Quick Question Thread

No, there's quite a few more clubs in Dundee - the three I mentioned are the ones I usually go to. Tivoli a and Shotz are easy for me after work. Olde Mill I'm fairly regular in but used to be my second home. [emoji38]
Peace and quiet as in to get the heid down and just play snooker, Mill is boisterous and a brilliant laugh but folk can hate how noisy it gets. 
Aye, Shotz is an absolute toilet. You probably get that feeling because of where it's situated. One of the worst streets in Dundee for drugs and robbings.
Where are the other ones Dele? Anything worth having a wee check into?

Dundee itself though, not the ferry.

We don't really need peace and quiet as we're both pish. But we want a good quality table and a nice atmosphere would be a bonus.

What's the most expensive?

47 minutes ago, pandarilla said:

Where are the other ones Dele? Anything worth having a wee check into?

Dundee itself though, not the ferry.

We don't really need peace and quiet as we're both pish. But we want a good quality table and a nice atmosphere would be a bonus.

What's the most expensive?

You've got the Embassy too, cheap as chips you can take your own drink in and there's even a tandoor grill on the go in the back. 

The one in the Ferry is the best quality but that's down to the fact it's a members only place. 

Out of them all I'd say the Mill is the best by a fair bit. 

You've got the Embassy too, cheap as chips you can take your own drink in and there's even a tandoor grill on the go in the back. 
The one in the Ferry is the best quality but that's down to the fact it's a members only place. 
Really?

Maybe we need to go back to the mill.

We've taken 3 months membership at Tivoli so we'll see how it goes and maybe go back to the mill. I want a membership place to force us to go.

We've usually played 3 or 4 times a year but recently we've played every week for the last 3 weeks and I'm realising that with my health fucked up and work becoming a more difficult place I really want to catch up every week (if we get a bit better at snooker it'll be a bonus).

We have entered into a part-exchange deal for a new home, everything has been good so far and the offer for our current house was great, so we accepted. The missives have not yet been released but that should happen shortly.

Our current house is now on the market and the estate agents have started taking viewings.

We received a call on Friday from the housing company that are buying our house. My wife took the call and we’ve been left feeling a bit annoyed at what they were saying. Essentially they put to us two things - firstly they said “you might want to paint your bathroom to freshen it up”, and “we noticed in the home report there was a mention of future damp with it being an old building, so you might want to get someone to look at it and report on it”.

Now, I think they are chancing it on both counts. Firstly, if they want to paint the bathroom, they can do it themselves. That is just an aesthetic request and I am happy to turn them down. Secondly, the home report does mention that damp thing, but so did the home report from five years ago when we bought the property. A look online today suggest about £100 to get damp checked but I am loathed to spend any money, given that they have already ‘bought’ the house based on the home report in the first place. Equally though, I don’t want to jeopardise a deal that is very good for us. I’m unsure of legalities or binding contracts in a part-exchange scenario.

What’s the advice on something like this?

On 14/12/2019 at 12:26, Dele said:

Used to be able to get nice and baked in the embasssy. Thanks Nicola.

We have entered into a part-exchange deal for a new home, everything has been good so far and the offer for our current house was great, so we accepted. The missives have not yet been released but that should happen shortly.

Our current house is now on the market and the estate agents have started taking viewings.

We received a call on Friday from the housing company that are buying our house. My wife took the call and we’ve been left feeling a bit annoyed at what they were saying. Essentially they put to us two things - firstly they said “you might want to paint your bathroom to freshen it up”, and “we noticed in the home report there was a mention of future damp with it being an old building, so you might want to get someone to look at it and report on it”.

Now, I think they are chancing it on both counts. Firstly, if they want to paint the bathroom, they can do it themselves. That is just an aesthetic request and I am happy to turn them down. Secondly, the home report does mention that damp thing, but so did the home report from five years ago when we bought the property. A look online today suggest about £100 to get damp checked but I am loathed to spend any money, given that they have already ‘bought’ the house based on the home report in the first place. Equally though, I don’t want to jeopardise a deal that is very good for us. I’m unsure of legalities or binding contracts in a part-exchange scenario.

Agreed. You have sold them your house and hidden nothing. Do no more. Do not allow viewings until missives are concluded. And indeed, unless you have it as an explicit part of your contract, allow no viewings until the transaction is fully complete.

3 hours ago, stumigoo said:

Not sure that I would agree with alta-pete here , but it’s hard to comment without knowing more details of the proposed transaction. 

If missives haven’t been “released” then , presumably you don’t know yet what conditions the other side might try to include in the missives (eg they might want to make the transaction conditional upon a timber specialist report that’s satisfactory to them,  being produced, possibly at your expense).

As to whether you should incur any costs in decorating the bathroom or getting a timber specialist report , that would, in my view, depend  on whether you’ll stand to benefit in any way from incurring these costs. 

1 hour ago, alta-pete said:

Agreed. You have sold them your house and hidden nothing. Do no more. Do not allow viewings until missives are concluded. And indeed, unless you have it as an explicit part of your contract, allow no viewings until the transaction is fully complete.

41 minutes ago, A96 said:

Not sure that I would agree with alta-pete here , but it’s hard to comment without knowing more details of the proposed transaction. 

If missives haven’t been “released” then , presumably you don’t know yet what conditions the other side might try to include in the missives (eg they might want to make the transaction conditional upon a timber specialist report that’s satisfactory to them,  being produced, possibly at your expense).

As to whether you should incur any costs in decorating the bathroom or getting a timber specialist report , that would, in my view, depend  on whether you’ll stand to benefit in any way from incurring these costs. 

Thanks for the replies. Unfortunately alta-pete we had number of viewings pre-booked before this call (and one or two added since). I personally think that the housing company are just trying to ensure the house is as instantly sellable as possible, which I suppose is now their responsibility given the deal we have made. We have signed a part-exchange agreement and given a nominal deposit, which outlines that they have agreed to make an offer based on the home report valuation (and it is one we are happy with). We have also started to pay for certain fixtures and fittings on our plot that is not ready yet. Any home improvements or things we could do to make our current house more sellable is, in my opinion, now their 'problem'. The house is perfectly fine and will sell but if we do make any changes it wouldn't affect the amount we would get, that has already been agreed, it would actually only benefit the housing company who could make some profit on the figure they have offered us. 

The small update is that a damp company we contacted said that they wouldn't be able to carry out a report until after Chirstmas anyway, and by that time we are fully expecting the missives to have arrived and been signed. If they do add in any additional requirements, like getting a damp report, then we would know by then.

8 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

Is it a bit weird they're contacting you directly instead of this going through your solicitor?

I don’t think it’s that unusual when housing developers are involved , for some amount of the initial paperwork and discussions to be done directly between the the developers and the buyers

Is it a bit weird they're contacting you directly instead of this going through your solicitor?

So far everything has been through them, and to be fair they have actually been very good at communication, updating us on our new home, build process etc.