The New Raith Rovers Thread

I thought yesterday’s game was not too bad in terms of friendlies, and I was especially keen on Stirling Albion’s decision to have two number 12’s, two 14’s, 15’s, 16’s and 18’s. A novel approach which presumably won’t catch on.

As for us, it’s impossible not to be excited by Fernandy Mendy, a central defender with a pony tail. It’s my favourite centre half hair-do since Christian Patino’s long luscious locks which he showed off between 2002-2004.

I get the impression he’d header his Granny if it would stop a goal, and while his long passes were a mixed bag, he found his target a fair few times.

McDonald looked encouraging on the left, and Miller was tidy enough in front of them.

I missed a few league games at the end of last season, so that’s the first of me getting a proper look at Bowie, and he really impressed me. To be playing like that at 16 is pretty exciting, but if I’m going to compliment Mendy’s hair, I must criticise the youngster’s. He should be making do with a place on the bench until those highlights are away.

I’m not sure what Victoria’s best position is. He’s been moved from left to the middle for the bulk of his career, and I can see him being both exciting and infuriating. He did a lot of good things yesterday, but on a couple of occasions when he got in good positions, he attempted to unnecessarily try and run around additional opponents, or fell over. He’ll be a pest to play against though, and I’m looking forward to watching him.

Mendy’s man of the match award was fair enough, and he probably did stuck out more than most with his all action style, but Regan Hendry, at times, was two levels above everyone else. If he’d stayed injury free last season, we’d have ran Arbroath really close.

The fact some people think injuries didn’t knacker us last season is bizarre, when you look what he can do on the ball. If we can use him to the best of his abilities over the next couple of years, he’ll be massive for us. Our list of decent central midfielders over the last 20 years is genuinely minuscule, so if he continues to develop, he could be our most influential since Paquito. That sounds hyperbolic, but we’ve had so many passive, game-passing-them-by CM’s over the last 20 years it’s incredible.

If there’s a negative, I do hope we don’t start the season with Anderson up front. It’s clear we need a genuine striker, and while I would prefer someone other than Lewis Allan, he did put together a nice wee display of pace and power to beat a defender at one point. Not too bad considering he’s apparently “fat”. If he is, then about 98% of the folk in the stands are obese.

The number nine jersey doesn’t appear to be taken though, so it’s presumably going to someone.

That said, if Vaughan is back in September then he can play in the role he should be in, as close to goal as possible. Sticking him on the wing, or central midfield, a decision which Barry Smith should have been locked up for, is just not on.

Disappointing that Tony Dingwall is out for a wee bit longer though, the fact he runs like a chicken makes me laugh every time.

TL;DR we were kind of okay yesterday and I look forward to winning the league at Falkirk on the final day.

What exactly is the point of friendlies if not to make snap judgements about new signings?
Vitoria has played well against us but not many other teams judging by his record and there was enough on show yesterday to see why he was punted by Murray. If he's going to be a regular this season we're in big trouble. He's a back up and no more.
Watson is hopeless. His use of the ball is awful. He'll never make the grade as a senior player. McKay is a much better option and he's not even a right back.
Barring these two and the fat trialist the rest of them were fine.

Being entirely serious, if that’s your attitude then don’t bother going to Stark’s Park.

A friendly match in June has you phasing players out the squad and writing players off as professionals. You really need to take a look at yourself.

What exactly is the point of friendlies if not to make snap judgements about new signings?
Vitoria has played well against us but not many other teams judging by his record and there was enough on show yesterday to see why he was punted by Murray. If he's going to be a regular this season we're in big trouble. He's a back up and no more.
Watson is hopeless. His use of the ball is awful. He'll never make the grade as a senior player. McKay is a much better option and he's not even a right back.

My goodness. [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Everybody is a little ring rusty, friendlies are important not only for match fitness. But the other players get to know each other and working on the formations set out by the gaffer. I’m sure Watson will come good and Fernandy Mandy looks the part too. We do need strikers that’s for sure.

I thought yesterday’s game was not too bad in terms of friendlies, and I was especially keen on Stirling Albion’s decision to have two number 12’s, two 14’s, 15’s, 16’s and 18’s. A novel approach which presumably won’t catch on.

As for us, it’s impossible not to be excited by Fernandy Mendy, a central defender with a pony tail. It’s my favourite centre half hair-do since Christian Patino’s long luscious locks which he showed off between 2002-2004.

I get the impression he’d header his Granny if it would stop a goal, and while his long passes were a mixed bag, he found his target a fair few times.

McDonald looked encouraging on the left, and Miller was tidy enough in front of them.

I missed a few league games at the end of last season, so that’s the first of me getting a proper look at Bowie, and he really impressed me. To be playing like that at 16 is pretty exciting, but if I’m going to compliment Mendy’s hair, I must criticise the youngster’s. He should be making do with a place on the bench until those highlights are away.

I’m not sure what Victoria’s best position is. He’s been moved from left to the middle for the bulk of his career, and I can see him being both exciting and infuriating. He did a lot of good things yesterday, but on a couple of occasions when he got in good positions, he attempted to unnecessarily try and run around additional opponents, or fell over. He’ll be a pest to play against though, and I’m looking forward to watching him.

Mendy’s man of the match award was fair enough, and he probably did stuck out more than most with his all action style, but Regan Hendry, at times, was two levels above everyone else. If he’d stayed injury free last season, we’d have ran Arbroath really close.

The fact some people think injuries didn’t knacker us last season is bizarre, when you look what he can do on the ball. If we can use him to the best of his abilities over the next couple of years, he’ll be massive for us. Our list of decent central midfielders over the last 20 years is genuinely minuscule, so if he continues to develop, he could be our most influential since Paquito. That sounds hyperbolic, but we’ve had so many passive, game-passing-them-by CM’s over the last 20 years it’s incredible.

If there’s a negative, I do hope we don’t start the season with Anderson up front. It’s clear we need a genuine striker, and while I would prefer someone other than Lewis Allan, he did put together a nice wee display of pace and power to beat a defender at one point. Not too bad considering he’s apparently “fat”. If he is, then about 98% of the folk in the stands are obese.

The number nine jersey doesn’t appear to be taken though, so it’s presumably going to someone.

That said, if Vaughan is back in September then he can play in the role he should be in, as close to goal as possible. Sticking him on the wing, or central midfield, a decision which Barry Smith should have been locked up for, is just not on.

Disappointing that Tony Dingwall is out for a wee bit longer though, the fact he runs like a chicken makes me laugh every time.

TL;DR we were kind of okay yesterday and I look forward to winning the league at Falkirk on the final day.

Excellent summation

2 hours ago, Ro Sham Bo said:

Here, gie me yer spade....!!😬

Criticising players after the first preseason game is a bit harsh I thought it was a pretty decent performance considering several players were making their debut. I think most folk knew before yesterday's game that we need another striker but its still early days so no need to get uptight this early. 

It was great to get back to Starks on a Saturday again but my only gripe would be that no one had bothered to clean the south stand it looked like it hadn't been touched since the end of last season. 

Echo (most) others, decent workout with some good individual performances. Pinch of salt needed though that we were in our 1st pre season game against the mighty Stirling.

I was kind of hoping Anderson might be transitioned into a right wing back, think his all round game would be suited to it however yesterday we see him start as the main striker for (correct me if I’m wrong) the 1st time since that game he scored in v Hibs before the weather got it abandoned at half time? 

Hopefully the striker situation is resolved before the competitive stuff starts, otherwise I’m surprisingly optimistic 

24 minutes ago, Frank conner said:

Criticising players after the first preseason game is a bit harsh I thought it was a pretty decent performance considering several players were making their debut. I think most folk knew before yesterday's game that we need another striker but its still early days so no need to get uptight this early. 

It was great to get back to Starks on a Saturday again but my only gripe would be that no one had bothered to clean the south stand it looked like it hadn't been touched since the end of last season. 

Big clean up happening today. 

Andy Mill was organising it with a squad of volunteers. 

6 minutes ago, Pride of Fife said:

Echo (most) others, decent workout with some good individual performances. Pinch of salt needed though that we were in our 1st pre season game against the mighty Stirling.

I was kind of hoping Anderson might be transitioned into a right wing back, think his all round game would be suited to it however yesterday we see him start as the main striker for (correct me if I’m wrong) the 1st time since that game he scored in v Hibs before the weather got it abandoned at half time? 

Hopefully the striker situation is resolved before the competitive stuff starts, otherwise I’m surprisingly optimistic 

I think it might have been Iain Williamson who scored in the abandoned Hibs friendly. Anderson was a couple of seasons later. 

35 minutes ago, Pride of Fife said:

Ah right! Just mind thinking it was a winger playing centre forward, cheers. Funnily enough, the weather last night wasn’t dissimilar 

Aye, I wondered if it might get abandoned yesterday when the rain and thunder were at their heaviest. At least there's less concern about the pitch cutting up badly. 

And like yesterday the weather was decent before the Hibs friendly as I walked down that night. Thankfully my neebur gave me a lift home by which point the bottom of Windmill Road was like a paddling pool. 

I have to say, Joao Victoria was absolutely w**k yesterday, everyone else got pass marks. Watson looked alright, would prefer Miller there though.
Would like to see McKay have another chance alongside Mendy at centre half.
If at any point Vaughan isn’t playing upfront or on the left wing this season I am boycotting.

Being entirely serious, if that’s your attitude then don’t bother going to Stark’s Park.

A friendly match in June has you phasing players out the squad and writing players off as professionals. You really need to take a look at yourself.
I've said one player won't make it and another isn't good enough to be in our starting 11. You'd think I've written off the entire squad. Nobody is convincing me that if Watson wasn't on a two year deal he would be here this season and when Vaughan and Dingwall return there's no chance that Vitoria should be a starter for us.