BTFD Posted November 18, 2022 Share Posted November 18, 2022 12 hours ago, Hedgecutter said: Have people here dropped the F-bomb whilst talking to their parents? My mum hated course language for the first half of my life. Any time someone used a four-letter word, even on the telly, you'd heard an involuntary tut from over in the corner. If it became an extended series of expletives (like when watching a Billy Connolly performance, for example), the room would eventually receive a lecture on "unnecessary language". She's elderly now, and we'll quite happily sit together and call everybody all the c***s under the sun. No idea when the change occurred, but it was nothing to do with me being a child, as it continued into my early twenties, at least. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fullerene Posted November 18, 2022 Share Posted November 18, 2022 34 minutes ago, BFTD said: My mum hated coarse language for the first half of my life. Any time someone used a four-letter word, even on the telly, you'd heard an involuntary tut from over in the corner. If it became an extended series of expletives (like when watching a Billy Connolly performance, for example), the room would eventually receive a lecture on "unnecessary language". She's elderly now, and we'll quite happily sit together and call everybody all the c***s under the sun. No idea when the change occurred, but it was nothing to do with me being a child, as it continued into my early twenties, at least. FTFY 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BTFD Posted November 18, 2022 Share Posted November 18, 2022 1 hour ago, Fullerene said: FTFY Did you actually change anything there? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
German Jag Posted November 18, 2022 Share Posted November 18, 2022 2 minutes ago, BFTD said: Did you actually change anything there? The 4th word. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BTFD Posted November 18, 2022 Share Posted November 18, 2022 Thank you both. I'm making more and more mistakes like that as I get older. Only a matter of time before it all goes "wouldn't ov" and "there waiting over their" 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Skelpit Lug Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 Did the strong winds with torrential rain causing flooding, stranding motorists and isolating communities that we've seen over the past few days get a Storm Name? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melanius Mullarkay Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 1 minute ago, The Skelpit Lug said: Did the strong winds with torrential rain causing flooding, stranding motorists and isolating communities that we've seen over the past few days get a Storm Name? Must be onto Storm Senga by know. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Florentine_Pogen Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 (edited) 14 hours ago, BFTD said: My mum hated course language for the first half of my life. Any time someone used a four-letter word, even on the telly, you'd heard an involuntary tut from over in the corner. If it became an extended series of expletives (like when watching a Billy Connolly performance, for example), the room would eventually receive a lecture on "unnecessary language". She's elderly now, and we'll quite happily sit together and call everybody all the c***s under the sun. No idea when the change occurred, but it was nothing to do with me being a child, as it continued into my early twenties, at least. My maw and all of her 4 sisters were devout adherents of the "buckin'" school of expletives. I remember as a child asking what this was all about and if it was a 'bad word'. I was told it wasn't. However, the first time she heard me using 'buckin' in the house, I got leathered. When I complained in the strongest possible terms at the unfairness of this situation, her response was "Aye, but you're jist a buckin' bairn...." Edited November 19, 2022 by Florentine_Pogen 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BTFD Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 4 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said: My maw and all of her 4 sisters were devout adherents of the "buckin'" school of expletives. I remember as a child asking what this was all about and if it was a 'bad word'. I was told it wasn't. However, the first time she heard me using 'buckin' in the house, I got leathered. When I complained in the strongest possible terms at the unfairness of this situation, her response was "Aye, but you're jist a buckin' bairn...." I'm not sure if "bucking" is better or worse than "freaking", which I even heard used in a bucking commercial the other day Clearly "feck" is still the acceptable replacement for the bad f-word. You know the one. Worse than feck, Father. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SlipperyP Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 My Mum was a trooper as the say, every second word was fuckin', she took this from her father (my grandfather) who was an old miner long retired when I was around. My lasting memories of the old guy, was he had a wee scottie dug. Name was 'b*****d face'. When my dad swore, which was like a blue moon. We all knew something was not good. I swear all the time, nae c**t knows what I'm saying tho. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Florentine_Pogen Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 2 minutes ago, BFTD said: Clearly "feck" is still the acceptable replacement for the bad f-word. You know the one. Worse than feck, Father. 'Feck' isn't even a swear word and apparently has several meanings :- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feck 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BTFD Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 1 minute ago, SlipperyP said: My Mum was a trooper as the say, every second word was fuckin', she took this from her father (my grandfather) who was an old miner long retired when I was around. My lasting memories of the old guy, was he had a wee scottie dug. Name was 'b*****d face'. When my dad swore, which was like a blue moon. We all knew something was not good. I swear all the time, nae c**t knows what I'm saying tho. I had a great-uncle who I was very fond of when I was wee - he was like an irascible auld Santa figure to me. Never heard him use a naughty word. Didn't see him for a few years, until I came to visit on my own in my teens, and as soon as he saw I was beyond a certain age, everyone and everything was a c**t. Seriously staggering levels of harsh language that would make Popeye blush. Mind-blowing stuff for me at the time. I miss the auld c**t. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BTFD Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 4 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said: 'Feck' isn't even a swear word and apparently has several meanings :- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feck Quote In a 1998 interview on Nickelodeon, an appearance by the teenage Irish girl group B*Witched prompted a viewer complaint alleging that one of its members had said "f**k off" on air. Nickelodeon maintained that the singer had in fact said "feck off", which they described as "a phrase made popular by the Channel 4 sitcom Father Ted", but the phrase was still found to be in breach of the ITC Programme Code and the complaint was thus upheld. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SlipperyP Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 B*Witched are Irish, ffs. Why did nobody tell me this before. Vinyl in the bin! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GordonD Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 1 hour ago, SlipperyP said: B*Witched are Irish, ffs. Why did nobody tell me this before. Vinyl in the bin! ^^^^ Big team found 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SlipperyP Posted November 19, 2022 Share Posted November 19, 2022 3 minutes ago, GordonD said: ^^^^ Big team found desperately looking for my Cranberries tape now. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bert Raccoon Posted November 20, 2022 Share Posted November 20, 2022 On 19/11/2022 at 10:51, SlipperyP said: B*Witched are Irish, ffs. Why did nobody tell me this before. Vinyl in the bin! What are ye like? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coprolite Posted November 20, 2022 Share Posted November 20, 2022 On 18/11/2022 at 07:02, Hedgecutter said: Have people here dropped the F-bomb whilst talking to their parents? I started school in middle England for a couple of years before moving to Scotland. Picked up some of the local dialect on my first couple of days without really understanding. My mum told me to tie my laces and i said "f**k off you b*****d." I took a well deserved major skelping for that. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TxRover Posted November 20, 2022 Share Posted November 20, 2022 On 18/11/2022 at 01:02, Hedgecutter said: Have people here dropped the F-bomb whilst talking to their parents? I was a moderator on a Minecraft server designed for children, that prohibited bad language. We moderated telling people to use language you would use around a six year-old.. Watching chat, a player used “freaking” in the chat. So I turned to my 8 year-old, who wouldn’t even say “darn”, and who was playing Minecraft on the same server next to me. “What do you think of using the word “freaking” on The Sandlot?” She looked over and said “It’s too much like fucking” and then slapped a hand over her mouth…my eyes goggled, and then I just fell over laughing…she turned bright red. She still doesn’t swear, but I know she knows those words! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derry Alli Posted November 20, 2022 Share Posted November 20, 2022 26 minutes ago, TxRover said: I was a moderator on a Minecraft server designed for children 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...