Livingston - all the threads merged

I stumbled across this gem from Jun 2001.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/t...ton/1421309.stm

A timely reminder of why Livingston are so disliked. The fact their fans on here have been of a similar mindset over the years hasn't helped much either.

I see some of them are bemoaning the fact there will only be "the usual 40-50 people" at today's "protest". <_<

Edited by RedV

A timely reminder of why Livingston are so disliked. The fact their fans on here have been of a similar mindset over the years hasn't helped much either.

I see some of them are bemoaning the fact there will only be "the usual 40-50 people" at today's "protest". <_<

........and in 14 years, they've had more managers than Rangers have had in over a century.

Sounds like pretty much what I said earlier in the week then. Massone would go but only if he's paid back the money he or his backers have "lent" to the club over the past year to cover operating costs.

At some point, before or after they go into administration, he's going to have to accept that that's just not going to happen. It's difficult to see any progress until that realisation hits home.

I've got nothing new to add to my own or anyone elses earlier posts.

I will simply re-iterate, and trust me I do know, the following, as succinctly as I can, with regard to his claims re Airdrie

RANKINE IS A FUCKING LIAR.

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

http://www.livilions.co.uk/forums/showpost...mp;postcount=75

£1.35 million debt :o

The old you owe me money trick too!

I thought it was a pretty positive meeting with Angela Constance MSP speaking up about saving the club for the community.

I'm not sure if the "Trust" heard that bit as they asked a couple of questions and then walked out in an obviously pre-planned act. It was pretty childish and if that's the extent of their "work with anyone to save the club" then they should be quite rightly left out in the cold.

The main point Rankin was trying to get over was that Massone will need paid to leave the club but he is down the list of creditors. The Revenue and WLC are the ones who are forcing the issue so they should be dealt with first. Massone won't force administration so he will need to be around for a while until a spare £250,000 can be found to pay him off.

Fans who are lawyers, accountants, etc who are willing to work for nothing to save the club should come forward to be part of the initial group. Directors shouldn't be taking money out of the club, no more flashy hotels or cars, etc. Volunteers to work for the club as much as possible to reduce costs and create a new business model.

The stadium is a white elephant built for the SPL and hardly used. The council should maintain the stadium as they have groundsmen, painters, etc on their payroll already. They also need office space and meeting rooms so Almondvale could be theirs for that use and Livi only need to rent the pitch and dressing rooms when required. The stadium costs £300,000 a year to maintain which is too much for a 1st division team.

Did I mention the "Trust" walked out half way through ?? :rolleyes:

Edited by MCL

I've got nothing new to add to my own or anyone elses earlier posts.

I will simply re-iterate, and trust me I do know, the following, as succinctly as I can, with regard to his claims re Airdrie

RANKINE IS A FUCKING LIAR.

Beat me to it. Can't wait to read all his claims regarding Airdrie. Maybe time to register on LiviLions.

What did you think she said ?

Saving it for the community pish!!

The tradesmen you mention should be too busy cutting old folks grass and painting fences etc for the benefit of the community, not pissing about at Almondvale so that Politicians can look good.

An absolute fcking travesty and waste of council tax money if it happens!!

I'd completely forgotten about him.

Where is he now?

He had an ill fated spell with us but by all accounts his attitude left a lot to be desired.

Last heard of (by me anyway) playing for Craigmark, a less than average Ayrshire junior outfit or someone similar.

Guest penelope pitstop
I thought it was a pretty positive meeting with Angela Constance MSP speaking up about saving the club for the community.

I'm not sure if the "Trust" heard that bit as they asked a couple of questions and then walked out in an obviously pre-planned act. It was pretty childish and if that's the extent of their "work with anyone to save the club" then they should be quite rightly left out in the cold.

The main point Rankin was trying to get over was that Massone will need paid to leave the club but he is down the list of creditors. The Revenue and WLC are the ones who are forcing the issue so they should be dealt with first. Massone won't force administration so he will need to be around for a while until a spare £250,000 can be found to pay him off.

Fans who are lawyers, accountants, etc who are willing to work for nothing to save the club should come forward to be part of the initial group. Directors shouldn't be taking money out of the club, no more flashy hotels or cars, etc. Volunteers to work for the club as much as possible to reduce costs and create a new business model.

The stadium is a white elephant built for the SPL and hardly used. The council should maintain the stadium as they have groundsmen, painters, etc on their payroll already. They also need office space and meeting rooms so Almondvale could be theirs for that use and Livi only need to rent the pitch and dressing rooms when required. The stadium costs £300,000 a year to maintain which is too much for a 1st division team.

Did I mention the "Trust" walked out half way through ?? :rolleyes:

Frankly if that is what the meeting was suggesting I am not surprised they walked out. What a con! Massone and Rankine would like the following while they try and make some money out of the situation:-

1. Professionals to work for free

2. Lots of other people to work for free

3. The council pay all their expenses and take back the unrentable bits of the stadium

4. The council to cut the rent right back

And in return Massone will lend the club a further £300k and he would like back what he has already lent. Not that anyone has seen where that has gone.

So what about Massone writing off all his expenses (I bet most of that £500k he has lent the club has been spent on his Edinburgh house the car, his parking fines, his many legal bills and the flights to and fro Italy for him and his friends and the Italian staff.) Nothing about that was there? I wonder why not.

Rankine will help out backed by his plethora of Blazers - conveniently unnamed big wigs in the world of football (un-named because it is highly unlikely after his antics elsewhere that they exist.

A mishmash and farrago of half truths and lies - I am surprised that everyone did not walk out - sadly by not doing so and by spreading their word on here it makes Lvi's eventual destruction more rather than less likely - and I thought you were a fan MCL. It is odd that you let your hatred of the Trust take precedence over your wish to see the club survive.

Edited by penelope pitstop

Interesting to hear Bruno mentioned. I have heard an entirely unsubstantiated rumour that any cash going in has been from Bruno and not Massone and that Bruno is almost broke as a result. I was unwilling to post such a wild claim but it is beginning to look and sound believable.

Frankly if that is what the meeting was suggesting I am not surprised they walked out. What a con! Massone and Rankine would like the following while they try and make some money out of the situation:-

1. Professionals to work for free

2. Lots of other people to work for free

3. The council pay all their expenses and take back the unrentable bits of the stadium

4. The council to cut the rent right back

And in return Massone will lend the club a further £300k and he would like back what he has already lent. Not that anyone has seen where that has gone.

So what about Massone writing off all his expenses (I bet most of that £500k he has lent the club has been spent on his Edinburgh house the car, his parking fines, his many legal bills and the flights to and fro Italy for him and his friends and the Italian staff.) Nothing about that was there? I wonder why not.

Rankine will help out backed by his plethora of Blazers - conveniently unnamed big wigs in the world of football (un-named because it is highly unlikely after his antics elsewhere that they exist.

A mishmash and farrago of half truths and lies - I am surprised that everyone did not walk out - sadly by not doing so and by spreading their word on here it makes Lvi's eventual destruction more rather than less likely - and I thought you were a fan MCL. It is odd that you let your hatred of the Trust take precedence over your wish to see the club survive.

Walking out was childish and unprofessional. If they want to help then they need to develop a thick skin. How can they hope to run a football club if they walk out the room every time someone says something they don't like ? How can they hope to influence people if they stomp out with a petted lip like a scolded two-year-old ?

They missed half of the meeting when more of the fans spoke and asked questions. How can they claim to speak for the fans if they aren't in the room to listen to what they say ? They missed Stephen Mulholland speaking a lot of sense but their egos couldn't stand it.

The small chance we have of saving the club was discussed without the "Trust" and LLSC being represented because they took the hump. I stayed because as a fan I want to hear of any chance there is to save the club. I don't care if Rankine makes a profit as long as the club is saved.

Angela Constance is in the position, although not able to get government funding, to knock heads together at the council to find a solution. Peter Johnston is leader of the SNP council and she is SNP MSP for the area and will have a bit of power over him.

The club have no money so if fans have the time and ability to help the club get on an even keel by working for nowt then what is wrong with that ? I saw a comment recently about how some clubs have volunteers on turnstyles and serveries to save their club money. Might have been AFC Wimbledon ?

Guest penelope pitstop
Walking out was childish and unprofessional. If they want to help then they need to develop a thick skin. How can they hope to run a football club if they walk out the room every time someone says something they don't like ? How can they hope to influence people if they stomp out with a petted lip like a scolded two-year-old ?

They missed half of the meeting when more of the fans spoke and asked questions. How can they claim to speak for the fans if they aren't in the room to listen to what they say ? They missed Stephen Mulholland speaking a lot of sense but their egos couldn't stand it.

The small chance we have of saving the club was discussed without the "Trust" and LLSC being represented because they took the hump. I stayed because as a fan I want to hear of any chance there is to save the club. I don't care if Rankine makes a profit as long as the club is saved.

Angela Constance is in the position, although not able to get government funding, to knock heads together at the council to find a solution. Peter Johnston is leader of the SNP council and she is SNP MSP for the area and will have a bit of power over him.

The club have no money so if fans have the time and ability to help the club get on an even keel by working for nowt then what is wrong with that ? I saw a comment recently about how some clubs have volunteers on turnstyles and serveries to save their club money. Might have been AFC Wimbledon ?

Keep telling yourself that as your club goes down the pan - actually if everyone had walked out maybe Rankine (being a chancer) would have realised he was on a loser and would leave. Massone might finally realise he is never going to make money out of the club and there would still be some piece to pick up.

Volunteering for your club is one thing - AFC Wimbledon (which is not my club btw) do have a lot of volunteers but of course there is a difference - THEY OWN THEIR CLUB. They are not working for free so some chancer who has blown the clubs money on flash cars, parking tickets, legal fees, town houses and airflights can carry on running the club in the hope of getting something out of it. If you cannot see the difference then you really have thick thick blinkers on. But you do don't you. you keep on blaming the "Trust" (have you any idea how petty those " "'s makes you look btw) and expecting them to roll over to Massones will while you and Massone carry on insulting them - something he couldn't resist doing even at a meeting when he was trying for their help.

Hopefully Rankine will have seen that Massone is unworkable with and will be out the door tout suite - its about your only chance. You have to accept that Rankine is not there to save the club he is there to make money and if that involves letting others pay of things while he hoovers up any profit that is what he will do. However considering what you have said does that mean that you are now going to volunteer to work for free? I know you did work for the club before and stopped when you were not paid. So are you going to put out the olive branch and do it again without expecting to be paid this time?

Edited by penelope pitstop

I think the difference between the two would be the matter of ownership. People are generally happier to volunteer if they have some (if only perceived) control over decision making. It will be a harder task convincing people to volunteer just to keep the place ticking over whilst the high heid yins have a conflab about who's getting the power