Quick Question Thread

For anyone that has sold a house that had multiple offers and a closing date...

Do you get to see the name of who has made the offer?

Do you get a list like

£100k Mr Bawbag

£99k Lambies Pigeon Feed

95k Mr Nae Chance

Basically do I need to charm the guy more in case he sees my name and goes aye it's a wee bit less than the top offer but I know Lambies Pigeon Feed is a top boi and I'll sell it to him anyway.

40 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

You're a wimp, show them who's boss.

Full onion consumed, with only the outer skin left to relay the tale.

Swear I just heard some gentle sobbing from the kitchen.

hlkng.gif

For anyone that has sold a house that had multiple offers and a closing date...
Do you get to see the name of who has made the offer?
Do you get a list like
£100k Mr Bawbag
£99k Lambies Pigeon Feed
95k Mr Nae Chance
Basically do I need to charm the guy more in case he sees my name and goes aye it's a wee bit less than the top offer but I know Lambies Pigeon Feed is a top boi and I'll sell it to him anyway.

Yes. Be charming and be very clear beforehand that you are in a position to move quickly and have your finance in place. If Mr Bawbag is indeed any sort of a bawbag they will likely come and give you at least the chance to match his offer.

Be under no illusion, while estate agents and solicitors give it all the ethical bollocks, they can only advise. It is the vendor who decides what to do and how to proceed. (And maybe make vendor aware of that too. If he’s easily led/directed by selling agent or Solicitor you might not even get the chance). To a disappointing number of agents and solicitors it is a churn business with little regard for their clients best outcome. Engage the vendor on a personal level without being a PITA.