched today because we completely failed to execute our (usual) strategy against an opponent from several leagues down. A 0-1 victory in those circumstances, which it was until the death, is hardly a triumph.

Let’s look at what is really wrong with the Rovers right now. People constantly complain about pointless passing across the back repeatedly, and they have a point. The use of passing across the back is to move the opponents around and develop openings for the team to progress the ball forward into the opponents end. Then the point is to continue passing the ball around, again trying to pull the defenders out of position to allow a penetrating pass or a drive to the end line for a cross. We were consistently unsuccessful today/yesterday (and for the past few matches) in doing this until Banks O’ Dee HAD to press themselves for a tying score. Even when we had some small successes in this manner, we again lacked player either in position or skilled enough to make a chance count.

This is an aspect that Hendry’s loss magnified, Tait’s departure solidified and Spencer’s injury highlighted. All three of these players added connections that we are lacking recently, even if Tait fell off after October or so. Stanton shows signs of becoming  a very important layer for us, but needs more time to gel with the team, and to learn to anticipate things…we often fail to realize just how familiar with each other Hendry/Spencer/Matthews/Tait were, especially when playing in front of Tumilty/Davidson/Bene/KMac. Team chemistry is a weird one, it takes time and effort and can be easily upset by the smallest thing.

JMcG is hanging on to his pass it out strategy, and it will hopefully play better going forward, but lacking that killer touch up front, we will constantly be facing squeaky bum time the remainder of the season and will likely throw away more points to desperation goals. I wish JMcG would show some sign of adjusting this strategy a bit more, especially at the half when we are struggling. The problem with this is the team isn’t built to easily execute another strategy, so we look poised to have to ride this one out.

Perhaps we use more 3-5-2, but that weakens an attack that is already weaker than the Tories in Scotland…and one up top certainly isn’t working either…I just hope the bald Messiah has an answer. So you can be content with todays triumph, if you see it as that, but I don’t see it that way.

17 minutes ago, TxRover said:

Congratulations on being there or watching on Raith TV, but that doesn’t make your view inherently correct or superior. 

It does. It really does.

Just in the same way that a court witness who has seen an incident's evidence is much more credible than someone who has heard the evidence second hand from someone else.

We weren’t great yesterday but we got the job done, progressed to the next round and got lucky 🍀 with the draw. 

Morton on the telly next. Hopefully we don’t have to ride it out for too long before the team find their sweet spot again.

Responding to [mention=21558]RRFC2711[/mention]…on the Morton v Raith thread:
Congratulations on being there or watching on Raith TV, but that doesn’t make your view inherently correct or superior. We were, relatively, wretched today because we completely failed to execute our (usual) strategy against an opponent from several leagues down. A 0-1 victory in those circumstances, which it was until the death, is hardly a triumph.
Let’s look at what is really wrong with the Rovers right now. People constantly complain about pointless passing across the back repeatedly, and they have a point. The use of passing across the back is to move the opponents around and develop openings for the team to progress the ball forward into the opponents end. Then the point is to continue passing the ball around, again trying to pull the defenders out of position to allow a penetrating pass or a drive to the end line for a cross. We were consistently unsuccessful today/yesterday (and for the past few matches) in doing this until Banks O’ Dee HAD to press themselves for a tying score. Even when we had some small successes in this manner, we again lacked player either in position or skilled enough to make a chance count.
This is an aspect that Hendry’s loss magnified, Tait’s departure solidified and Spencer’s injury highlighted. All three of these players added connections that we are lacking recently, even if Tait fell off after October or so. Stanton shows signs of becoming  a very important layer for us, but needs more time to gel with the team, and to learn to anticipate things…we often fail to realize just how familiar with each other Hendry/Spencer/Matthews/Tait were, especially when playing in front of Tumilty/Davidson/Bene/KMac. Team chemistry is a weird one, it takes time and effort and can be easily upset by the smallest thing.
JMcG is hanging on to his pass it out strategy, and it will hopefully play better going forward, but lacking that killer touch up front, we will constantly be facing squeaky bum time the remainder of the season and will likely throw away more points to desperation goals. I wish JMcG would show some sign of adjusting this strategy a bit more, especially at the half when we are struggling. The problem with this is the team isn’t built to easily execute another strategy, so we look poised to have to ride this one out.
Perhaps we use more 3-5-2, but that weakens an attack that is already weaker than the Tories in Scotland…and one up top certainly isn’t working either…I just hope the bald Messiah has an answer. So you can be content with todays triumph, if you see it as that, but I don’t see it that way.

Fkn hell neebur

1) we need a striker
2) McGlynn will fix it.

dae ye no get tae talk in the hoose….

8 hours ago, TxRover said:

Nothing wrong with passing it across the back and trying to create spaces to exploit with attacking players, the problem we seem to have at the moment is we’re far too slow at moving the ball and our next pass is obvious which allows any team to reorganise their defence even BoD we’re able to keep their shape when we should have been pulling them all over the park. Some games it’s almost like we want everyone to have a touch before we go forward. Far too often we pass it to Berra in the middle instead of going direct from right to left or vice versa.  All we do at the moment is give teams time to get into position by telegraphing our passes and adding in unnecessary passes in the middle. Our style of play is great but we need to be quicker with the ball and cut out the unnecessary passes.  Teams in this league have Sussed our system out and especially the teams at the bottom know all they have to do is hold their shape and press us high until we make a mistake.  We’re not good enough to pass through an organised defence and we’re giving teams time to get their shape back. A striker is a must for me but McGlynn needs to get the guys to start pinging the ball across the park far quicker than we are, our wingers should have chalk on their boots to try an pull the defence out of position.  

Edited by San Starko Rover

5 hours ago, San Starko Rover said:

Nothing wrong with passing it across the back and trying to create spaces to exploit with attacking players, the problem we seem to have at the moment is we’re far too slow at moving the ball and our next pass is obvious which allows any team to reorganise their defence even BoD we’re able to keep their shape when we should have been pulling them all over the park. Some games it’s almost like we want everyone to have a touch before we go forward. Far too often we pass it to Berra in the middle instead of going direct from right to left or vice versa.  All we do at the moment is give teams time to get into position by telegraphing our passes and adding in unnecessary passes in the middle. Our style of play is great but we need to be quicker with the ball and cut out the unnecessary passes.  Teams in this league have Sussed our system out and especially the teams at the bottom know all they have to do is hold their shape and press us high until we make a mistake.  We’re not good enough to pass through an organised defence and we’re giving teams time to get their shape back. A striker is a must for me but McGlynn needs to get the guys to start pinging the ball across the park far quicker than we are, our wingers should have chalk on their boots to try an pull the defence out of position.  

Exactly the point, but it does ask the question if our early success was down to better/quicker execution or just teams not understanding how to defeat our strategy. The method of play is sound, when executed correctly.

1 hour ago, Athlete29 said:

For me Connolly needs to be starting again, we looked like a different team when he came on yesterday. Imo he's our best player and I have no idea why he's been dropped by McGlynn.

Pretty much agree with this. I wouldn't go as far as saying he's our best player but I'm not sure what he's done to warrant such a long stint on the bench. He should be back in the team moving forward. 

1 hour ago, Athlete29 said:

For me Connolly needs to be starting again, we looked like a different team when he came on yesterday. Imo he's our best player and I have no idea why he's been dropped by McGlynn.

Aye, as much as the benching of Zanatta made sense to me, Connolly being dropped felt a bit harsh in my opinion.

I’d say after yesterday there’s a lot more chance of Connolly being reinstated into the starting eleven than Dario.