Quick Question Thread

1 hour ago, Hand As Porn said:

Are our smartphones listening to us? I know we get targeted ads when we google things etc but has anyone else got spam emails etc after merely talking about certain things? 

I suppose its the logical extension of free market values to have GCHQ sell the information gathered from phone taps to advertisers. Spooks gotta make a living too you know, those shaken not stirred vodka martinis don't come cheap.

14 minutes ago, Dee Man said:

Surely the handle should always be facing up so you can use the thing without scalding yourself on the underside of the roasting hot lid? 

Hold on, this can't be a serious question. What the f**k is the world coming to?

Thanks , min.   You've summed up my position , although ideally the reply would've come from someone nearer civilisation .........no offence.

Anyway ,  Mrs A96 insists the handle-side of the lid should be laid on the worktop , so as to avoid water/moisture from the inside of the lid dripping on the worktop or wherever it's laid down.

And , aye , it was a serious question !

I suppose its the logical extension of free market values to have GCHQ sell the information gathered from phone taps to advertisers. Spooks gotta make a living too you know, those shaken not stirred vodka martinis don't come cheap.

If you have the facebook app you automatically give facebook the right to access everything in your phone including texts and calls, thus targetted ads.

39 minutes ago, A96 said:

Is there a right way to lay down a pan-lid whilst cooking ,  if you take the lid off to stir whatever's in the pan or to serve up ?

Mrs A96 is adamant that there's a right way , and gets most upset if it's nae done the right way.   Not only that but she says  she was taught it at school........I must've been off the day they did pan-lid ettiquette at my school.

So , should it be handle facing up or facing down ?......or does it matter?

I'd suggest keeping your pan handle as far away from the boiling water as possible...

ken.png.c8a28af34a2f04f49953f514a4446027.png

10 minutes ago, A96 said:

Thanks , min.   You've summed up my position , although ideally the reply would've come from someone nearer civilisation .........no offence.

Anyway ,  Mrs A96 insists the handle-side of the lid should be laid on the worktop , so as to avoid water/moisture from the inside of the lid dripping on the worktop or wherever it's laid down.

No offence taken, Mr A96. 

Before you administer a swift boot in the pie to Mrs A96, could you ask her what happens to the moisture on the inside of the lid when it is laid, presumably at an angle, on it's handle. Unless she is unfamiliar with the laws of gravity or denies it's existence?

Was she ever married to a guy called Wisbit?

1 hour ago, Dee Man said:

No offence taken, Mr A96. 

Before you administer a swift boot in the pie to Mrs A96, could you ask her what happens to the moisture on the inside of the lid when it is laid, presumably at an angle, on it's handle. Unless she is unfamiliar with the laws of gravity or denies it's existence?

Was she ever married to a guy called Wisbit?

There's normally a lip on the lid to hold it so it doesn't run off. Mrs A96 is correct. 

6 minutes ago, Rugster said:

There's normally a lip on the lid to hold it so it doesn't run off. Mrs A96 is correct. 

I'm not saying there is a right or wrong answer here, even though there is, but are you saying the lip on the lid is to catch moisture run-off rather than seal the pot? 

Give this mob a call mate.

Screenshot_20181114-195908__01.thumb.jpg.c8158a2e45b1e834da98126d824b4a49.jpg

Not really the relocation or job I had in mind, tbh. Not particularly a fan of this organisation, despite my team of choice (before you say it) either. Other suggestions welcome.

3 hours ago, A96 said:

That's what I would have said. As for burning yourself on the lid, that's what oven gloves are for.

43 minutes ago, Arabdownunder said:
1 hour ago, GordonD said:
That's what I would have said. As for burning yourself on the lid, that's what oven gloves are for.

Oven gloves are for taking hot things out of the oven. Clue is in the name.

Well, if you want to use them for taking off pot lids I won't tell anybody.

4 hours ago, Dee Man said:

I'm not saying there is a right or wrong answer here, even though there is, but are you saying the lip on the lid is to catch moisture run-off rather than seal the pot? 

No, obviously,  but it's handy for that issue. 

16 hours ago, Romeo said:

Give this mob a call mate.

Screenshot_20181114-195908__01.jpg

but only if you have an unusually symmetrical face, eh  ?

they'll not tell you this, but that's so when half of it gets shot away by an high-velocity bullet, they can just copy the other half during the reconstructive surgery to make you look as if nothing has ever happened...

20 hours ago, A96 said:

She's right.  Two factors to consider - the water dripping onto the worktop if placed as you suggest, and the risk of heat damage to the worktop as the lid is much hotter around the edge than the handle is.