Livingston - all the threads merged

Not sure if the sudden name-dropping of Trueman suggests he'll be signed soon. Would love it if we could somehow bring back Sarkic on loan, but notice he's being kept by Wolves to compete for their starting spot.

Going to assume the Shamal George chat has cooled down after their chairman's wee outburst, think he'd be a superb signing if we could pull it off though. I'll put my guesses on a 2 year deal for Trueman and, if we lose both Stryjek and Konovalov, someone else on loan from some diddy like Reading or something.

1 hour ago, LiviLion said:

Not sure if the sudden name-dropping of Trueman suggests he'll be signed soon. Would love it if we could somehow bring back Sarkic on loan, but notice he's being kept by Wolves to compete for their starting spot.

Going to assume the Shamal George chat has cooled down after their chairman's wee outburst, think he'd be a superb signing if we could pull it off though. I'll put my guesses on a 2 year deal for Trueman and, if we lose both Stryjek and Konovalov, someone else on loan from some diddy like Reading or something.

Honestly wouldn't be too happy with Trueman as there's nothing to suggest he's any better than what we've got. It's just a case of a new face. 

Definitely agree re: Sarkic, he's probably the only loan keeper that's worked out well for us.

Don't need another goalkeeper now Gazza Malley is out of retirement.

Seriously though, with such a fluid backline at the moment, I d prefer a goalkeeper with a bit of seniority who could communicate and keep them in line.

5 minutes ago, Durnford said:

Don't need another goalkeeper now Gazza Malley is out of retirement.

Seriously though, with such a fluid backline at the moment, I d prefer a goalkeeper with a bit of seniority who could communicate and keep them in line.

Neil Alexander?

Yep, will take a miracle of results going our way to qualify now. Think the sloppy results from the prem teams has allowed the points tally to reach considerably higher, while other teams have been battering the lower seeded sides for GD. Going to rue Holt’s missed penalty and the 2 goals thrown away to Albion I’d imagine.

2 hours ago, EdinburghLivi said:

Probably going to have to win 6/7-0 to go through unless we get very lucky with results in our favour. Looking like the 6th best placed runner up at the moment.

Dunno there are 3 groups looking like being well above us even if we win, but a few others have things going in our favour, like Arbroath v Airdrie and Accies v QP. But yep, we're relying on others results doing us a favour, and us having to win against Kelty alone isn't certain of putting us through. Don't think it's as bad as last season though, results really were wild for us to scrape through there, as we were only on 8pts.

Group A's 2nd team is Raith on 5pts and out of the running.

Group B's 2nd team is Killie on 7pts, looking likely this groups runner up will be above us

Group C's 2nd team is Dunfermline on 6pts and a +6 GD, still permutations that could turn this around for us but as it stands it looks likely they'll finish above us.

Group D's 2nd team  is Falkirk on 5pts but still to play 2 games, so need to see what happens tomorrow with them.

Group E's 2nd team is Airdrie on 7pts, good thing for us is they play Arbroath on Sat, who top their group on 9pts, win for Arbroath would put them out the running, but as it stands they're above us on PTS and GD.

Group F's 2nd teams are QoTS & St Johnstone on 5 PTS, both out the running if we win ours.

Group G is us and we need to beat Kelty to be on 9 PTS and in with a chance of progressing past the group stages.

Group H's 2nd team is QP on 6 PTS and + 5 GD, Accies are also on 6PTS with a +3 GD, both play one another on Saturday so still wide open for things to go pair shape for both of them, hopefully a draw and both would be out.

Groups in bold are currently better than us and will finish above us if they win their final games, so lots still to play for and nothing is certain for us progressing, even if we win.

Edited by LIVIFOREVER

2 hours ago, craigkillie said:

Raith have 6 points.

But playing Aberdeen away on their final game?

Could be tricky though if Aberdeen decide to test out a lot of fringe players etc. now they've definitely qualified for the next stage

12 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

Dunno there are 3 groups looking like being well above us even if we win, but a few others have things going in our favour, like Arbroath v Airdrie and Accies v QP. But yep, we're relying on others results doing us a favour, and us having to win against Kelty alone isn't certain of putting us through. Don't think it's as bad as last season though, results really were wild for us to scrape through there, as we were only on 8pts.

Group A's 2nd team is Raith on 5pts and out of the running.

Group B's 2nd team is Killie on 7pts, looking likely this groups runner up will be above us

Group C's 2nd team is Dunfermline on 6pts and a +6 GD, still permutations that could turn this around for us but as it stands it looks likely they'll finish above us.

Group D's 2nd team  is Falkirk on 5pts but still to play 2 games, so need to see what happens tomorrow with them.

Group E's 2nd team is Airdrie on 7pts, good thing for us is they play Arbroath on Sat, who top their group on 9pts, win for Arbroath would put them out the running, but as it stands they're above us on PTS and GD.

Group F's 2nd teams are QoTS & St Johnstone on 5 PTS, both out the running if we win ours.

Group G is us and we need to beat Kelty to be on 9 PTS and in with a chance of progressing past the group stages.

Group H's 2nd team is QP on 6 PTS and + 5 GD, Accies are also on 6PTS with a +3 GD, both play one another on Saturday so still wide open for things to go pair shape for both of them, hopefully a draw and both would be out.

Groups in bold are currently better than us and will finish above us if they win their final games, so lots still to play for and nothing is certain for us progressing, even if we win.

Disagree that it's tougher than last season, there appeared to be a decent chance of a route through on 8 points last season. 

Even if you take the favourites winning (Aberdeen/Arbroath) as a given, that puts us up to 5th best. You're then hoping for a combination of a draw in Group H (unlikely both teams screw themselves), something really weird in the Falkirk or Hibs games tonight or Dunfermline shitting the bed at home to Alloa. Asking for a lot without some silly scoreline in our game. 

25 minutes ago, Menga Bus said:

The door is also still open for a cove win and us to win by 4 goals. While Cove have nothing to play for and ICT are at home it’s very unlikely, just another possibility to be aware of.

Yeah, probably more likely than the various scenarios that would have to fall in our favour as a second place qualifier.

Edited by EdinburghLivi

1 hour ago, EdinburghLivi said:

Disagree that it's tougher than last season, there appeared to be a decent chance of a route through on 8 points last season. 

Even if you take the favourites winning (Aberdeen/Arbroath) as a given, that puts us up to 5th best. You're then hoping for a combination of a draw in Group H (unlikely both teams screw themselves), something really weird in the Falkirk or Hibs games tonight or Dunfermline shitting the bed at home to Alloa. Asking for a lot without some silly scoreline in our game. 

Last season i thought we were oot, didn't even bother looking for ways we could be in the knock outs, couldn't believe how it all went our way on the last day. Just feel more optimistic about our chances this time, so yeah, we prob wont get through.:lol:

49 minutes ago, Menga Bus said:

The door is also still open for a cove win and us to win by 4 goals. While Cove have nothing to play for and ICT are at home it’s very unlikely, just another possibility to be aware of.

That would be FAF, please let it happen to see the Caley fans reaction on here.🤣