Quick Question Thread

Do you wave to stopped cars when using a zebra crossing?

I occasionally do and feel bad when I don't. But I find it stupid I feel this way given they're obligated to stop. It's like waving at a car for stopping at a red light.

25 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

I occasionally do and feel bad when I don't. But I find it stupid I feel this way given they're obligated to stop. It's like waving at a car for stopping at a red light.

I do. It's called politeness; it's like saying "Thank you" when the barmaid serves you a pint. She's obligated to do that but not acknowledging it would feel wrong.

26 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

Drivers often enjoy it if, instead of just walking by and giving a wee wave, you go up to the window and chap on it. Give two big thumbs up and a cheesy grin. Maybe even do a dance. Trust me, they love it. 

31 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

I do, and I also regularly wave in a different way to the ones that don’t stop

3 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

Drivers often enjoy it if, instead of just walking by and giving a wee wave, you go up to the window and chap on it. Give two big thumbs up and a cheesy grin. Maybe even do a dance. Trust me, they love it. 

Inspired by the former Tory Minister for Brexit Opportunities, Jacob Rees-Mogg,  I not only thank drivers who give way at zebra crossings, I also offer to clean their windscreens with a handy pack of moist bumwipes that I carry with me. This often elicits gratitude and a small gratuity although there have been occasions when I've been met with hostility and aggression, such as the time a lady BMW driver lowered her window and screamed "If you don't get away fae ma motor, ah'll come oot 'an stab you in the face...." Thankfully, these altercations are few and far between.

I do. It's called politeness; it's like saying "Thank you" when the barmaid serves you a pint. She's obligated to do that but not acknowledging it would feel wrong.
Aye but do you do the same when they stop at red lights?

24 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

Inspired by the former Tory Minister for Brexit Opportunities, Jacob Rees-Mogg,  I not only thank drivers who give way at zebra crossings, I also offer to clean their windscreens with a handy pack of moist bumwipes that I carry with me. This often elicits gratitude and a small gratuity although there have been occasions when I've been met with hostility and aggression, such as the time a lady BMW driver lowered her window and screamed "If you don't get away fae ma motor, ah'll come oot 'an stab you in the face...." Thankfully, these altercations are few and far between.

@Scary Bear

2 minutes ago, Scary Bear said:

Those moist bum wipes possibly made their way into the sewer system afterwards, which makes me sad. Hopefully the threat of stabbing put him off any more ill-considered good deeds.

Those lovely peepil at Saxon insist that their moist buttock cloths are biodegradeable so YaBooSucks to all the Wipehaters....................

8 minutes ago, Brother Blades said:

Back story? Think I missed this! 

There’s an Ayr supporter who taunts me about using wet wipes to clean his bumhole, then flushing said shitey wet wipes down the pan, no doubt contributing to the wet wipe blockages in the sewerage system.